We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Boutique Hotel in Thailand!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club One Seven Chiang Mai
Ranked #128 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 7 October 2008

The River Ping Palace is the most amazing boutique hotel I've stayed at in many years ... and I travel a lot! Rather than echo the previous reviewer (towardsthelight), let me simply "ditto" that review and add that owner Esther and her staff all but washed my feet each day ... and I observed that other guests received the same treatment. The hotel amenities are fabulous, but it's the lovely, friendly staff there that will make you feel like you're going home each night rather than to a hotel.

Like the previous reviewer, I also extended my scheduled stay there.

If you stay at River Ping Palace, you'll enjoy a lovely, warm experience, eat delicious and beautifully prepared meals and have to be pried out to explore Chiang Mai. You won't want to leave and you'll certainly come back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelartgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2008

The River Ping Palace is amazing!

Right on the Ping river, with an incredible menu, great ambience, beautiful old teak rooms, beautiful Thai art and design everywhere, ornamental garden, friendly staff......easily the nicest place we found in our whole Thailand trip! Not to mention that Esther is such a gracious hostess!

We ended up staying far past our scheduled time, we really felt at home and at peace.

I can't say enough good things about this place, it was quite a marvel. I can say without a doubt, I'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank towardsthelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

the river ping palace was simply amazing. i loved every aspect about it. from its charming rooms to its fantastic food, and especially its energetic and outgoing host. the palace is on the river. my balcony actually lead out to the river right outside my room. the hotel is not pretentious nor a boring cookie-cutter resort. guests must have an open-mind and great taste to fully appreciate the endless things it has to offer. if you are lucky enough to meet esther, that will certainly make your stay. the mango cheesecake is a must. the hotel is authetic and the most comfortable one i have ever stayed in. the staff is quite friendly and available to help you in any way. just ask! my 2 friends and i stayed there for 4 days. i wish we could have stayed longer. i just didn't want to leave at the end. when i travel to chiang mai in the future, there is no question as to where i would book again. i am telling all my friends to come to the river ping palace for an unforgettable trip.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank climber22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

We read the recommendation fro trip advisor and decided to go there in Jan 2008. The hotel is exactly like what others said..rustic, nice customer services. But not what we expected. We were there for 4 nights

When we were there, the weather was nice but we ended up having to turn on the air conditioning and close the windows as the hotel is next to the road. You can hear the car running by.

Since it is an old teak wood house, we have problems with mosquitoes flew through the crack between the wood. The hotel put the mosquitoes coils and it smoke everywhere. I really had a hard time sleeping due to the smell of the smoke from mosquitoes coils. The bath room is not so nice and there were big gaps where the mosquitoes also can fly in. My husband ended up going back home with Dangue fever and had to be admitted to the hospital.

The location is quite far from the other attrative places in Chiang mai. So you will have to pay extra to get back to the hotels comparing to other places near night bazzar. So once you are back to the hotel, there are not much of things to do around the hotels.

When we were there, there were only one more customer so the hotels are quite empty. The service is nice but it does make you feel like you bother them as you are always the only customer there.

The breakfast is just adequate and small. They prepare couple toast, a piece of pie/cake and fruits along with tea or coffee at your table. We had the same food on our first and thrid day.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KKandJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Owner at Club One Seven Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Thank you for your comment. When you stayed, the guesthouse was called River Ping Palace. We are now under a different ownership and management. We are now a gay men's retreat called Club One Seven. The accomodation has been upgraded with a sauna, cafe, swimming pool, gym and massage salon so it is much different from what the River Ping Palace was.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

The River Ping is situated by the river which is lovely. The rooms are very rustic and traditional. The owner was sociable and helpful. The price was quite expensive though and it was noisy because of the road nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelly-matilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Owner at Club One Seven Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Thank you for your comment. When you stayed, the guesthouse was called River Ping Palace. We are now under a different ownership and management. We are now a gay men's retreat called Club One Seven. The accomodation has been upgraded with a sauna, cafe, swimming pool, gym and massage salon so it is much different from what the River Ping Palace was.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

My husband and I wanted a small, friendly guesthouse - not a sterile high rise (we're in our late 50's). We found the River Ping Palace perfect for our needs. An old teak building, it is located right on the river with the dining area overlooking the water. The food is fantastic! Even if you don't stay here, come and eat. Try the mango cheesecake! The rooms are reasonable size and very clean. The owner, Esther, is the most personable manager we have ever met. Whatever you need, she can figure how to do it. She speaks perfect English, Thai, and Chinese and can deal with any special requests that you have. The guesthouse is only a short tuk-tuk ride away from Night Bazaar and other central places. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliethai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2008

We had reserved a room in the "palace" for four nights but ended up leaving after the first.
The hotel is situated 5 minutes from the airport, which is nice when you arrive to Chiang Mai but not so nice during your stay. You need to find a tuktuk to go to all the main attractions, nothing is at walking distance.
The room was clean but dark and really small. The traffic noise is so loud that I had hard time sleeping even with earplugs.
We must have been the only guests in the hotel that day and the service was nothing like you can read in some critics here. We felt more like disturbing them...
If you want to enjoy your stay in Chiang Mai, I advice to stay avay from the "Palace" and to find a more central location.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank eEvaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Owner at Club One Seven Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Thank you for your comment. When you stayed, the guesthouse was called River Ping Palace. We are now under a different ownership and management. We are now a gay men's retreat called Club One Seven. The accomodation has been upgraded with a sauna, cafe, swimming pool, gym and massage salon so it is much different from what the River Ping Palace was.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.4 mi away
Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#55 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,722 reviews
1 mi away
Viangdara Hotel
Viangdara Hotel
#120 of 395 in Chiang Mai
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ban Sabai Spa Village Boutique Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Suan Bua Hotel & Resort
Suan Bua Hotel & Resort
#134 of 395 in Chiang Mai
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club One Seven Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club One Seven Chiang Mai

Address: 385/2 Charoen Prathet Rd. | Changklan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £32 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club One Seven Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built circa 1880, Club One Seven Chiang Mai, with its peaked roof and wide veranda porches, are a perfect example of an old-fashioned Thai style teak wood house that sits in a lush tropical garden. There's a real friendly ambiance that makes guests content to just spend time relaxing around the place particularly at one of the favored spots - overlooking the serene Ping River. For those just looking to unwind, read a book and use up as little energy as possible, this is certainly a place to consider. Club One Seven is a full service facility not just a guesthouse. Additional to the guesthouse there is a gym, swimming pool with jacuzzi jets, steam room, sauna, massage salon, internet tv room and cafe. Regular monthly party events are held on the 1st, 7th, 17th and 27th of the month as well as special holidays. Club One Seven Chiang Mai, is one of the more unusual places you will find designed for the gay male community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club One Seven Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club 1 7 Chiang Mai
Club One Seven Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing