We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved Baan Boo Loo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BaanBooLOo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BaanBooLOo
Ranked #8 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We loved Baan Boo Loo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have just returned from a tour of Thailand and Cambodia where we stayed at 5 different hotels varying from a large city 5 star international hotel, to a luxury beachside spa resort and a couple of smaller boutique hotels in between. Whilst not having all the fancy amenities of the luxury hotels, Baan Boo Loo was by far and away the best stay of all and we wish we had stayed there longer.
For us, Baan Boo Loo was just perfect. The location, within the old walled part of the City, the design, ambience and traditional style of this unique building, the charming, quirky and very individual rooms were just some of the features that made our stay at Baan Boo Loo special. But what made it even more special was the incredibly friendly, helpful and welcoming nature of our hosts. Adisak, Orm and their team made us feel as though we were personal guests in their private home. They always had time to help us with anything we needed, even if was just a chat about what we had been doing during the day. It really was one the most charming and friendly places we have ever stayed at and we would not dream of going anywhere else if and when we go back to Chiang Mai. We also would not hesitate to recommend Baan Boo Loo to any discerning traveller who prefers to stay in a truly unique one-off property that offers genuinely personal and friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrshills2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    24
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
100
175
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hadong-gun, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Tucked away down a small side street in otherwise busy Chiang Mai city center is perhaps the most enjoyable and restful place I've ever stayed. If Swiss Family Robinson and Pottery Barn had a baby, this would be it- Rustic teakwook structures on stilts, 4-poster bed with mosquito netting tied back, rattan chairs with embroidered pillows, carved wood details on the stairs, "open-air" deep bathtub and handmade kaffir lime soap...I could keep writing.

The staff member who welcomed me with fresh juice and a platter of fruit was incredibly friendly (and intuitive, as it was the same man who magically showed up with little cookies and a cup of hot tea when I was reading in the lounge seat outside of my room, thinking a cup of tea would be nice.) I was impressed when a traveler showed up to find out if there were any available rooms (book in advance), and when told there were none, he was offered a seat, a cup of coffee, and a visit instead of being shooed away.

As an English teacher in Korea, I'm looking forward to returning here on my next break for what feels like indulgence for my spirit. It was lovely.

It should be noted that this is a different kind of experience and not like a typical stay in a nice hotel. Lovers of rustic (but clean and well-decorated) housing, nature, and avid environmentalists will feel very at home here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

So unique and magical! We stayed in the rice barn treehouse - a perfect "rustic elegance" experience. The lounges downstairs were wonderful to, yes, lounge on during the day. The bathroom was very rustic in appearance but equipped with a spa bath. The beautiful bedroom itself overlooked the beautiful grounds and backed up to the temple in the back as I remember.

The welcome and service is as warm as reviewers say. They are committed to preserving the best of old Chiang Mai with warm service and key modern comforts (no TV etc. of course). We'd love to go back sometime...

Room Tip: The rice barn (the tree house) was wonderful in January. No air conditioning but no problem at this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnytown2743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at the BaanNooLOo two weeks ago because we wanted a more authentic Thai experience than that typically offered at a hotel, and a more sustainable one. Even our two 15 year old daughters were impressed, and believe me, it takes a lot to impress them! We had a sense of staying in someone's house rather than a hotel room and were able to use their transportation to different locations which meant not having to negotiate with taxis all of the time. Excellent food, and thank goodness, no swimming pool and fitness centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRLL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We spent two nights here and truly enjoyed our stay. Our room was private and comfortable and the grounds are truly lovely and everything is well maintained.
What made our stay truly special was the warmth that radiated from all the people that make Baan BooLoo run. Adisak sent clear and very detailed emails prior to our trip and patiently answered all my questions and gave me wonderful advice. The driver who picked us up and dropped us off at the airport greeted us promptly with a huge smile. We were welcomed by the staff as soon as we entered the courtyard and shown to our room and served tea on our private balcony. We were exhausted so they arranged to order food from a local place which they served to us beautifully on real plates (for a New Yorker used to take-out containers, I found this really charming). Breakfast was AMAZING - my husband and I still consider it to be the best and most authentic that we had in Thailand. Orn gave us her best tips of what to do that day and then effortlessly arranged for a driver to transport us around the city.
That evening was Christmas and Orn decided to prepare a home-cooked meal for all the guests as a celebration. It was very special to sit with all the fellow guests and enjoy the healthy and wonderful food. Afterwards, we lit traditional Thai paper lanterns.
The next morning, we had to leave quite early for a trek but I had some concerns about our extra luggage and laundry and asked Adisak for advice. Here's where we really felt like Baan BooLoo was truly our home away from home because he instantly offered to have our laundry taken care of and to store our extra luggage for us. After our two day trek, we were welcomed back to Baan BooLoo for the afternoon, given tea, visited with the staff, and once again we benefitted from the extraordinary advice of Orn and were sent to a small cafe for Khao Soi which was one of our favourite meals of the trip. They even arranged for a driver to take us back to the airport. And all of this after we had checked out!! Truly, they went above and beyond and did so with the simple attitude "You stayed here in our home, so now you are our family." That is what makes this place so special and we would never stay anywhere else in Chiang Mai.
Minor caveats: There is a rooster and several chickens (so cute!) who wake up quite early. Once you are in Thailand for awhile you will realize this is normal, but if you are from a big metropolis, it might take some adjusting. We also noticed more mosquitos here than elsewhere in Thailand but managed just fine with our bug spray and the bug lotion that the hotel supplies for everyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a must stay. Amazing. Traditional. Great customer service.
I can't say enough good things. Unique. Your money will be going directly to a family rather than some unknown businessmen. Great breakfast with some Thai treat. Read a book, head the night market, explore temples etc

Room Tip: Choose the room with the outdoor bath...Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Our stay at BanBooLOo was wonderful. I would highly recommend staying here for a variety of reasons.

1) The traditional Thai buildings and grounds help ground you in a Thai context - something I'm always looking for on my travels. This is definitely not a resort, so if you're looking for that, this might not be the place for you. The design of the buildings encourage natural air flow (open air bathrooms) and natural light. Yes some mosquitos might get in, but BanBooLOo has a great all-natural mosquito repellent at your disposal.

2) I love the attention to detail on the grounds. From the architecture, the bedding, the lounge area, wood-carved statues, plants and flowers (!!!), the communal eating area, and I especially appreciate the handmade soaps, shampoos, and conditioners.

3) Their eco-friendly design regarding water usage (with shower and sink water running back into the gardens), is special and reflects their attention to ethical practice.

4) Adi and the team are incredibly friendly, warm, and their welcome to Chaing Mai was very grounding. We had been in Bangkok for 2 days and our guest house did not 'sit down with us' the way Adi did upon our arrival. He gave us a map, went through points of interest, and gave us a great tour of the family-style facilities at our disposal.

We were at BanBooLOo during peak time and our trip to Thailand was a bit last-minute. Due to occupancy at the time, we had to switch rooms a couple of times - something that might not work for some, but we're flexible, loved the feel of BanBooLOo, and we went with it. Overall, we weren't able to get as settled as we would have liked, but when we come back to Chaing Mai, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizaliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#17 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 787 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaanBooLOo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaanBooLOo

Property: BaanBooLOo
Address: 5 Soi 3Kor, Intawaroroj 3 Road | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly BaanBooLOo Traditional Thai Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BaanBooLOo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique small Thai country village style guesthouse with surrounding wooden villas, hammocks, country garden, outdoor lounges with lots of arts and wood carvings. Visitors should be aware that this is a very natural setting. There are many kinds of creatures in the gardens Some bathrooms are semi open air and mosquitos are omnipresent as in the most part of Chiang Mai. We use mosquito netting in bedrooms as well as using air-conditioning, fans and mosquito repellents and creams free of charge. Guests are advised to wear loose fitting clothing with long sleeves and leg coverings in the early mornings and early evenings or to use a good strength anti mosquito spray. Sunny daytimes are mostly mosquito free. Hard to believe but BaanBooLOo Village seems completely cut off from the noise of the city centre yet is only 15 minutes from Chiang Mai International Airport. It is without question the quietest location in all of central Chiang Mai. We are in the central historic Old City Inner Moat area just 5 minutes walk from the major landmark Wat Pra Singh temple known by all in Chiang Mai. We provide a comprehensive and hearty Thai and International breakfast from 7am until 10am. We do cater for early start breakfasts and special dietary needs. Guests are recommended to discuss any special needs upon check-in. We have a quiet policy after 10pm as these are wooden houses and respect for neighbours is paramount. We also have an outdoor late lounge area with music and drinks until around midnight which is separate from guest rooms to avoid sleep disturbance. There are late night bars, jazz club and eateries all within 20 minutes walk or a short tuk tuk ride for around 100 baht. Most venues are open until around 1am. A handful are open until the early hours. Our concierge service includes helping guests to plan activities/spas/trekking plus advice on events in and around the city. This service is impartial and is included in the room charge. We would never recommend tourist service companies with animal cruelty reputations. BaanBooLOo Village is a 'green' environmentally friendly organisation evolving gradually. Our long term goal is to create a green oasis in the form of a living museum in the historic old city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BaanBooLOo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanbooloo Traditional Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing