We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, very charming owners.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saithong Guest House
Ranked #519 of 788 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Great location. Rooms cleaned daily (& mosi-killer sprayed inside every evening). Pretty little place boasting a superb location. Run by a truly lovely young local family with 2 very polite young boys. Of course there are neighbour's dogs nearby, its central Old-town Chiang Mai!
Will definitely come back here. Very family friendly owners.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peelie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Best guesthouse we've been to.
Pro: Friendly staff & owner, free wifi, clean room, great location (right on the Sunday walking market), lovely garden & outdoor sitting area.
Con: Hard mattress, bar-style swinging hinged door in a small shower room area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jarrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

In short, it's a great location in central Chiangmai with quirky, fun decor which accounts for a price that's relatively high for an average, modest hotel. I liked the location. It's down a little lane away from the noise of a main street and very very convenient for a walk to the city wall gate and square less than five minutes away. There are many places to eat nearby with traditional and western style fare available thanks to the student population nearby. There's also a handy post/ parcel office in the street (thanon Ratchadamnoen) as you walk towards the city wall gate. There are 7/11 s close to the city wall too and every other kind of shop you may need. There's even a must try cocktail bar opposite the entrance to the lane, a cocktail bar in the back of a pink minibus festooned with fairy lights - hilarious even before the Margaritas! But back to the hotel... I loved the aesthetic of this place, it's like Moroccan caravanserai meets Robinson Crusoe hut linked by Tarzan's tree house decking with 'Out of Africa' hand rails. You'll see! The rooms are a visual delight- there is definitely an echo of Marrakech in them, dark and sheltering from the hot sun, red walls, dark wood, leaf patterns in the concrete with pretty inset pebble borders. The shower rooms are plain concrete entered through an arch - that gives a fun sense of occasion to entering the abluting chamber and then you burst through the cowboy saloon style doors of the inner sanctum - the loo. There's a mosquito net and firm bed, free bottled water daily and TV. Wifi was available in the room too. You can lie out in the Robinson Crusoe communal hut, exchange a paperback or two, meet with fellow travellers, doze off or shout "shut up" at next door's dogs..they really are a problem and I'm a dog lover. Noisy dogs seem to be normal in this part of the world so earplugs are worth buying. A handle on the inside of the room door would have been useful and a properly manned reception area would be a good idea too, it closed really early, 8pm and that's not good for a hotel, it is a business after all. Similarly, tea and coffee and mugs were cleared away from the communal area just when we wanted them mid evening. Cheng beer is available for about 30 BHT assuming there's someone around to buy it from. I'm tempted to rate the hotel only a three out of five because of some of the practical irritations but overall, it's a memorable fun place. It's popular with Japanese/ Koreans as well as Europeans and there's a small pleasant garden too. Sadly, there's no food available on site but it's located just a few metres from places to eat anyway. There's no upstairs access for wheelchairs and I doubt if bathroom access would be possible anyway, the scale is tiny. I don't think there are family rooms either but there may be one bigger room available on enquiry. Overall, It's a cool place to stay, just needs a bit more hands on management.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddoghere4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Situated 2 mins form the main drag, down an alleyway. You are greeted by a beautiful guesthouse, with small garden and seating area, including an upstairs outdoor area with tv and cushions to relax. The, building itself is all wooden and well maintained. As you go into your room, the towels are arranged as an elephant, there is a mosquito net and the general feel is very relaxed. The room itself is decorated in a very unique way, quite dark, but that adds to the feeling. There was a tv, fridge, plenty of storage space, and a wet room.

The shower was basic and very close to the toilet. The mosquito net was necessary, and provided us with a better night sleep than many other places.

The owner was very friendly and helpful. You could buy drinks from him, and he also arranged moped hire for us. There was no breakfast option, but there was tea/ coffee and a water machine available. This place was a bit pricier than a lot in Chiang Mai, however it felt worth it.

The guesthouse itself was situated close to bars/ restaurants and had many taxis/ songthaews close-by. We stayed on a Sunday night which is when the night market is on. The market goes along the road the guesthouse comes off, and is fantastic. Strongly advise buying stuff here as they were cheaper and so many different stalls than other night markets we went to.

The only downside were a few of the neighbours dogs barking, sometimes in the early hours of the morning. Also the walls were quite thin and you could occasionally hear people above you. But all in all a relaxing and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Great quality and economical accommodation. Near a quiet lane. Rooms well decorated with attached bathroom and is very clean. Perfect location in Chiang mai ( Old Town ). Near to Temple's and food store ( just outside the main Rd ) : P . Owner was so helpful on our tour package to Chiang Rai / Doi Inthanon / Doi Suthep / Chiang Dao cave.. and give great info on our trip. Extremely happy with our stay : ) . If there is a chance to visit Chiang Mai again, we'll still choose Saithong Guest House : )

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adidas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Do yourself a favour if your looking for good quality cheap accommodation in the old city. Stay at Saithong guesthouse. It's tucked away down a quiet lane and is like a little oasis in the husstle and busstle. Rooms are not large but are well laid out and extremely well decorated. The bathroom is big enough to shower comfortably and the water pressure ok. Very confy bed, small fridge and TV. There is an area to sit, relax and have a coffee with plenty of reading material at hand. The G/H doesn't serve breakfast but this is reflected in the price, it's very reasonable for the standard. Food options are close by. The owners are very obliging and are more than happy to help with any tour arrangements or anything else you need. If I have a criticism, the lighting in the rooms was not overly bright. Maybe a reading lamp or one light in the room with a higher wattage globe but overall.......... I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 63studebaker289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We found the place quite easily as it is tucked down a side street. The place is small and quaint, beautifully decorated with cool decor that made this spot a gem. I could see the sweat and tears that made this place great as the owner was always working on the grounds. The rooms were on the tad small side, although honestly perfect for what we needed as we were out and about most of the time. The lighting would have been the only downside as it was hard to see yourself in the bathroom mirror, but it wasn't a problem at all. The owner was readily available, spoke good English, and offered free wifi with a strong connection. Also, he allowed us to use his phone to dial a business we were trying to visit, which we really appreciated. There was a noisy dog next door, but not Saithong Guest Houses problem and it didn't bark at night or early morning. I would highly recommend this for the price, you can't beat it. The experience was awesome with the treehouse type feel for the main area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelzblugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Roong Ruang Hotel
Roong Ruang Hotel
#171 of 389 in Chiang Mai
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#66 of 389 in Chiang Mai
465 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#86 of 389 in Chiang Mai
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Guesthouse
Central Guesthouse
#13 of 910 in Chiang Mai
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garden Yard Inn Chiangmai
Garden Yard Inn Chiangmai
#217 of 910 in Chiang Mai
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Joyful Thai Boutique Hotel
Joyful Thai Boutique Hotel
#220 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saithong Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saithong Guest House

Address: 5 / 2 Rachadamnoen Rd. Soi 3 Sripom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 788 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £14 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saithong Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saithong Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saithong Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing