We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice concept, good breakfast and fast internet”
Review of Yesterday

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yesterday
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice concept, good breakfast and fast internet”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms are all decorated in a retro style which is well done. The hotel feels very well maintained and the staff are attentive.

Because of the high ceiling we had in our room it definitely felt bigger than it was. Only drawback was the window which didn't really let in much light as it was on the side of the building.

The internet is fast, everything works perfectly in the room, and breakfast is served in the coffee shop at the front of the building which is a great place to hangout. There are also a good selection of restaurants for lunch and dinner around, so we really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room as far back on the corridor from the reception as possible, as the large open space does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maximobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    46
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
28
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The Yesterday hotel was such a great welcome to Chiang Mai! I've been twice now and I love this part of the city - You get a much more authentic/local feel to it than staying in the heart of the Old City. It's still only a short tuk-tuk ride to the Old City if you do want to go there as well. Although located on a busy street, the hotel was nicely hidden and surprisingly tranquil. You could also rent bikes, which was fun to go along the small side streets "sois" for the cute coffee shops and stores. The rooms have an antique theme about them, although it seems somewhat forced. By far the best thing about this place was the very kind and helpful staff. I would strongly recommend it for tourists looking to stay outside of the Old City.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagsCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle Heights, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A building that takes you back in time. Great location and set back from street made this a quiet, comfortable place to stay. Breakfast included.... you get a ticket for the quaint cafe in front of the hotel.... food was nice and coffee not too bad either. Bathroom was a little awkward with old hot water system but did the job. Rooms were spacious. We liked the little quirky added touches. Staff were friendly and helpful. Definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: There is no lift so you get some exercise if you stay in a room on the top floor......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

A nice old building set back from the street, with clean rooms and friendly staff, and breakfast at the café next door was excellent. What made this hotel special were all the little things. They had really thought through the design of the rooms and what would make a pleasant stay for the guests. They even gave us a bowl of fruit as a welcome gift and a small toy when we left (though mine was a spinning top with a big metal spike attached to it, which fortunately I discovered before going through airport security).

The location was good for us – on a street with bars and restaurants, but on the opposite side of the old city from the nightlife area, so there was no noise.

I would definitely recommend Yesterday if you are looking for somewhere quiet and comfortable close to the centre of town.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0nn0D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

On my 2nd night stays in Chiang Mai, I chose to stay on Nimmanhaemin road as the area is well known for chic and stylish restaurants, coffee shop, pub and bars. There are also gift shops, house-decoration items shop, lifestyle boutiques, and gallery along the street. Yesterday is the boutique hotel with homey retro concept and childhood-inspired ambience.

My room (Yesterday 2/6) is on the second floor of the main building, with the little private outdoor terrace - good for smoker. The medium sized-suite equipped with king-size bed, oldie style television, sofa corner, working desk and bathroom. The bed and pillows are comfortable enough to let me enjoy the good night.

I booked the room with breakfast, the reception will give you breakfast vouchers in the morning. The restaurant (different building) serving in american/buffet style - it is not too bad.

Staffs are friendly and helpful, they recommended me to have a healthy dinner at the restaurant (serving a variety of salad with fresh and organic vegetable and fruits) located on the opposite side of the road. Thank you very much - it's yummy!

The cleanliness is only the issue for my stay here - there was the cigarette ashes in the coffee cup in the room.

In overall, it was a nice stay and I would consider to return here again for a night stay (or two) if the room rate is attractive enough comparing to other hotels with the same concept in this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AorPhatthawut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todos Santos, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I asked for a room on the top floor at the front of the building to have access to the terrace and was very happy with the whole stay - friendly and attentive service, fantastic neighborhood, very comfy bed and good wi-fi throughout. Recommended!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd level in the front, even if being there is more noise from Niemanhamen Rd - I sleep with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrldtrvlr23SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Great stay, with great service and a nice boutique feel. Free bike rentals to cruise around this trendy area of the city. Sitting outdoors for breakfast was nice. Recommend some bug spray, as with everywhere in thailand. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberMeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
The Empire Residence Nimman
The Empire Residence Nimman
#168 of 381 in Chiang Mai
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Craft Nimman
The Craft Nimman
#112 of 381 in Chiang Mai
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanae Hotel
Sanae Hotel
#81 of 381 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
At Pingnakorn Hotel Chiangmai
At Pingnakorn Hotel Chiangmai
#76 of 381 in Chiang Mai
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Hug Nimman
Hug Nimman
#123 of 381 in Chiang Mai
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yesterday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yesterday

Property: Yesterday
Address: 24 Nimmanhaeminda Rd | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 825 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yesterday 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like no others, Yesterday Hotel is, in many ways, represented the influential era of Thai identity during the mid 80s. The most impressive thing about the hotel might not be only its superb convenient location in the heart of the hip city centre area, Nimmanhaemin, where hundred of chic cafes and small shops are surrounded, but it would be also the sum of its elements and services that are inspired by Thai good old days. The building itself was long known as an international kindergarten and has been renovated into the 25-room boutique hotel since 2008. While the exterior is the mixtures of Thai and Colonial architecture, the interior are somewhat cultural unique. Hanging on the wall of each room, the pictures are the collection of the "Mana-Manee", 20 years ago Thai-primary school textbook and illustrates. The antique furnishings from decorative lamps to non-identical handicraft beds simply remind the visitors of such an era of Thai children culture and nationalism. However, the modern comfortable stay is not overlooked. All services such as free Wifi, electronic door lock, bicycle, safety box, hair dryer, complimentary herbal hot drinks, 24-hour front desk together with many of other amenities and services come as standard in the Deluxe room type and above. Despite the fact that Yesterday Hotel tries its best to provide the most convenient location and comfy stay; above all, for those visitors who are long wishing to wake up oneself childish soul, perhaps... this might be the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yesterday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing