We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful break in Northern Thailand!”
other travellers have booked this property
Lanna Hill House in the early evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lanna Hill House in the early evening
The Great Room at Lanna Hill House Spring salt water pool and jacuzzi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Lanna Hill House in the early evening
The Great Room at Lanna Hill House
Spring salt water pool and jacuzzi
Aerial Photo of Lanna Hill House at the end of the dry season
Courtyard perfect for dining
View of the house from the lake
Terrace bedroom
The sala overlooking the Mae-on valley
View from the sala hill
The courtyard terrace
Living area including 50' TV with a large selection of satellite channels
Master Bedroom
Twin room
Oppy, our manager and chef, Oh.
Villa serviced by six uniformed staff
Welcome drinks, welcome smile
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Chiang Mai

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
traveller...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful break in Northern Thailand!”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thai service and hospitality are well documented and our stay at the marvellous Lanna Hill House proved no exception to the rule.

This Colonial style Villa really does live up to its description, providing me, (after a hectic year) and my family, absolute luxury and rest. My children took full advantage of the spacious rooms, playing table tennis, swimming, in-house massage and on one magical evening giving us their enthusiastic version of Romeo and Juliet from the magnificent staircase!

After a few days chilling out and being spoilt by the friendly (very discreet) staff, we managed to tear ourselves away to explore the local hills, where we found some incredible experiences...notably a local mountain restaurant, where my wife fell in love with the fantasy garden, which has to be seen to be believed!

Myself and Jenny, were also able to enjoy a round of golf at the local golf course, which was to my mind a world class gem in a particularly beautiful setting...Just don’t forget to wear your sun protection!

So, for a large family, or a group of friends, I would thoroughly recommend the Villa , especially if you have had a little too much of the fascinating, but hectic pace of life in Bangkok or Chaing Mai.....Enjoy!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Br0nteP
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Zen, Zen, Zen”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I traveled to Thailand in Feb 2015 for a three week trip with a group of friends including my husband, 2 other couples and a single mate. We are from Australia. Chaing Mai was our first stop. We had spent a lot of time choosing this property for our one week stay in Chaing Mai and it proved to be an excellent choice!

We were met at the airport by a driver and taken straight to Lanna Hill House. It is outside Chaing Mai city which wasn't an issue for us.

You will have seen the pictures. The house is beautiful and the pictures do it justice, although its more amazing in the flesh. The rooms are generous in size, and the stair case is absolutely regal. The house comfortably accomodated everyone - our single mate ended up with the kids room and was very comfortable. He even had his own ensuite. The couples also had their own bedroom and a bathroom each. Even though we were a group of 7 there was plenty of room for everyone to spread out. Two living areas indoors, a courtyard off the house, a sala about 25m from the house, a reading room upstairs and a lovely poolside area for enjoying the sun. There's a TV and Wifi if needed. The only stick in the mud were the beds which were very good quality but a little on the firm side for us. Oppy tells me this issue has been rectified.

The house has a kitchen and staff to cook for a charge (we loved every meal and thought it was worth every baht!) The area is quite remote, which we loved so we thoroughly enjoyed most of our meals at the house. The men in our group enjoyed an afternoon of drinking chang beer and eating the delights of a local eatery in the nearby village and we enjoyed a tour arranged by the manager Oppy's husband Alex, which included a generous and delicious Thai lunch.

If you like dogs and our group does, you will be pleased to know the house comes with two resident pups. The girls in our group walked most mornings and the dogs came along with us as far as they were comfortable.

The manager Oppy and her staff were stunning. I think it's safe to say we fell in love with them by the time we left. They were warm, friendly, and helpful and did their job very well. Oppy helped with activities, and transport and provided the house phone to us so that we could be in touch if we ran into difficulty.

As far as activities are concerned, you can do a lot from Lanna Hill House. As I mentioned, we did a half day with Alex which was a trip to the actual local markets (not for tourists) a village tour; a visit to a local school and temple as well as a great lunch. We also did the Zip lining; Segway and Ethical Elephant day at Pattaya Elephant. The day out with Alex was well worth it and the Ziplining and Elephant day were both excellent.

One of the highlights ended up being Saturday night markets (rather than Sunday as they were less crowded). We arrived early so found that the markets were just setting up. We found a stall setting up that advertised Chang beer for sale. We sat and had a few beers and got talking and it turned out the owners wife had lived in Australia. He was a lovely man and accommodated us beautifully while we waited. Once the markets opened we walked along eating and shopping, Shopping and Eating. It was fabulous and highly recommended.

I can't recommend Lanna Hill House, Oppy and the staff enough! All of the girls were really were outstanding (and Saibao's Husband who does the house maintenance and garden). In fact I am now planning our next trip at the end of 2016 with my husband and our three almost grown children and intend to spend another five days at the magical Lanna Hill House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peace and Tranquility and the beautiful Thai staff
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard s
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
“Fantastic, memorable holiday”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The first impression if Lanna Hill House was its’ elegant architecture and a layout that accommodates a large group but allows everybody to have their own space.

The setting is also beautiful, situated on high ground overlooking a lake but also private and intimate.

The food was first class every time and served by staff who obviously enjoyed their work. They take care of all household chores, which I think, is sheer luxury.

Oppy is a truly wonderful host and made our visit a very memorable and happy experience. I can recommend Lanna Hill House 100%. It was fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the surroundings
Liked least: The drive was a bit steep
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A real Northern Thailand lifestyle experience”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After some serious researching we choose this location for a relaxing holiday for a group of friends from Australia. The location was great for us - a chance to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and get close to some small villages and great scenery. Oppy & the staff at the house were fantastic - they took the opportunity to welcome us into the home and gave us a great experience. Oppy assisted with planning our activities and made the local arrangements on our behalf. We visited some small villages, local food markets, hot-springs, a school and temples. The house itself is great - located on the top of a hill overlooking trees and greenery near a large reservoir. The bedrooms were large and comfortable, albeit with quite firm mattresses which not everyone liked! Bathrooms were private and well functioning. The staff who prepare the meals, clean the rooms and keep the gardens groomed obviously take great pride in their jobs and it shows. The staff make the experience complete - they are genuine and friendly. The 2 house dogs are friendly and they quickly warm to visitors even going on the morning walks with the ladies in our group! They are also good watchdogs that pay attention to everyone coming and going. This house is an excellent place to just stay in and relax or to make it a base for some day trips to see the sights nearby. We relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed our northern Thai experience and the girls cooked a lot of local meals for us at the house. The food was awesome - from the freshly baked croissants and fruit for breakfast to the traditional Thai meals at night. We also got out and ate in the small village of Nong Hoi although Im not sure they will ever recover from the amount of Chang beer that we drank there! We would gladly visit again as the combination of colonial house style (facilities including privacy, comfort, internet access & pool) and the excellent attitudes of Oppy & staff made it a fantastic experience for us. For now its going to have to be the photos that best remind us of our time at Lanna Hill House. Hope to get there again....... maybe even run an English class (if they ask me back) .... one day!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Casual and welcoming atmosphere
Liked least: firm beds
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra D
Llandudno, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Memories”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have so many wonderful memories of this beautiful place. We visited Lanna Hill House last January 14 with our son and his wife , two grandchildren ages 7 and 11 and our daughter-in-law's parents.
The house and location is amazing, the food was delicious and the staff were fantastic.
Oppy Putnam the House Manager was excellent . She spoke perfect English so was able to assist us with whatever requests we had. She arranged our transport, an amazing tour to places away from other tourists and wonderful entertainment at the house from young people living in the nearby village. Our last night was truly memorable when we ate out under the stars and sent giant lanterns into a moon lit sky.
The house is out in the countryside but you can enjoy just relaxing in this beautiful location or visiting Chang Mai and further afield.
We hope to stay at Lanna Hill House again one day and to meet up with Oppy and her wonderful staff.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron77
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in the middle of authentic thai countryside”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at Lanna Hill house with my family in May 13. We were delighted with our stay, the Hill House is a beautiful building in a very beautiful part of the country. If you are looking for peace & tranquillity and excellent accommodation than you can't go wrong. The staff are very friendly and accommodated our needs very nicely, especially the couple that live on site who were excellent.

If we had to be picky I would say that Lanna house is further outside of Chang Mai than we had thought and a couple of our requests got slightly lost in translation, but that was potentially down to a relatively new manager finding her feet.

Would highly recommend this for families that are comfortable being a decent way out in the countryside.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freenessi...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful location, fabulous house friendly staff who go out of their way to assist you to make the most of your stay will certainly go back again the house accommodates for everyone with large spacious rooms. Toys for children to be entertained, several terraces so even if you are a large group you can find your own sanctuary. The pool is well maintained and refreshing. I wish I had the view from my kitchen as the chefs do here! Just a beautiful place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing