We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice view over Chiang Mai”

Wat Phra That Doi Kham (Temple of the Golden Mountain)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.00*
and up
Private Tour: Wat Phra That Doi Suthep and City of Chiang Mai
Ranked #9 of 247 things to do in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice view over Chiang Mai”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

its not overwhelming with tourist as at wat doi suthep...what give it a more intimated and spirituel atmosphere , and the view over Chiang Mai is even nicer....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank patchiangmai2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    430
    79
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a must see!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just do not miss this temple. The walk up is beautiful and meditative, and the views from the top are great!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarkFrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best temples in chiang Mai”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Beautifully preserved and with an amazing view over the city. Rent a scooter, tuk tuk, taxi, but please come. The place is amazing, you'll get great photos and it's not very crowded.

Helpful?
Thank fabiofdfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most impressive temple in Chiangmai”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I was so impressed by this temple on top of Doi Suthep. A definite must for all visitors to Chiangmai.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jaynewep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wow, amazing”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I had a lovely ride up the mountain in a air conditioned taxi, cost £10 English which included a few stops to see sights on the way ( the taxi man took me round and also took pics of me ) and had to pay to ride the cable car up (sorry can not remember how much, ) the mountain (one can walk the thousand or so steps if one wants to)
It was wonderfull, I went early so there was not too many visitors, and not too hot
you have to take off your shoes, you can leave them in the open or in a locker
there are tour guides available and people who charge to take your photo
a place that sells drinks and snacks
one can buy joss sticks and other things to walk around and give to buda
and also one can be blessed by a monk, ( I had to remove my hat for this )
a wonderfull experience

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cathymarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wat Phra That Doi Kham (Temple of the Golden Mountain) also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Wat Phra That Doi Kham (Temple of the Golden Mountain)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing