We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is a small nice museum, but a little old, if you don't know anything about the city, it is a good place to go”

Chiang Mai National Museum
Ranked #118 of 254 things to do in Chiang Mai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Chiang Mai National Museum offers a peak into the area's native Lanna culture in the form of artifacts and artist exhibits. Ancient jewelry and pottery are showcased and each exhibit is written in both English and Thai.
Sao Paulo
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“it is a small nice museum, but a little old, if you don't know anything about the city, it is a good place to go”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

It is a set of museum, composed by 3 small sections (you have to buy tickets to all, but the price is very accessible). The museums have nice displays, in multilanguages, so, you will have a nice idea about Thai and Chiang Mai history and local costumes. You will spend almost 30 minutes to see all the displays, and don't forget to go to the small art crafts store located in the second store. The price of every item is very nice, but the products are really made by the local natives, the prices is the same as the products you will find in the night market, but much better quality. Good place to find small gifts from Chiang Mai.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tigerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    21
    13
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“the ChangMai National Cultural Museum”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Museum is free to all that visit, it is not a lot to see and you can spend 90 minutes or so looking at the past history of ChangMai itself. Interesting artifacts and all signs are posted in Thai and English. Not really geared toward kids that will want more interactive exhibits but and great place to go for a rainy day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lanna History at a glance!”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We went there because we wanted to know more about the history of Lanna Kingdom. It was very informative. Being right in the middle of the old city, it was very easy to get to.

Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

We had a spare afternoon so thought we'd see the museum based on a write up in a borrowed 2004 edition of Lonely Planet. The article noted that the admission was 30B and that the museum was undergoing some much needed renovations so we assumed they would have been completed by now.

When we arrived, we found admission had been put up to 100B each and that the entire second floor (and subsequently, half of the museum) was closed due to renovations. Some of the pieces on display were interesting but much of the signage was in Thai so we couldn't read it so it wasn't very informative for us.

It was a bit of a way to travel (we are staying in town near the Thaphae Gate) for something so lacklustre, although it did use up an hour of our free afternoon. I wouldn't bother seeing the museum unless you are bored or until the museum is fully open again.

Helpful?
2 Thank littlemissjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Chiang Mai Museum”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

For anyone wishing to learn more about the history, culture and archeological items you might like to check out the Chiang Mai Museum which is situated within the old city. Commentary is in many languages so makes it easy to understand what is being described. It cost less than 300 Baht for two of us to visit the 3 museums which gave us access over 7 days.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiang Mai National Museum also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Chiang Mai National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing