We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service”
Review of Finlay's Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Finlay's Cottage
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We just completed a 6 day stay here, we actually extended our stay twice.
Finlay's is very clean, and well maintained, rooms all have a/c, the bathroom and shower facilities are shared, but are all excellent condition.
They get you a deal on almost any tour, event or even taxi ride, best service we got on our trip.
The included Breakfast is Bacon eggs and toast, or Yogart, Musli, and fruit. But, her eggs are great and the toast is made from home made bread (I miss it already) and the bacon is Canadian Bacon (Delicious)!
There were so many other bonuses, but if I listed everything this would be a two page review.
Over all the best thing about Finlay's was people, they truly have your best interests in mind the whole time. We were greeted with a smile and every day. It felt more like staying at your favorite Aunt's house than at a guest house.
Thanks Finlay's!

Room Tip: Between rooms 2/3 there isn't much privacy in terms of noise between the two, you can hear each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perlstev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

His place is the best! raitree and Keith are simply amazing and went out of there way for us. Breakfast was amazing, they do not take commission on any of the tours they book for you, anything you ask of them they will do. It is beyond perfect for the price. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_kinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Nice clean rooms with air conditioning (a must!) and plenty of very clean communal bathrooms. Ratree is lovely and helpful, often going out of he way to assist. Nice breakfasts and in a good, quiet location. Really excellent value!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendy_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed there last week during my stay at Chiang mai. The place is like a house, and it is really home like. The staff is very friendly and makes one feel very comfortable. The rooms are comfortable and The breakfast is nutritious and delicious. I can't think of why I wouldn't stay there on my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ptap90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here with my friend for 2 nights, we tried to extend our stay but were so disappointed they were all booked up! Really great location, staff are so nice and rooms were great. Especially having a working ac. Great value, will book here if I'm ever back in chaing mai !

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maddie-Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great place to stay and meet people who you'd love to share a drink with.

I was here two years ago and came back here again this March. I'd come back again.

Breakfast is included and great. Plenty of communal bathrooms to use. The place is clean. The rooms are comfy with enough space to lay your stuff out and with bug zappers.

Good people running this place and good people gravitate and stay here.

Go get a massage at the nearby wat and have some good food and drinks at Friend's Shop across from there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5feetsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Finlays from the 21st of March until the 28th. It came recommended to me by a friend whom stayed years ago, as well as highly rated here on trip adviser.
Let me say that Ratria and Keith are both friendly, helpful, and just wonderful people. They took care of me every chance they could.
Ratria felt like a friend towards the end of the trip- she is such a sweet human being and a real joy to be around. Plus- she makes some killer eggs and toast.
I was (like many people) worried about the communal bathrooms, but they are awesome. Very clean and the water gets hot. You still have a lot of privacy.
One of the main reasons Finlays is so great is location. It's a quick walk to the main center as well as the night market. You can walk everywhere and find your way around quite easily. The price for this location is really fair- I never needed a tuk tuk and would get lost wandering around, but somehow always found my way back.
The Wat on the corner of the street is amazing- with really cheap and good thai massages. Ask Ratria to take you there, my massage lady was amazing. Aht Lyn Ya (misspelled of course) is the lady you want.
The other reason Finlays is amazing is the people you will meet in the common area.... I met five people in my stay that all became really great friends. This place attracts great people. You are forced to interact which is good for solo travelers (like myself) so you can have some company when you want it.
I will definitely be back to Chiang Mai, and when I do Finlays will be the place I will be staying.
Thank you Keith and Ratria.... You made my experience wonderful.
I will send everyone here.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Theamazinglacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 402 in Chiang Mai
701 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#53 of 402 in Chiang Mai
977 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#4 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
Rim Ping Guest House
#392 of 834 in Chiang Mai
3 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 402 in Chiang Mai
3,254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 402 in Chiang Mai
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay's Cottage

Address: 4/1 Soi 4/A Thae Phae Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 996 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £9 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Finlay's Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finlay's Cottage is an original Thai wooden house and is a perfect base to explore Chiang Mai. Centrally located near Tha Phae Gate in the heart of the city, all the major temples and historical sights are within easy walking distance. The Walking Street market is 5 minutes away, the Night Market 15 minutes walk away. Free breakfast and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Finlay's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing