We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phusiriplace Chiang Mai
Ranked #214 of 777 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Walking from the hotel to night bazzar and Old Cities takes you 10-15 minutes. It's not very convenient for people loves shopping and night. However, renting a bike or motorbike shortens the travel time and it's cheap. The swimming pool is a highlight of the hotel. The room is on average except the washroom hygiene.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chung07040719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Phusiriplace Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at Duang Kamon for 1 month while taking a TEFL course. The price is 6500 baht a month at the time we checked in. They ask for 1 months deposit which is pretty standard everywhere when you rent for a month in Chiang Mai. The add on 300 baht if you want wifi. Which works about 75% of the time. They also charge 500 baht for water for the month. You also have to pay for electricity as well and they do have meters you can check to see how much you have used. While staying there they the staff are pretty much no help at all. The owner seems to have a very bad attitude almost all the time. Anyways they are doing construction next door so if you want to sleep in on the weekend it is not that easy with the hammering and sawing going on outside. The beds are ok I guess. Im not a big fan of the mattresses in thailand anyways so... During are stay we never got our room cleaned at all. They wanted six hundred baht to clean it just once. They are labeled as Serviced Apartments but they are not. When it comes time to check out you have to be very cautious.When we checked in we were told that upon check out we do NOT need to pay to get the room cleaned. When she brought out are bill there was a nice little charge for that added in there which there was no way around not paying it. She also tried to charge us for Wifi and Water again! Lastly since they have your electric meter available for you to look at I added up how much we owed before I saw her and well guess what!?!?! her total was not the same as mine. She must have a special calculator or something that likes to add 15% on top of everything... If your looking for aplace around that area Id stay away unless you like unfriendly staff, construction noise, and lack of cleaning... This is me trying to be understanding by the way....

Room Tip: Dont choose a room!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmessenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Scores a 3 instead of a four purely because of the location. Overall its a nice, good value hotel, but on the East side of the river, hence it's a bit far from all the activity and the old town. The pool is great but only gets sunlight between 10:00 and 14:30 (approx) which is a bit of a shame because it would be a great place to sunbathe all day. It's good value for money and the rooms are nice, but there are plenty of other places within Chiang Mai that can compete with this hotel in terms of value/location. We stayed here last minute during the Chinese New Year, had there been availability elsewhere, we would have chosen to stay closer to the town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This hotel would be ok if it wasn't for the owner and where it is situated. I booked in here for one month doing a TEFL course and paid 7,900 baht, (after being quoted 7,500 and when asking why she was charging me more she replied "you have furniture in the room!!"). I only stayed one week and in that time not once was the room cleaned, bin emptied or bedding changed. When I checked out I had to pay extra to have the bedding washed, electricity and water. The owner seemed very money grabbing and more interested in the garage repair shop she ran. The fridge in the room went off when you left the room. I put the bin outside my room to be emptied, they emptied it the first time but not the second time. You had to go to the shop to get a cup of coffee, which she charged 25 baht for and in the minutest of cups. I only ordered food once because then I found lots of nice little restaurants along the back roads, Green o'clock, Hinlay curry and pizza pasta stea . She tried to avoid giving me back my key deposit. You had to provide your own toilet rolls aswell. Walking back there from town is quite scary as there are no street lights along the road. Tuc-tucs and songtels don't pass by very often. Only stay here as a very last resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

just completed an EFL teacher training course at SEE TEFL. The Duangkamon is very convenient for the school, just a 10 minute stroll in the mornings. A bit of a trek into the main city, but the topgraphy is flat and DuangKamon is nowhere near as isolated as some reviews would suggest. There is a quite superb restaurant very nearby (Hinlay Curry) and plenty of canteens/street food vendors within a ten minute walk. TukTuk or red pickup truck taxi back from the city at night is 80-100 Baht, or it's a half hour amble, with river views and not a problem, i did the walk 3 times one day and i'm no athlete. Rooms in the hotel are spacious and clean, fridge, aircon, wifi, desk (VITAL for EFL training). The hotel has an onsite shop for essentials (snacks, drinks etc) which is open til the wee small hours at night, and a kitchen who do food to order from 7am onwards, although that service stops at 6pm, which is maybe a touch early for western tastes. Good pool to cool off in. **Very friendly and kind staff** and i'd happily recommend this to anyone who is coming to CM for EFL training. If you are here for tourism only- you might want to look closer to the old city as there isn't much out this way if you are on holiday, although many rooms have a view of Doi Sothep, which is pretty good for an economy hotel, one of the cheapest in town in fact. An ideal place to work and i would happily stay here again
Dr Dave Evans, Bristol, UK

Room Tip: hotel has an elevator/lift, but if you were a wheelchair user you would find the surrounding streets...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed at the Duangkamon Hotel for a month while we were completing a course in Chiang Mai. The hotel was relatively convenient for our course but is outside of the main tourist areas so it’s necessary to either have transport or take tuk-tuks. Unfortunately not many tuk-tuks pass the hotel so sometimes getting transport into town can be a problem.

We found staff at the hotel to be friendly and our room was relatively large, with a television, refrigerator, air-conditioning and a fan. It was good value; when we stayed additional nights we were charged 350 baht (in the low season). The hotel also has a decent swimming pool and there is (limited) gym and table tennis equipment for guests’ use.

The main downside was the location which, as mentioned above, is away from the tourist area. Also, the road where the hotel is located isn’t the prettiest part of Chiang Mai as it has a number of garages. Pavements are pretty bad too and it was often necessary to walk on the road. Another problem was room cleaning which only takes place weekly.

Although the hotel is good value, it is possible to get more for your money if you are prepared to spend 100 - 200 baht extra. For instance, friends stayed at the newly opened Luxe. It was only slightly more expensive but had daily room cleaning plus extras such as water, toilet paper and soap which were only included at Duangkamon on a weekly basis. It was also in the tourist area so no hunting for tuk-tuks or having to negotiate fares.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amani10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nicolas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
1.1 mi away
Saithong House
Saithong House
#272 of 777 in Chiang Mai
8 reviews
1.7 mi away
Little Lanna Cafe & Premier Guesthouse
1.8 mi away
Chana Place Hotel
Chana Place Hotel
#334 of 777 in Chiang Mai
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Saengthong Resort Chiangmai
0.8 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Serviced Suites
1.3 mi away
SK House 2
SK House 2
#92 of 777 in Chiang Mai
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phusiriplace Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phusiriplace Chiang Mai

Address: 89/2, Bamrungraj Rd. Watket Mueng Chiangmai | Wat Gate subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand (Formerly Duang Kamon Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 777 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £10 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phusiriplace Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phusiri Place, providing accommodation and facilities that are both relaxing and simplistic, available for short-term and long-term visits. A total of 36 units are divided into 24 Superior Rooms, 2 Deluxe Suites, 3 Deluxe Family Rooms, 7 Phusiri SuitesFor a more wholesome experience, Phusiri Place provides our visitors with bicycles,Swimming pools and Trekking Tours, and Chiang Mai City Tours. More information may be requested directly from the hotel counter ,away from old town city 2 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Phusiriplace Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing