We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #65 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had four nights here. The room is clean, large and comfortable. The wifi signal was weak, we need to re-connect from time to time. The swimming pool is very small, few choice of breakfast. The staff are very helpful! It's hard to find a taxi to airport and the hotel only get one car . You need to book the car from the hotel first.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank So A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear lovely guests,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Now the wifi signal is stronger since we did move the wifi signal portal closed to some of weak signal rooms. We will definitely improve all services to serve you the best. Thank you again for your valuable comments.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
There are newer reviews for De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

We had 4 nights here, and while this hotel covered all the basics, we felt that it was a little bit tired and run down. The rooms are big and comfy, but the general feeling of the place is that it's a bit tired.

The breakfast was abundant, but we felt it lacked quality compared to other places we've been in the region. The cooked food didn't really look appealing.

The pool is really nice and the location is great for exploring the old town and temples (but is a 15 minute walk to where all the restaurants are).

We think this hotel is comfortable, but there are a few basic things that we think could be improved on. Overall we didn't think it was great for $80/night.

Room Tip: Get a second or third floor room facing the pool. The ground floor rooms aren't very private and...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroAidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear lovely guests,

Thank you for your comments. We are in the middle of refurbishing our furniture. Two weeks ago, we just finished repainting our public footpath and now we are reparing our grass in the garden. Some of our rooms are still not yet refurbish. However, it will gradually be done. We promise to give the best facilities and services to all of our guests. Thank you again for your valuable comments.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Convenience to travel to one of the three famous templea. Room is large enough for 2 persons. Wifi signal was weak, need re-connect from time to time, few choice of breakfrast, with a small pool. Most of the travelers were from China and there was an employee speaking Chinese.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nonqualifiedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The rooms are large with good appointments, great bed, large bathroom with a wonderful shower.
Breakfast leaves a little to be desired, with limited selections and the quality is not top notch. A great place to set up for 3-4 days of visiting Chiang Mai. Not a 5 or 4 star.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank garythegut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

After a busy couple of months, we decided to take a short two night city break in Chiang Mai to celebrate our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday, after plenty of research we decided to book De Lanna, which turned out to be an error. The hotel was easy to find, we headed to the signed car park, which no longer exists and is now a building site. Eventually parked out the front of the hotel, took bags out of car, but despite staff seeing us with bags we were ignored. Check in smooth, efficient and friendly. Shown to our room, down a dim lit corridor right next to the noisy building site. The balcony was just a couple of chairs in the communal corridor, and did not overlook the central courtyard. Once the hammering and drilling started we asked to change rooms and was given one with a balcony over looking the garden and swimming pool, I can not fault the reception staff for there prompt action.

The rooms was clean, off a fairly decent size and plenty of extras like tea coffee, DVD player, cable TV with decent selection of channels. Bathroom OK, first day no shower curtain, one appeared next day, which was terrible, the metal curtain rings were rusted and had left stains all over the curtain, but never mind, let's go in the pool. Pool closed for the two days we stayed, opening on the morning we checked out. Over the next day the garden turned into a building site as repairs to area around the pool were made. The garden was closed and we did feel like sitting on the balcony looking at a building site. Why do this in the peak season, surely April-August would have been better to do this.

Mentioned we were not happy to the staff, one just laughed at us, the other took our room number and said she would tell the manager. Just about to checkout and no contact so far from management.

We paid 5900 baht for two nights and had the facilities advertised been available things, we would have left happy, instead we left feeling very disappointed, maybe we were unlucky and others will get a better experience.

Room Tip: Make sure they do not put you next to the building site, get a room over looking the courtyard as ad...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear lovlely guests,

Sorry for your bad experience here. We are sorry that we did a footpaht repairing during your stay. This is our first repair since we opened the hotel 3 years ago. We could not do it during the low season since it's a raining season and it doesn't work with the paint. The footpath needed to be dried and no water on it while repairing/repainting. The repairing took 2 days and then we could open the pool area. We are really truely sorry for that you could not use our pool while you were staying. We do have a construction building next to the hotel and we asked them to work during 9:00 a.m. - 6 p.m. instead of the regular working time (8:00 a.m. - 5 p.m.) and they admitted to work on that schedule. We are really care about our guests feeling and know that in the early morning, our guests don't want to be disturbed with any noises. For those our reception laughing at you, I would say that this is a Thai characteristic when you complaint something to them, they tried to smile and giggle to avoid the pressure over the conversation with you. They did told me about your complainting about why we did a repairing in this high season. However, it was my fault to not going to explain this to you while you were staying with us. Anyway, it did in this writing already. I and my staffs are truely sorry for you have experienced here. Sorry for not re-corrected your misunderstood and attitude about the repairing and about our staff smiling/giggling before your leaving us. Thank you agian for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Hotel just near Wat Phra Singh and easy to walk to 3 Kings Monument and Sunday Market, 7-11 just about 150 meters walk. Breakfast was OK and free WiFi signal is strong but you need to re-connect again and again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmpfwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My first thought, after arriving at the De Lanna from the airport was 'this hotel doesn't present as well as its publicity photos', and its true, the place doesn't have huge wow factor that some hotels have - it's only got a small reception area, the courtyard is a tiny bit scruffy, it just looks that little bit down at heel.
However, having stayed there for a week I would unhesitatingly recommend a stay at De Lanna to anybody - I found the rooms well designed and comfortable, reception and dining room staff very friendly and professional, the pool was immaculate and the location was perfect for access to the many delights of Chiang Mai. It really is hard to imagine more suitable accommodation for us. Not only that but the tariff was very reasonable, food at breakfast and on those few occasions when we ate in was tasty and fairly priced, there is a good travel desk in the reception area and free wifi throughout the building.

Room Tip: We stayed in 309 and it was a good room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJLBewdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 388 in Chiang Mai
983 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 388 in Chiang Mai
972 reviews
0.0 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#44 of 388 in Chiang Mai
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#37 of 388 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,447 reviews
2.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 44 Intavarorot Rd. | Tambol Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £47 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Lanna Hotel is a newly 4-star boutique hotel located in the inner center of Chiang Mai old city. The hotel is closed to many cultural sites and markets such as Wat Phra Sigh Temple and Sunday Walking Street Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing