We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Small, quiet, no-frills guesthouse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabuy Chiangmai Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sabuy Chiangmai Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #256 of 702 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Small, quiet, no-frills guesthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here two nights, after attending a workshop in Chiang Mai. It is off the beaten path and very quiet.

Our room was clean and large. The wi-fi was fast. The bed was comfortable. AirCon was cold. The only real negative was that the water did not get very hot.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They were renovating so the exterior was a bit of a mess. Otherwise there was a "cozy" feel to the place.

The price is right, and it is a quick walk to restaurants and shopping. The weekend walking street is just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    12
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
20
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Sabuy Guesthouse is located in the Old-Town of Chiang Mai and for budget travellers it is a really good choice!The Owners are nice and we like the atmosphere of the guesthouse, nice garden where you can sit and read.

Room: The small room was clean with en-suite Bathroom,AC,Ventilator,TV and 2 free little bottles of water :)Got nothing to complain about!

Arrival: In Chiang Mai Airport you can get with an official Taxi Service to Sabuy Guesthouse located in the Old Town and it coast about 120 Baht. There is a Counter, where you tell the direction you wanna go and they will give you a paper for the driver.

Night Market: From Sabuy Guesthouse you can drive with Tuk Tuk to the Night Market and i bargain the coast to 60 Baht. Night Market is nice to walk, look and maybe eat, but nothing more to do.

Depart to Airport: From the Guesthouse we drove with a >>rot daeng<< (Red Car) to Chiang Mai Airport for around 100 Baht. With Tuk Tuk it will be more, but you should bargain. Owner told me coast are about 80-100 Baht to Airport.

We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nequo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Sabuy Guesthouse will forever be etched in our memories of a beautiful, quaint, warm, and welcoming guesthouse. From the moment we arrived, we felt like family. Aun showed us to our room and helped us get settled...and then we checked in. The room was quiet and peaceful with a beautiful view of the gardens below and the nearby wat in the distance. Sleep was deep and refreshing. Breakfast was peaceful (great music, Aun!) and delicious (great coffee and food, Te!)...a perfect start as we readied for our busy days. The location was a short walk from the bustling market and streets of Old Chiang Mai to the quiet wats and nearby neighborhoods. Thank you so much for a wonderful time in Chiang Mai, Aun and Te!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

This little guest house was a brilliant find. It was clean and comfortable, providing all the basics necessary at a very reasonable cost. What made our stay particularly special were the brother and sister hosts, they were so helpful, polite and attentive throughout our stay, giving us advice on where to visit, booking taxis and making sure everything was to our liking. The pretty little courtyard/garden was a wonderful little haven to eat breakfast each morning. The guest house is situated in a central part of the town, easily accessible to shops, restaurants and wats. We felt confident the guest house was secure enough to leave valuables in our room.

Unfortunately on our last day of our trip in Chiang Mai my husband accidently left his bag containing our passports, money and driving licences on a songthaew that had dropped us off at the airport. We rang the guesthouse for help and they immediately rang the songthaew company for us. Thankfully they were able to track down the driver who said he had our bag but was stuck in traffic, so the lovely gentleman from the guesthouse drove his moped to pick up our bag and then drove it all the way out to the airport do deliver the bag to us. I can't tell you how helpful and generous this person was to assist us from a situation that could have ruined our whole stay in Thailand.

If we come back to Thailand we will definitely stay here again and cannot recommend this guesthouse more highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank artyjaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Sabuy guesthouse in December 2012. The rooms are very clean, the location is perfect (right in the center of town) and in a quiet alley. They have a gorgeous small orchid garden to have breakfast or just relax with a beer.
More than that, the owners are extremely nice, always smiling and helping. The guesthouse is run by a small Thai family and you do feel at home, everyone is involved in all activities.
It is definitively a place to stay in Chiang Mai: price, location, service quality, cleaniness .. everything is perfect !

Room Tip: The guest house is just opposite Thai Orchid cooking school, which is a great plan for cooking class...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coralie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

We liked it a lot! We've stayed here for 4 nights. Price was about €20,- per room.

+
Location
Room, more then enough Space
Very nice owners
We felt very safe, left all the valuable stuff in the room
Lovely garden to hang out

-
Very, very hard beds
Did not get clean towels
No cleaning was done
At night there can be some noise from the streets

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANkiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago, and it was a great experience. The owners of the guesthouse are warm and welcoming. Really helpful too. It never seemed an imposition to ask them for info on where to go and how to get there, the relative cost of transportation from one place to another etc. Very pretty garden/cafe area with lots of lovely orchids and even a mini fish pond. We had breakfast included in the price we booked via agoda, which was coffee/tea and an omelette with toast and butter and jam. The lady guesthouse owner though made sure we had fresh fruit every day, and a variety of it. Mangoes, mangosteen, papaya, and pineapple. Would love to stay here again if we ever come back to Chiangmai. :) It was luck that we booked it, not knowing much about the city. It is very central to what you might consider the "tourist" area, but that means you are walking distance to a variety of restaurants and things to do, temples to see, massage parlors, bookstores, bike/motorbike rentals etc. We came back to Chiangmai after having been further up north in Pai for 6 days, and had already booked a cheaper place further outside the old city area, which was fine, but not as convenient as Sabuy :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkacarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Baan Montien
Baan Montien
#321 of 702 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pat's Klangviang
Pat's Klangviang
#112 of 702 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
de Rachamanka
de Rachamanka
#87 of 702 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Walking Street Residence
Walking Street Residence
#167 of 702 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#15 of 702 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Log Home Boutique Hotel
Log Home Boutique Hotel
#68 of 702 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabuy Chiangmai Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabuy Chiangmai Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sabuy Chiangmai Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6/4 Soi 8, Phrapokklao Road | Prasing Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Sabuy Guesthouse)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 702 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabuy Chiangmai Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sabuy Chiangmai Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing