We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't book from the airport!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Pim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baan Pim
Ranked #521 of 711 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't book from the airport!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

This hotel was fine - at first I thought it was a bit unclean, but visiting other hotels around Chiang Mai, I realised many of the rooms were similar. The thing is, I booked from the airport. Here they charged me 700bht per night and comparatively to what other people were paying in CHaing Mai, this was a lot. Most other rooms like mine were between 250 - 400bht per night. I have a feeling staying here would be cheaper if you did it online or in advance but they take you for a ride when you are booking from the airport (as they would do). Incidentally, I have been told that staying outside the canal is instantly more expensive than staying inside the canal (in the old city).

Room Tip: Don't pay 700 bht for a room unless you see it first! A regular average room to sleep in should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiseeingallthereis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    20
    13
    10
    9
See reviews for
5
27
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Great staff, Clean room and bathroom, towels and soap, charming place really close the city.
The owners are nice and helpful, we dont really understand the bad reviews.
Peaceful place to rest after a trek :)
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed here for three nights, with a break in-between due to our cycling tour.

Welcome was friendly and not a problem when we upgraded our room to a/c as it was hotter than I thought it'd be when I originally booked.

Our room was at the street end of the building, so was pretty noisy all through the night. Motor-scooter engines buzzing at all hours seemed to echo up the walls of the surrounding buildings from the narrow street below which probably wouldn't be a problem in other rooms.

There wasn't a lot of room and the low bed with a larger frame than the mattress meant I had to be careful not to bash my shins as I was walking around.

Shower/toilet smelt a bit.

We were able to leave our large bags here while we did our two-day cycle store.

Baan Pim is within easy walking distance of the old town, Sunday market and the Muay Thai boxing stadium and you can get your tickets in advance (at no extra fee) from the Marlboro Guesthouse nearby (which also does a basic breakfast that I'd recommend).

I wouldn't stay here again. But appreciate you may have a different experience in a different room 'off-street'.

Room Tip: don't go for room number xx1 as these overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewBucknall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Despite good furnishings and character touches for its price range, our experience in a third-floor double fan room (500 baht) was disappointing. The room featured an old TV, and a tiny balcony on which it was impossible to stand comfortably due to the (not working) aircon unit.

Cons: Overuse of unpleasant sweet-scented disinfectant (?) in room, fan did not oscillate, sliding screen did not adequately cover balcony door (we duct-taped it shut), bathroom was musty and basic, some noise from nearby major street (to be expected due to location.)

As we prepared to check out in the late morning, we discovered there was no running water. Upon investigation there appeared to be some work in progress, and we were told it would take 30 minutes to fix... I remarked that we needed to egress imminently, and asked for a bucket of water to flush the toilet and clean our hands.

Pros: Glass of orange juice upon checking in. Host seems friendly and sincere. Wifi signal good on third floor. Do-not-disturb sign for doors -- rooms are cleaned daily.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

This Guesthouse was booked for us through a Travel company.
On arrival we were welcomed, got given a free orange juice and filled out the checking in form and were showed to our room.

The room was ok, very low bed, Tv and just a fan which made the place stuff A/C is available but makes the room expensive and on a budget that isnt possible. The bad points were the bathroom which was not that clean and the shower pointed right on to the switch to turn the electricity on and an empty socket (quite dangerous as I found out when I lost my balance and grabbed on to the wall with which I recieved a minor shock) there was a small balcony which was over grown so the door didnt work properly so it was quite unsafe.
The location was ok too, we took to a lovely Mexican called Miguels just around the corner which was delicious. But to get to the night bizarre it cost us 40b each way by Tuk Tuk which started to add up.
We went on a jungle trek for 2 days and there wasnt safe storage for our bags ours and about 5 others were just put behind a shutter in the hallway which everyone walked past to get to their rooms.
To sum up our stay was average, the rooms were average and the location was average.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Good basic lodgings within walking distance of the old town and gate. For about £8 per night we got a reasonably large room with fan and hot water. Fan was adequate for November, A/C not required. Staff were very friendly and a laundry service is available.

Room Tip: Single, Double and Triple rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mellymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgorod, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Responsive, caring staff. Quiet, relaxing atmosphere in the heart of Chiang Mai, a stone's throw from the old town. Pleasantly surprised in the design of small things, such as mini-garden on a balcony in the room. All the interior is tastefully done, with the soul. What surprised owner guesthouse Miss Chiang Mai 1980!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alec220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Roong Ruang Hotel
Roong Ruang Hotel
#196 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
@ Thapae
@ Thapae
#327 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huen Sookjai
Huen Sookjai
#565 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stay With Me Guest House
Stay With Me Guest House
#130 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanna House
Lanna House
#475 of 711 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Thai House
Chiang Mai Thai House
#316 of 711 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Pim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Pim

Property: Baan Pim
Address: 97 Sitiwong Road | Tambon Chiangmoi, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #521 of 711 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Pim 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Baan Pim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Pim Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing