We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Friendly Budget option right near Tha Pae gate!”
Review of Taicoon House

Taicoon House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taicoon House
Ranked #191 of 824 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Was so glad I stumbled apon this little gem of a place. Super clean rooms are serviced every day, the bed was really comfortable and soft unlike many guesthouses! And the staff were always very friendly and welcoming. I am staying again next weekend.

My only gripe is the Wi-Fi is poor and only available in the evenings. But at 300B for a double room with towels and nice hot shower, I'm not complaining!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karma_Karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2012

I recently stayed at this guesthouse with my partner in December 2012 (high season). We came here by chance as all the other guesthouses were booked out and stumbled on it while looking for a place to stay. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would recommend it to low-mid budget travellers for the following reasons.

PROS
- Good value - the rooms were 300B (Fan) and 450B (Air conditioning) although given the temperature in Chiang Mai while we were there a fan would be all you need.
- Location - located in the old quarter within very short walking distance to the markets. It is also on a small side street which reduces the noise at night (other hotels would be pummeled by the sounds of cars
- Clean
- Friendly staff who are willing to organize stuff for you if needed (not just stuff which gets them a commission). They also have a very cute cat.
- Wifi available although the reception depends on the location of your room and you may need to go to the lobby downstairs and it is only on from 6pm-11am.
- Hot water which works
- Air conditioning works (although not entirely needed)

CONS
- Very basic hotel having only a double bed, TV and shower. No furnishings but this is reflected in the price of the location and hopefully the traveler who chooses to stay here.
- Strange bedding with only a bottom sheet and two small 1 person blankets.

CONCLUSION
Fantastic budget option for travellers looking to stay in the heart of Chiang Mai and still save money. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Air conditioned rooms are not needed during the cooler winter months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rowan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I've stayed in this guesthouse for a couple of days and liked it very much. The two ladies who run the guesthouse are very nice and helpful. The room was clean and nice. I felt like home!

It is also very good located near the Thapae Gate. I was there during the Loi Krathong-Festival which was an amazing experience!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Taicoon's location is the best thing about it. 20 meters from the most and close to restaurants. Bon Massage is nearby and is excellent. Staff here are welcoming and warm. Rooms simple and showers hot. Laundry service next door.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Evtl. nach Zimmer mit Fenster fragen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: я был на 3 м этаже , - окно выходит в коридор !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evgenii D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank rucksackMichi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.8 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
955 reviews
1.4 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 395 in Chiang Mai
693 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,206 reviews
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
Rim Ping Guest House
#382 of 824 in Chiang Mai
3 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taicoon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taicoon House

Address: Moon Muang Soi 3 road | near to Thapae Gate, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 824 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing