We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dressed-up but problematic hotel-style guesthouse”
Review of Baan Pim

Baan Pim
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan Pim
Ranked #525 of 755 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dressed-up but problematic hotel-style guesthouse”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Despite good furnishings and character touches for its price range, our experience in a third-floor double fan room (500 baht) was disappointing. The room featured an old TV, and a tiny balcony on which it was impossible to stand comfortably due to the (not working) aircon unit.

Cons: Overuse of unpleasant sweet-scented disinfectant (?) in room, fan did not oscillate, sliding screen did not adequately cover balcony door (we duct-taped it shut), bathroom was musty and basic, some noise from nearby major street (to be expected due to location.)

As we prepared to check out in the late morning, we discovered there was no running water. Upon investigation there appeared to be some work in progress, and we were told it would take 30 minutes to fix... I remarked that we needed to egress imminently, and asked for a bucket of water to flush the toilet and clean our hands.

Pros: Glass of orange juice upon checking in. Host seems friendly and sincere. Wifi signal good on third floor. Do-not-disturb sign for doors -- rooms are cleaned daily.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    13
    12
    10
See reviews for
5
30
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This Guesthouse was booked for us through a Travel company.
On arrival we were welcomed, got given a free orange juice and filled out the checking in form and were showed to our room.

The room was ok, very low bed, Tv and just a fan which made the place stuff A/C is available but makes the room expensive and on a budget that isnt possible. The bad points were the bathroom which was not that clean and the shower pointed right on to the switch to turn the electricity on and an empty socket (quite dangerous as I found out when I lost my balance and grabbed on to the wall with which I recieved a minor shock) there was a small balcony which was over grown so the door didnt work properly so it was quite unsafe.
The location was ok too, we took to a lovely Mexican called Miguels just around the corner which was delicious. But to get to the night bizarre it cost us 40b each way by Tuk Tuk which started to add up.
We went on a jungle trek for 2 days and there wasnt safe storage for our bags ours and about 5 others were just put behind a shutter in the hallway which everyone walked past to get to their rooms.
To sum up our stay was average, the rooms were average and the location was average.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Good basic lodgings within walking distance of the old town and gate. For about £8 per night we got a reasonably large room with fan and hot water. Fan was adequate for November, A/C not required. Staff were very friendly and a laundry service is available.

Room Tip: Single, Double and Triple rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mellymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgorod, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Responsive, caring staff. Quiet, relaxing atmosphere in the heart of Chiang Mai, a stone's throw from the old town. Pleasantly surprised in the design of small things, such as mini-garden on a balcony in the room. All the interior is tastefully done, with the soul. What surprised owner guesthouse Miss Chiang Mai 1980!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alec220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed in a triple room with 3 single beds, instead of the common 1 double 1 single rooms we've had in other hostels, which was nice.

The rooms are fine and good value. The staff are very welcoming, friendly and happy to help! I was even offere to borrow the owner's shoes for zipwiring in the jungle (I only had flip flops). Thanks for a nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guywp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

nice, big enough room, we even had a little garden. The owner seemed nice. We only stayed for 1 night (our previous hotel was full so they booked a room at baan pim).

Nothing to complain about... just until we were eating breakfast and then this guy Steve came. He just hangs out there, at first he seemed nice, but he was annoying as hell :)

and, we had a little incident. we forgot our wallet under the mattress, we realized it the same day in the evening whet we got to phuket, we asked people in our next hotel to give them a call, they did and, well..they said that they didnt find the wallet, that they searched the whole room and under the mattress...that is weird as we are 100% we left it there. so the cleaning lady probably must have taken it - what is weird is that there was no money inside! just our IDs, student cards, driving license etc.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Positive: cheap, good value for money, friendly and helpfull staff, not pushy for their tours, excellent location right in the centre of Chiang Mai, free and pretty fast wifi.

Negative: bathrooms not really clean (hairs) and inconvenient (bathroom = toilet with shower head, no separation), no elevator.

Advise: book in advance and ask for a quit room & if you need a cab, ask the staff, and they arrange it for you (George).

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_delight013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Roong Ruang Hotel
Roong Ruang Hotel
#168 of 384 in Chiang Mai
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#124 of 384 in Chiang Mai
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#76 of 384 in Chiang Mai
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Origin
Hotel de Origin
#131 of 755 in Chiang Mai
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stay With Me Guest House
Stay With Me Guest House
#120 of 755 in Chiang Mai
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Living Place
The Living Place
#90 of 755 in Chiang Mai
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Pim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Pim

Property: Baan Pim
Address: 97 Sitiwong Road | Tambon Chiangmoi, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #525 of 755 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Pim 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Baan Pim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Pim Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing