We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 4-star hotel in the heart of Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #66 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Very nice hotel in the heart of Chiang Mai, just one street over from the craziness of the Sunday market. It was an oasis for us to come back to the calm and beauty of the hotel after venturing out to the market as well as our day trips. The rooms are nicely decorated, large, and the balconies overlooking the pool were wonderful. The pool is very pleasant and the staff was friendly and helpful. My only suggestion is if you are booking tours or taxis, look outside the hotel for better deals. Hiring a taxi for the day should run about 600 THB (not the 1100 THB the hotel offers for a half-day). Breakfast was also delicious!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xcqueen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

I was utterly impressed by the service level of this hotel. The staff were always helpful at all times. As I was traveling to Chiang Mai for the first time with my Partner and two kids ( aged 4 and 1) I found it difficult to find a hotel that could cater for families with young children. I am glad i found this hotel. There was a wonderful lady by the name of Lek there. She would often tend to my Daughter aged 4 and Son aged 1 so myself and my partner could have the time to eat. a small gesture that went a long way with my partner and I. All the staff enjoyed playing with my kids. Especially the girl on dinner duties behind the bar.

The hotel food was great and the breakfast buffet was excellent. the scenery around the main courtyard is amazing! Rooms were very generously sized with a beautiful overlook via the balcony of the pool/courtyard.

If I were to traveling to Chiang Mai again in which i am hoping, i would definitely stay there again without a doubt. If the Staff of the hotel are reading this, Thank you all for you wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UberTk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Our arrival here was late at night following a disastrous train ride from Ayutthaya. Even though it was 2 am the staff were there to help us get checked in and comfortable really quickly. The next morning we woke up and were able to take a better look around. The hotel is very nicely laid out around a central courtyard with pool. Breakfast (very good quality) is served in the courtyard or in the dining area. The courtyard is peaceful and quiet, with Koy ponds running the entire length of the hotel by the suites. Our first floor poolside room had a small footbridge across the ponds, which are a really nice and unique decorative touch that adds even more to the beauty of the hotel. The rooms and beds were comfortable with spacious bathroom with both shower and bath. Staff were courteous and helpful and we booked a trekking tour with the travel agent who works in the lobby (the day trek ended up being spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed it). Being in the old city you are close to the more interesting temples, and a variety of restaurants including. La Fourchette, which is definitely worth the short walk. The value of the hotel was excellent for the money spent (about $40 CAD per night).

Room Tip: Book a room facing the inner courtyard and enjoy the tranquil setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus_JA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed with a friend at this hotel last January. The rooms are really good and clean. But make sure that you get a room overlooking the balcony. When we first checked in, they tried to give us a room really in the back corner, which was terrible. The new room we got had a pool view, it was great to sit at the balcony after a long day enjoying a cold Chang from the fridge (mini bar prices are very reasonable)

The hotel is in a very quiet location, 10 minutes walk to the center of the Old City. It gets quiet silent after 10 pm (but we never felt unsafe walking) and sometimes it could become hard to find a tuk tuk after that time.

Mimi at the concierge arranged us a tour, which was very good and she was generally very helpful with restaurant suggestions etc.

The small restaurant by the pool has a great setting, but the food is average compared to what you get at very reasonable prices in the Old Town.

One last thing to note: do not ask the receptionist to arrange a cab to take you the hotel, they call a private driver and it was almost 150Baht more than the normal fare.

Overall, for what we paid we got a really nice room with a very good feel to it. It is authentic and small, that is why I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms on the ground floor. 2nd room rooms overlooking the pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZEYTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This hotel was beautiful! And it was in the perfect location in the Old City. We could easily walk the Old City and to the Night Market. It was in the quiet part of town which was really nice. The hotel had a wonderful breakfast that we had packaged to our room. The room was decorated so nicely.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the pool and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_addict_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

A new property, the hotel is well maintained and tastefully decorated. Rooms are spacious with wifi and cable tv. The pool is clean and welcoming. Steps away from numerous temples and eating places. Wonderful stay, will def stay again if I come to chiang mai

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pgc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My husband and I had a difficult time finding a hotel in Chiang Mai that would allow 2 kids (9 & 10 years old) in a room. De Lanna's reservation staff easily arranged our room with an extra bed for a nominal fee. And this was all done via email! Binh also arranged for the hotel van to pick us up and Thuy, the driver was on time and very informative. We found the staff to be so gracious and willing to help us when we needed it. The infinity pool was a good size for us to enjoy. The buffet breakfast for this size of hotel was good and to a certain extent had some variety. Our room with four kids was a little tight but we were just happy to be in me room! And we were hardly in it anyway. There's a tiny porch infront of our room where you can hang out while the kids feed the koi fish. The bathroom was clean and modern. Others might describe it as "industrial-glam.". There was free wi-fi too! As for the location, it is in the middle of the Old City which has it pros and cons. We liked how it was quiet in the evenings. During the day, we enjoyed roaming around the streets and discovering restaurants, spas, street food and little stores. The Night Market is a short tuk-tuk ride away (80 bhat and no more). I don't feel like we missed out by not being outside the old city. This is a wonderful hotel for families.

Room Tip: For those with kids, ask for a room on the ground level. Kids can play in the pool while you can wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BettinaJ710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,009 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 394 in Chiang Mai
997 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#36 of 394 in Chiang Mai
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#44 of 394 in Chiang Mai
514 reviews
1.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 44 Intavarorot Rd. | Tambol Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £47 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Lanna Hotel is a newly 4-star boutique hotel located in the inner center of Chiang Mai old city. The hotel is closed to many cultural sites and markets such as Wat Phra Sigh Temple and Sunday Walking Street Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing