We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and tranquil hotel inside the old city walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #62 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Ottawa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tranquil hotel inside the old city walls”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Our arrival here was late at night following a disastrous train ride from Ayutthaya. Even though it was 2 am the staff were there to help us get checked in and comfortable really quickly. The next morning we woke up and were able to take a better look around. The hotel is very nicely laid out around a central courtyard with pool. Breakfast (very good quality) is served in the courtyard or in the dining area. The courtyard is peaceful and quiet, with Koy ponds running the entire length of the hotel by the suites. Our first floor poolside room had a small footbridge across the ponds, which are a really nice and unique decorative touch that adds even more to the beauty of the hotel. The rooms and beds were comfortable with spacious bathroom with both shower and bath. Staff were courteous and helpful and we booked a trekking tour with the travel agent who works in the lobby (the day trek ended up being spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed it). Being in the old city you are close to the more interesting temples, and a variety of restaurants including. La Fourchette, which is definitely worth the short walk. The value of the hotel was excellent for the money spent (about $40 CAD per night).

Room Tip: Book a room facing the inner courtyard and enjoy the tranquil setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus_JA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    263
    90
    28
    12
See reviews for
105
265
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed with a friend at this hotel last January. The rooms are really good and clean. But make sure that you get a room overlooking the balcony. When we first checked in, they tried to give us a room really in the back corner, which was terrible. The new room we got had a pool view, it was great to sit at the balcony after a long day enjoying a cold Chang from the fridge (mini bar prices are very reasonable)

The hotel is in a very quiet location, 10 minutes walk to the center of the Old City. It gets quiet silent after 10 pm (but we never felt unsafe walking) and sometimes it could become hard to find a tuk tuk after that time.

Mimi at the concierge arranged us a tour, which was very good and she was generally very helpful with restaurant suggestions etc.

The small restaurant by the pool has a great setting, but the food is average compared to what you get at very reasonable prices in the Old Town.

One last thing to note: do not ask the receptionist to arrange a cab to take you the hotel, they call a private driver and it was almost 150Baht more than the normal fare.

Overall, for what we paid we got a really nice room with a very good feel to it. It is authentic and small, that is why I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms on the ground floor. 2nd room rooms overlooking the pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZEYTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This hotel was beautiful! And it was in the perfect location in the Old City. We could easily walk the Old City and to the Night Market. It was in the quiet part of town which was really nice. The hotel had a wonderful breakfast that we had packaged to our room. The room was decorated so nicely.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the pool and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_addict_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

A new property, the hotel is well maintained and tastefully decorated. Rooms are spacious with wifi and cable tv. The pool is clean and welcoming. Steps away from numerous temples and eating places. Wonderful stay, will def stay again if I come to chiang mai

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pgc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My husband and I had a difficult time finding a hotel in Chiang Mai that would allow 2 kids (9 & 10 years old) in a room. De Lanna's reservation staff easily arranged our room with an extra bed for a nominal fee. And this was all done via email! Binh also arranged for the hotel van to pick us up and Thuy, the driver was on time and very informative. We found the staff to be so gracious and willing to help us when we needed it. The infinity pool was a good size for us to enjoy. The buffet breakfast for this size of hotel was good and to a certain extent had some variety. Our room with four kids was a little tight but we were just happy to be in me room! And we were hardly in it anyway. There's a tiny porch infront of our room where you can hang out while the kids feed the koi fish. The bathroom was clean and modern. Others might describe it as "industrial-glam.". There was free wi-fi too! As for the location, it is in the middle of the Old City which has it pros and cons. We liked how it was quiet in the evenings. During the day, we enjoyed roaming around the streets and discovering restaurants, spas, street food and little stores. The Night Market is a short tuk-tuk ride away (80 bhat and no more). I don't feel like we missed out by not being outside the old city. This is a wonderful hotel for families.

Room Tip: For those with kids, ask for a room on the ground level. Kids can play in the pool while you can wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettinaJ710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights there on 30 June and 1st July as Chiang Mai Summer resort was fully booked. The staff was nice and helpful but didn't speak good English, room was spacious and well decorated, the only thing that disappointed us was the quality of the breakfast with limited choice and average food in terms of quality. And if you have breakfast in the garden, be careful...there are a lot of mosquitoes.
The hotel is well located with 5 minutes walking distance to Sunday market where you can find anything you'd like to buy and to eat with a reasonable price, highly recommended.
Oasis Spa Lanna is also within 5 minutes walk, anyway the provide free pick up service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The food was amazing! We loved the view of the pool and our private balconies. Perfect location - within walking distance to many temples. My only complaint was the bed was VERY uncomfortable and my hips were sore for days (I sleep on my sides). Staff was very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear lovely guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. For our beds, we use a high-end double spring mattress. However, some of them may need to flip over to the other side since it has been not flipped for 3 months. Sorry for any inconvenience may occur and thank you again for your valuable comments.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 381 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 381 in Chiang Mai
946 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#41 of 381 in Chiang Mai
454 reviews
1.0 mi away
BanThai Village
BanThai Village
#38 of 381 in Chiang Mai
653 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#44 of 381 in Chiang Mai
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 44 Intavarorot Rd. | Tambol Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Lanna Hotel is a newly 4-star boutique hotel located in the inner center of Chiang Mai old city. The hotel is closed to many cultural sites and markets such as Wat Phra Sigh Temple and Sunday Walking Street Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing