We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful experience”
Review of BaanBooLOo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BaanBooLOo
Ranked #7 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most wonderful experience”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were fortunate to book four nights with our two young boys at this beautiful oasis in Chiang Mai. This was the begining of our six week trip to Thailand and a what a wonderful place to start.
We were instantly made to feel very welcome as soon as we entered the gates of this enchanting place. Great traditional wooden buildings in a beautiful garden setting with trees and flowers all around.
. Its hard to put your finger on exactly why its so special. It could be the genuine warmth of the hosts, or their openness and laid back nature or the stunning architecture and thoughtful design of the accomodation or the delightful home cooked thai food. In truth its all of these things and more.We have been fortunate to have been able to visit many places in the world but I have to say this place is without doubt one of the best. Our visit to Baan Boo Loo has been such a positive experience for us all and a time we will never forget. Its more than just a guest house its like staying with a Thai family. We stayed in the rice barn which provided ample space for the four of us and felt like our own private house in the center of Chiang Mai. It is a stunning building with room below for dining or hanging out. The bathroom had a full size bath which was a treat.

All the staff were incedible with our children , making them part of the family and especially putting up with the odd tantrum. Lin became good friends with our son Arlo and they both enjoyed each others company. Thank you Lin! I will definately stay in touch with Adisak and Orn and hope to return in a few years time. Adisak has offered to teach our son Thai boxing when he's older and we will definately take him up on the offer. I feel so lucky to have been able to experience this amazing environment which Adisak and his team have created.

Thank you so much

The Cosens Family

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: The rice barn is great for a family with two young kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pigeonvintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    25
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
101
185
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Carmel Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The best thing BaanBooLoo has going for it is the nice people who work there and, of course, it's proximity to the night market. It's close enough that you can shop, drop your stuff off in your room, and go back out!
However, if you like a quiet room, this is not the place. During the day, there is lots of construction (noise) going on as the owners are expanding (a wood planer was going non-stop during the day, while we were there). In the evening, there is lots of traffic (mostly motorcycles) as the place is located right on a very busy alley way. Of course, after 10 pm it is quiet.
So, if you do not mind noise, appreciate extrordinary friendly service, and want great proximity to the night market, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runner4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baanbooloo, Manager at BaanBooLOo, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing BaanBooLOo and your kind comment about our people.

We are sorry if any noises interrupted your stay during the day. However, just to highlight : there is and has been no building work going on at BaanBooLOo for a year nearly.

The noise is from neighbours about 150 metres and further away from the guest house and is now mostly completed.

As you rightly say the street is quiet at night. That's why the guest house is located here. In general we are sure both noise levels and traffic are not an issue for most guests around the clock. BaanBooLOo is a community project to preserve old wooden houses and traditional way of life in the area and your visit has contributed to maintaining a green oasis in the middle of Thailand's 2nd largest city.

Please bear in mind Chiang Mai is a rapidly expanding tourist destination and there is a construction boom all over the city.

We remain convinced the noise levels at BaanBooLOo are extremely low given the guesthouse's close proximity to major tourist attractions and are sure there is no quieter street at day or night in central Chiang Mai. However, please accept our apologies on this occasion for matters out side of our control. Guests are recommended to bring any issues to our attention as soon as possible so we can make immediate changes.

There is hardly any traffic day or night as BaanBooLOo is in a cul-de-sac and chickens and cats wander around there carefree between our two sites. There are about 2 or 3 cars/tuk tuks per hour and as many motor cycles on average outside our gates.

Important to make the following correction to this review: BaanBooLOo is not near the Night Market. That particular market is located in a very noisy and commercial part of the city near the river - about 15 minutes drive away. We are a long way from there in a quiet residential area.

BaanBooLOo is however, very conveniently located to the Wat Pra Singh temple..which is one end of the famous Sunday Walking Street Market which starts from around 4pm until 11pm.
There is no late market nearby during Monday to Saturday. Guests would need to arrange transport to get there.

Thank you and we are glad you enjoyed Chiang Mai.

Kinds regards

Louis
Team BaanBooLOo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed at this wonderful Thai guest house for 4 nights in January 2014. From the moment we arrived, we thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay and we would have liked to stay much longer. We are a well travelled family with 4 teenage kids having stayed at a wide range of accommodation options, from self catering houses to 5-star hotels. But from the first contact by email with Adisak in June 2013 to saying goodbye at the end of our stay, the experience was fantastic. We were really looking forward to our stay and the experience was even better than expected. It is not a modern 5 star hotel, you do not get collected from the airport in a luxury limo (but a Thai open van with luggage on the roof one way and the 4 kids sitting on cushions in the open back of a pick-up on the way back - one of the best rides for teenage boys!) and there are no tv's, mini bars or room service menues, no massive breakfast buffets, cocktail bar or gym. Baan Boo Loo is an authentic Thai experience with wonderfully appointed and very comfortable rooms full of original Thai furniture. The beds were extremely comfortable and everyone slept very well. The children stayed in their own 2-story little house, each room with its own bathroom. We stayed first in the honeymoon suite with its open air, but very private bathroom with open air shower and a beautiful sunken bath under the stars. The last night we stayed in a room without proper walls, but netting and a four poster beds with drapes and mozzie nets. All rooms were wonderful in their own special way. But what made the experience even more unique was our interaction with Adisak, Orm and the team, breakfasts and dinners around the long table in the garden (food was authentic Thai as well as great omelettes) and the opportunity to have personal conversations with these extremely friendly, helpful and warm Thai. Classic example of the impact they have on their guests, who are welcomed into the family, is the visit during our stay of 2 families who stayed previous years and despite not bring able to stay again as the house was fully booked almost every night, they came back for a chat and dinner in the garden. We will also most definitely come back to Baan Boo Loo and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a genuine Thai experience.

Room Tip: As mentioned in my review we stayed in 3 out if the 7 rooms - all were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakkerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

A fabulous place with Northern Thai style architecture, furniture, and decoration. No modern entertainment, such as TV, but with enjoyable silence in this cozy B&B which is situated in close proximity to scenic spots, such as Wat Pra Singh and Sunday market. Friendly hotel staff make us like home. Prior to our travel, hotel owner Adisak replied our questions in very detail. When we arrived,hotel manager Orn welcomed us with kindness and hospitality. During our stay, we enjoyed the privacy of our Bao Sao room, which is very suitable for couple. The outdoor space is full of the sun shine in the day and the stars and moon in the evening of the dry season. This is the best B&B I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pichuc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have just returned from a tour of Thailand and Cambodia where we stayed at 5 different hotels varying from a large city 5 star international hotel, to a luxury beachside spa resort and a couple of smaller boutique hotels in between. Whilst not having all the fancy amenities of the luxury hotels, Baan Boo Loo was by far and away the best stay of all and we wish we had stayed there longer.
For us, Baan Boo Loo was just perfect. The location, within the old walled part of the City, the design, ambience and traditional style of this unique building, the charming, quirky and very individual rooms were just some of the features that made our stay at Baan Boo Loo special. But what made it even more special was the incredibly friendly, helpful and welcoming nature of our hosts. Adisak, Orm and their team made us feel as though we were personal guests in their private home. They always had time to help us with anything we needed, even if was just a chat about what we had been doing during the day. It really was one the most charming and friendly places we have ever stayed at and we would not dream of going anywhere else if and when we go back to Chiang Mai. We also would not hesitate to recommend Baan Boo Loo to any discerning traveller who prefers to stay in a truly unique one-off property that offers genuinely personal and friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadong-gun, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Tucked away down a small side street in otherwise busy Chiang Mai city center is perhaps the most enjoyable and restful place I've ever stayed. If Swiss Family Robinson and Pottery Barn had a baby, this would be it- Rustic teakwook structures on stilts, 4-poster bed with mosquito netting tied back, rattan chairs with embroidered pillows, carved wood details on the stairs, "open-air" deep bathtub and handmade kaffir lime soap...I could keep writing.

The staff member who welcomed me with fresh juice and a platter of fruit was incredibly friendly (and intuitive, as it was the same man who magically showed up with little cookies and a cup of hot tea when I was reading in the lounge seat outside of my room, thinking a cup of tea would be nice.) I was impressed when a traveler showed up to find out if there were any available rooms (book in advance), and when told there were none, he was offered a seat, a cup of coffee, and a visit instead of being shooed away.

As an English teacher in Korea, I'm looking forward to returning here on my next break for what feels like indulgence for my spirit. It was lovely.

It should be noted that this is a different kind of experience and not like a typical stay in a nice hotel. Lovers of rustic (but clean and well-decorated) housing, nature, and avid environmentalists will feel very at home here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

So unique and magical! We stayed in the rice barn treehouse - a perfect "rustic elegance" experience. The lounges downstairs were wonderful to, yes, lounge on during the day. The bathroom was very rustic in appearance but equipped with a spa bath. The beautiful bedroom itself overlooked the beautiful grounds and backed up to the temple in the back as I remember.

The welcome and service is as warm as reviewers say. They are committed to preserving the best of old Chiang Mai with warm service and key modern comforts (no TV etc. of course). We'd love to go back sometime...

Room Tip: The rice barn (the tree house) was wonderful in January. No air conditioning but no problem at this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnytown2743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 383 in Chiang Mai
724 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,410 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baan Klang Wiang
Baan Klang Wiang
#7 of 383 in Chiang Mai
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
460 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 383 in Chiang Mai
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaanBooLOo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaanBooLOo

Property: BaanBooLOo
Address: 5 Soi 3Kor, Intawaroroj 3 Road | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly BaanBooLOo Traditional Thai Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BaanBooLOo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique small Thai country village style guesthouse with surrounding wooden villas, hammocks, country garden, outdoor lounges with lots of arts and wood carvings. Visitors should be aware that this is a very natural setting. There are many kinds of creatures in the gardens Some bathrooms are semi open air and mosquitos are omnipresent as in the most part of Chiang Mai. We use mosquito netting in bedrooms as well as using air-conditioning, fans and mosquito repellents and creams free of charge. Guests are advised to wear loose fitting clothing with long sleeves and leg coverings in the early mornings and early evenings or to use a good strength anti mosquito spray. Sunny daytimes are mostly mosquito free. Hard to believe but BaanBooLOo Village seems completely cut off from the noise of the city centre yet is only 15 minutes from Chiang Mai International Airport. It is without question the quietest location in all of central Chiang Mai. We are in the central historic Old City Inner Moat area just 5 minutes walk from the major landmark Wat Pra Singh temple known by all in Chiang Mai. We provide a comprehensive and hearty Thai and International breakfast from 7am until 10am. We do cater for early start breakfasts and special dietary needs. Guests are recommended to discuss any special needs upon check-in. We have a quiet policy after 10pm as these are wooden houses and respect for neighbours is paramount. We also have an outdoor late lounge area with music and drinks until around midnight which is separate from guest rooms to avoid sleep disturbance. There are late night bars, jazz club and eateries all within 20 minutes walk or a short tuk tuk ride for around 100 baht. Most venues are open until around 1am. A handful are open until the early hours. Our concierge service includes helping guests to plan activities/spas/trekking plus advice on events in and around the city. This service is impartial and is included in the room charge. We would never recommend tourist service companies with animal cruelty reputations. BaanBooLOo Village is a 'green' environmentally friendly organisation evolving gradually. Our long term goal is to create a green oasis in the form of a living museum in the historic old city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BaanBooLOo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanbooloo Traditional Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing