We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great place for group of 8-12 ppl”
other travellers have booked this property
Main house as seen from first floor of Sala
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main house as seen from first floor of Sala
view from first floor towards the riverside sala Sala at dusk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Main house as seen from first floor of Sala
view from first floor towards the riverside sala
Sala at dusk
Private gym
The bar
The TV room
Main dining room
Villa entrance seen from the road
Terrace dining
Part of the main lounge(downstairs)
Part of main lounge (downstairs)
Main lounge
River view from further down
Main bedroom downstairs with extra large super King size bed
Dusk view from the Jacuzzi and sala
View of the river suite
view from the dining room
Outdoor terrace dining
Antiques in upstairs lounge
Downstairs lounge towards the bedroom
Outdoor lunch on the terrace
River sala
upstairs bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Chiang Mai

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
robinshu
1 review
“great place for group of 8-12 ppl”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My group of 10 people spent 6 days at chiangmai villa during the chinese new year holiday.
The villa is well equipped and decorated, as if the owner would stay here him/herself. Service people are intelligent and experienced enough so that we were well taken care of all the way from airport pick up, food, day trips, onsite massage, till airport drop off.
Not quite at the dhava dhevi level in some details, but this is probably $100 per person per day vs. $300 comparison. More of a home feeling instead of commercial hotel/resort. Strongly recommend for group of close people who want to chill relax and enjoy private interaction.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soulbiker
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Roadside rickety residence”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was incessant noise with this rental.

The house is situated on a busy road. Inside it is dark and gloomy and dusty, so we wanted to spend time in the light by the pool. But there was no tranquility with the constant flow of cars, motorbikes blaring music or full throttle and trucks. To top it all off, we were also in the flight path so every so often the roar of jet engines would top off the rest of the cacophony.

On Sat morning at 6:30 we were awoken to a nearby speaker blasting some Thai music followed by a public service announcement or some speech. That lasted a few minutes and ensured that we couldn't go back to sleep.

We took all our massages indoors into a room downstairs for some peace and quiet.

The inside is noisy but of a different type: because the entire house is made of teak and is 25 yrs old and showing, walking on the floor guarantees loud creaking. Our kids and us made a game of trying to cross the room silently. Naturally no one won.

I can only imagine the internal cacophony when the house is at full capacity. We were only 4 guests. There's absolutely no sneaking around here!

The rooms were dusty and musty. Bathroom doors couldn't close properly. Even on a bright day, we had to switch on all the lights for some cheer.

I completely regret not staying in the Four Seasons for the same price!!! What was I thinking??????!!!! Oh, I was foolish enough to believe the "luxury" description in the listing. And the other reviews which I now realise were made by people who have hardly reviewed anywhere else.

The only saving grace about this place is the staff. Kim and Kat and their colleagues spared no effort in meeting our food and touring needs. They were the only compensation for a very pathetic, miserable place.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
I am not too sure what this guest was expecting as the villa is loaded with priceless antiques and has a feeling unmatched in other villas , blaring load speakers is sadly a feature of the Thai countryside but only on special days and lasts a few minutes at most , yes the floor does creak in places , it is made with real old planks and we do say that if you want a modern concrete villa this is not the place but then who wants that in Chiang Mai ?
The kitchen and rooms are all fully equipped with all the luxuries you could want and the cost for a six bedroom villa would be the same as one bedroom at Four Seasons ?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aidan K
2 reviews
“Absolutely Brilliant”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed at Baan Cheap Chang for 5 days, and they were some of the most amazing days I have had living in Thailand. Upon entering the villa I was taken aback by the beautiful greenery surrounding it. Before I had even entered the house I knew that this was no ordinary Villa. The greenery covers almost the entire property, if you are not standing within one of the buildings you are encompassed by beautiful old trees or carefully planted local flowers and vegetation. Everything has been planned and planted for a reason.

Once entering the house you are blown away by the unbelievable local artwork decorating the beautiful teak wood walls, which by the way is what the entire villa is made from! The villa is obviously continuously updated and changed as their is modern artwork and a contemporary finish to the kitchen. This however blends well with the simplistically beautiful local design of the villa which once again was hand made out of beautiful teak wood. Every part of the interior is decorated with an antique, local piece of furniture, artwork, pottery, or sculpture. You could walk around the villa for hours just admiring how it has been furnished. The villa itself was like walking through your dream home.

I was exceptionally pleased with the easy going amazingly friendly staff who were great throughout my stay. Whether it was making sure the villa was always cleaned, to cleaning up after me, to even going the extra mile to cut fruit. They were always friendly and always smiling. Not to mention the manager, who always made sure that everything was arranged, like our transport into town if ever we wanted to go.

Speaking of the town, the villa-although seemingly out of town, down along at the river-is right beside it! Only a short 15 minute drive from the booming center of Chiang Mai, yet it feels like your own secluded riverside paradise.

A highly recommended stay if you want to treat yourself to paradise whilst still being able to easily get to town and explore the local culture.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spambeano
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Villa For Large Group”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Chiangmai is a great choice for those with a larger group looking for a self-contained getaway. The property was well maintained and the service was .

Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
664hei
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Villa”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I organised this Villa as a surprise for my mum for her 75th birthday and for Jeff who also had a birthday looming, and all i can say is that it was an absolutely amazing treat on every level.

The amount of time and effort that has gone into the Villa to make it such a beautiful escape is truly commendable. Its also so very tranquil and serene that you really want to make the most of your down time there in amongst exploring Chiang Mai.

The grounds are stunning and the staff are so very helpful and accommodating and so our stay is one we will never forget.

From Khun Kim organising our day trips sight seeing to buying fruits and veggies for us that the staff cooked up, and being spoilt each day with breakfast and the lovely smiling faces of the house help all added to the whole experience.

I want to thank everyone involved for really making this one very memorable and special occasion!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the entire feel of the Villa and its space and beautiful setting and i love antiques and Asian furniture
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe...
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Baan Cheep Chang villa”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I have spent many peaceful nights staying at the Baan Cheep Chang villa while on vacation, my latest was for a full week.
Their services truly deserve a 5 star rating.
The staff is very professional and helpful.
On site chefs provide delicious Thai meals and are able to cook specific Western style dishes, if requested ahead of time.

Amenities include a gym, swimming pool and lounging areas all surrounded by beautiful and well-maintained open air gardens.
For those looking to make trips into the city for shopping and fun at such locations as the night bazaar, the villa is just a quick 15-20 minute drive away.

I had an amazing and relaxing time at the Baan Cheep Chang villa and highly recommend it to those looking for an alternative to the crowded and busy city center.

Philippe Bassetti

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglasct
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Villa”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Very nice place for a group of friends or family. The manager arranges everything for us, from pickup to sightseeing to shopping. Very professionally done. Staff are friendly and helpful. We are very pleased with their services.

Rooms are clean and tidy. Lots of space for group activities. Excellent place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Swimming Pool
Liked least: Air Conditioner
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing