We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap tasty food”
Review of Bautong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bautong Lodge
Malakoff, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cheap tasty food”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a nice shelter against monsoon... And stopped luckily at this hotel who was still open for diner (11pm). We had the warmest welcoming possible and the food was absolutely tasty and typical. The owner even offered us an extra replacement dish because the pad thai was a little bit too spicy for us. The portions were really big for one person. (60 to 100 bats = 1,2€ to 2,5€)

In addition we learnt from the cook that the rice was organic and from his own production in Chang Rai.

I warmly recommend the restaurant of this charming guest house for its cheap and gorgeous cuisine.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bolbolebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Assen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms are big and clean. Breakfast is served in a little restaurant next door for B100.-. The location is really close to the nightmarket. Around the corner is Lo Kroi Road with many bars, restaurants and massage places. The old city is about 10 min by food. The staff was very nice and helpfull!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hestermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I arrived here and shortly after we started experiencing violent stomach pain. We were infected with salmonella poisoning from down south. Luckily the staff were helpful and friendly with full English, there is a pharmacy half a block away with English staff, and comfortable Japanese food next door!

I can't think of a better place to recover than here. Our room is cheap and spacious. The bathroom where we spent lots of time was big and clean. Aircon, tv, fridge, and best of all- wifi works in our room! First place is SE Asia so far!

Good support and books for Japanese travelers, too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The room was pretty basic, which was a problem... it was spacious and clean.. the bathroom was rubbish... It said it had a bath which true enough it did... however there was no hot water... If you used the shower it soaked the place.. so I had to take the shower head off the hook to have a shower. (To wash my hair was a task and half).... Not the best set up.
The staff were friendly enough.... If I was to go back to Chiangmai, I would probably see what other hotels are available..

Room Tip: Sorry I couldn't say which would be a good room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phayao Province, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've stayed here a number of times now and will return if all things remain equal. The only reason I choose to stay elsewhere these days is if I need to park a car. There is space in front of the hotel for bikes but for a car it's street parking only.
The rooms are good size, and have a large bathtub in the bathroom. Yes, it's getting old but it's always clean and the service at reception has always been friendly and helpful. It is so close to Loi Kroh Road and the night bazaar, and an easy walk to the old city.
It's hard to look past this place for a short to medium stay in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed here 8 months ago. This place was fantastic for value. A really competitive price (at the time - 600 bhat per night for a double room). It's location is good, the room was functional with air-con, wi-fi and a sink included and the bathroom was clean. You get what you pay for and you cannot fault the place for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as our friend stayed here last trip we had to Chiang Mai and we really liked it. Bon is very lovely and the staff always helpful and friendly. Our room was very nice and always maintained and cleaned. Surprisingly good hot water and air con worked well. Very quiet for us in a good area (Soi 3) which is close to most areas. We will be back.

Also 'Happy Cup' slightly up from here was great (not on trip advisor but I highly recommend them). We got our laundry done there and breakfast daily. Jinnie and James were absolutely lovely. Very cheap and good food. Cannot say a bad thing about them.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie-Lula-Belle-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#36 of 384 in Chiang Mai
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#53 of 384 in Chiang Mai
1,313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#110 of 384 in Chiang Mai
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Basic Line Hotel at Loikroh
Basic Line Hotel at Loikroh
#193 of 755 in Chiang Mai
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montha
Hotel Montha
#40 of 755 in Chiang Mai
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
SOHOstel
SOHOstel
#197 of 860 in Chiang Mai
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bautong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bautong Lodge

Property: Bautong Lodge
Address: 4 / 4 Loikroh Soi 3, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 860 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bautong Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Bautong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing