We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Finlay's Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Finlay's Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Myself and my fiancé have been on an eight month trip and this guesthouse has been one of the best places we've stayed in, and we have stayed in many many guesthouse and hostels!
We had a lovely spacious double room with air con. The staff kept the whole place exceptionally clean including the shared bathrooms. We were most impressed with the eggs and bacon on toast and musli, fruit and yoghurt for breakfast which was fantastic!
The owner and manager were really friendly and helpful and gave us a vitamin drink when we felt a little under the weather. So helpful and nice.
The cottage is located on a lovely quiet back street away from noise and just outside the old town but 5 mins walking distance. 10 mins walking distance to the night bazaar. Overall the location to explore Chiang Mai city was perfect.
We stayed at the end of May beginning of June (low season) and paid 500 baht per night including breakfast, a great price for the location and room quality. We would highly recommend anyone who is travelling/backpacking who likes private rooms to go to this guesthouse.

Room Tip: Choose one of the new purpose built rooms on the ground floor, they are nearer the shared bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    20
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
66
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I am here for 6 nights and so glad about it. This place is simple, but everything is done just right for a non-fancy place. The shared bathroom is actually really really nice, the bedroom is quiet and clean and comfortable (has A/C), the internet is good and in the rooms as well as the common area, and the owners are like staying with laid-back friends of your parents. They help you out with the tours and make sure you are all right, but otherwise leave you to it. On the tour-helping - definitely ask them to call for you as it is to your benefit in more ways than one. When there was a mix-up and my tour didn't pick me up, the owner noticed and called for me without my even asking for help. Amazing. What else? Breakfast is included and fresh-made: eggs, really good homemade bread, and bacon, or museli. And mango. The location is good too, near the center but still in a quiet spot. What a great find!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We booked here because of the great reviews and they were not far wrong. Nicely located in a cozy corner of the old town, it is in the centre of everything but far enough away from the noisy main streets. The owners are awesome. So helpful and layed back . At breakfast " Real Bacon". Had'nt had it in so long . Thanks and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirMac365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thalang District, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Amazing little setting situated in the old town of Chiang mai, which means your in walking distance of everywer but the cottage itself is down a lovely little lane away from all the noise. The owners are the best! You get a freshly cooked breakfast whenever you want it, ratti is always around to help and too talk to, she booked trips for us, arranged drivers for day trips, she even got up at 530 AM to help us get a tuk-tuk to the airport! Its a hostel but they make it feel like your staying with old Family friends! Made the trip to Chiang mai all the better!

Room Tip: We had downstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jefben_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

I stayed one night at Finlay’s in a double room (one person) with shared bathroom. Room was comfortable but as others have said you can hear the people next door so if you’re a light sleeper you might consider ear plugs. I didn’t hear any dogs at all. It was handy to have a torch in the room when the electricity in the area went down for an hour, a small and thoughtful touch.

Room was clean but not spotless, bathroom was clean. Breakfast fine, location great, a minute from Thapae Road. I spoke to some friends later and they were surprised I’d paid so much (500 baht) as they’d paid less for rooms which sounded quite similar so I’ll probably just turn up and look around town next time rather than booking in advance via the net.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kali737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

I can see why this place gets such great reviews. The common areas are cozy and cute, Ratti and Keith are both amazingly helpful and nice and the breakfast is great, plus it's a reasonable price. However, I can't believe anyone having stayed in the upstairs rooms could have written any reviews that said they were comfortable. The bed was horrible, hands down worst of a 5 week trip. The room was very small, and the walls were so thin you could hear everything, every time someone moved; I could hear the conversation of the people next to us...you can literally see light shining through the cracks. And you can hear everything outside...which for us, both nights, included dogs barking for hours in the middle of the night, and a cacophony of birds as well. I know it's not their fault there are noisy animals, but a proper window would block some of the sounds. We stayed in a lower floor room our last night there and it was a huge improvement. Bed was still bad, but still better than upstairs and the room had proper walls and windows.
Everything else was awesome. They helped book day trips, recommended restaurants, arranged transportation. I have nothing bad to say about the service and would give that part a 7/5 if I could. But after reading all the other reviews thought it was only fair to leave an honest review about the accommodations themselves. So overall very good, but there's a catch. If you stay in a lower room this is a great place!

Room Tip: lower floor is the way to go. you may hear people at breakfast in the morning but better than hearin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovadasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Finlay's for a total of 2 nights. The rooms are clean and it feels very homey... Ratti makes a lovely breakfast with good quality bacon ! Keith is also very lovely and gives some good advice. They let us keep our bags there when we did a 3 day trek which was very kind! The only thing is there are a lot of Mosquitos... But Ratti & Keith couldn't do enough to help. There was fly & mosquito spray by every room. Mosquito repellant on the table for you to use and Keith told us of some very good lotion we can get from the 7/11.
This was a great stay and we would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#116 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plearn Hostel
Plearn Hostel
#48 of 807 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
P21 Chiangmai Hotel
P21 Chiangmai Hotel
#56 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brick House Hostel
Brick House Hostel
#87 of 807 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.0 mi away
A Little Bird 2 Guesthouse
A Little Bird 2 Guesthouse
#82 of 807 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montha
Hotel Montha
#45 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay's Cottage

Property: Finlay's Cottage
Address: 4/1 Soi 4/A Thae Phae Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 807 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Finlay's Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finlay's Cottage is an original Thai wooden house and is a perfect base to explore Chiang Mai. Centrally located near Tha Phae Gate in the heart of the city, all the major temples and historical sights are within easy walking distance. The Walking Street market is 5 minutes away, the Night Market 15 minutes walk away. Free breakfast and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Finlay's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing