We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the truth” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club One Seven Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club One Seven Chiang Mai
Ranked #113 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
multiple locations
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the truth”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

well after reading some of the reviews on this site i was expecting something really special-not to be!!!
for the cost of a room (over 2000 baht) the only thing this hotel has got going for it is its riverside location.
currently i'm staying in a room for 400baht which is a lot nicer than the rooms there.
2 words for this hotel "over-rated and over priced"
if the prices were lower i feel this hotel could justify place.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thetruth69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    57
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
8
54
64
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

The River Ping Palace is what one could only describe as an experience. The building itself is an old Thai Teak house, over 130 years old. The rooms are individually styled, not unlike a small boutique guesthouse. There's a Chinese and Thai fusion that gives the rustic charm of the building a warm sophistication that's lost on large commercial hotels and guesthouses.

My initial plan was to stay in Chiang Mai for 10 days; however I stayed for 20. this was partly due to the City, which I loved, but it was also due to the absolute peace and relaxation of the River Ping Palace. The staff are attentive, but not overbearing. They're on hand but not in your face. Perhaps some guests would like to have the serving staff eagerly waiting at the end of the table; however, I prefer to be left alone until I want service.

You're never made to feel that you have to leave once you've finished eating; in fact the staff are more than happy to let you kick back and relax for the evening, listening to the wonderfully eclectic music selection, watching the river Ping flow by. Utter peace and relaxation. I often felt quite smug sitting in the outdoor restaurant with my friends, chatting, relaxing and looking over at the gigantic white elephant of the Hilton Hotel, with all of its hermetically sealed rooms and no character.

The food, along with the service, is second-to-none. I can honestly say that I have eaten in most of the 5 star hotels in Chiang Mai and none of them quite hit the mark in comparison with the River Ping Palace. The menu has local, Chinese, and Indian dishes; all of which are cooked fresh to order and to your specification. If you're not sure what to have then the staff are more than happy to bring you a mezze of dishes.

The guesthouse is no more than a 10 minute taxi ride into the centre of town. Personally I didn't find this an issue. My first couple of nights in Chiang Mai was spent in a hotel in the centre and I hated it. It was noisy and impersonal.

On the occasions I went out to the local bars I never had an issue obtaining a taxi either to or from town. This fact alone made the River Ping Palace great, close enough to have all the fun you want, but far enough away so you can completely disconnect from all the hassle of the city.

If you're looking for a cookie-cutter, hermetically sealed hotel room then the River Ping Palace isn't for you. However, if you're looking for character, individuality and boutique type rooms then this is the place for you. The four-poster beds with the colonial netting draped off them is a winner every time.

I've read some comments regarding the traffic noise. The building is set well away from the road, which in the evening isn't heavily used. It's difficult to comment on other people's experiences, however I can say that I was never woken, or disturbed by the traffic.

I'd say that the guesthouse isn't marketed to any particular age range. Whilst I was there I met young couples, young families, old couples, older families, groups of single people... you get the idea. What it does cater to is your relaxation and enjoyment. Also there's free wifi in the rooms so you can connect your laptop to the internet, there's also free internet access in the bar if you don't have your laptop.

I went for 10 days and stayed for 20; and I'll be sure to go back again. A truly amazing place, with wonderful staff and amazing service.

  • Liked — The great food, amazing rooms and wonderful service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ade70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

The River Ping Palace is charming and a truley unique way of experiencing a taste of Thailand . Its authenticity is obvious as it is tastefully decorated with authentic thai art, colours and culture. The service is down to a T, the staff greet you with their beautiful smiles, Esther is an excellent host whom is very welcoming and makes this special place feel more like home. The rooms are a generous size, the food is amazing and the patio by the river is the perfect place to rest your weary soul. The River Ping Palace is more than just a place to stay, its an entire experience and I am very glad I made the choice to stay here.
I love everything about this place, The beautiful teakwood house perfectly situated in a peaceful setting next to the river and away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Although, many things are just a stones throw away for example the night bazaar, and if you are looking to go somewhere more far a field, it is cheap enough to take alternative transport.
I have enjoyed every minute and am very sorry I have to leave, but I shall return.

  • Liked — character of the place
  • Disliked — mosquitos (but who can control those?)
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brijan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2008

Upon arriving at the River Ping Palace we were struck by the authentic Thai atmosphere that surrounds the place. The hotel is nestled on the river, an old wooden structure that has charming rooms, great staff, and excellent food. Red orb lanterns hang throughout the place gracing it with an exotic ambiance in the evening time. The staff here is great. They are extremely sweet and attentive. Our room was made up every day immaculately and being served meals was always a pleasure. The food here was delicious. The dinner dishes were made from fresh ingredients and were delicious! The desserts were especially notable, especially the mango cheesecake. We definitely recommend a stay at River Ping Palace where you will be taken care of and have a wonderful haven from which to enjoy the city of Chiang Mai from.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank marissamarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

The River Ping Palace is the most amazing boutique hotel I've stayed at in many years ... and I travel a lot! Rather than echo the previous reviewer (towardsthelight), let me simply "ditto" that review and add that owner Esther and her staff all but washed my feet each day ... and I observed that other guests received the same treatment. The hotel amenities are fabulous, but it's the lovely, friendly staff there that will make you feel like you're going home each night rather than to a hotel.

Like the previous reviewer, I also extended my scheduled stay there.

If you stay at River Ping Palace, you'll enjoy a lovely, warm experience, eat delicious and beautifully prepared meals and have to be pried out to explore Chiang Mai. You won't want to leave and you'll certainly come back.

  • Liked — Esther and her staff - although the lovely accomodations themselves were a close second. Also, they have WiFi in the rooms!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelartgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2008

The River Ping Palace is amazing!

Right on the Ping river, with an incredible menu, great ambience, beautiful old teak rooms, beautiful Thai art and design everywhere, ornamental garden, friendly staff......easily the nicest place we found in our whole Thailand trip! Not to mention that Esther is such a gracious hostess!

We ended up staying far past our scheduled time, we really felt at home and at peace.

I can't say enough good things about this place, it was quite a marvel. I can say without a doubt, I'll be back!

  • Liked — ambience and feeling at home
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank towardsthelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

the river ping palace was simply amazing. i loved every aspect about it. from its charming rooms to its fantastic food, and especially its energetic and outgoing host. the palace is on the river. my balcony actually lead out to the river right outside my room. the hotel is not pretentious nor a boring cookie-cutter resort. guests must have an open-mind and great taste to fully appreciate the endless things it has to offer. if you are lucky enough to meet esther, that will certainly make your stay. the mango cheesecake is a must. the hotel is authetic and the most comfortable one i have ever stayed in. the staff is quite friendly and available to help you in any way. just ask! my 2 friends and i stayed there for 4 days. i wish we could have stayed longer. i just didn't want to leave at the end. when i travel to chiang mai in the future, there is no question as to where i would book again. i am telling all my friends to come to the river ping palace for an unforgettable trip.

  • Liked — esther and her hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank climber22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Nordwind Hotel
Nordwind Hotel
#119 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#40 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.3 mi away
Karinthip Village
Karinthip Village
#169 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
#106 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
#127 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#83 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club One Seven Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club One Seven Chiang Mai

Property: Club One Seven Chiang Mai
Address: 385/2 Charoen Prathet Rd. | Changklan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club One Seven Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built circa 1880, Club One Seven Chiang Mai, with its peaked roof and wide veranda porches, are a perfect example of an old-fashioned Thai style teak wood house that sits in a lush tropical garden. There's a real friendly ambiance that makes guests content to just spend time relaxing around the place particularly at one of the favored spots - overlooking the serene Ping River. For those just looking to unwind, read a book and use up as little energy as possible, this is certainly a place to consider. Club One Seven is a full service facility not just a guesthouse. Additional to the guesthouse there is a gym, swimming pool with jacuzzi jets, steam room, sauna, massage salon, internet tv room and cafe. Regular monthly party events are held on the 1st, 7th, 17th and 27th of the month as well as special holidays. Club One Seven Chiang Mai, is one of the more unusual places you will find designed for the gay male community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Club One Seven Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club One Seven Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Club 1 7 Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing