We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit too Far from the main city area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chang Puak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chang Puak Hotel
Ranked #126 of 717 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bit too Far from the main city area”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in December. My room was quite big for one person. Would have been perfect for 2 people. Together with the bathroom it was very clean and quiete.
The window was overlooking the hotel swimming pool which was lovely and also very clean.
The hotel is tacked away from the main road and it has got a lovely impressive reception area. The breakfast was included in the price.
It took good 25 min walk from the main city area. There is not much to see around the hotel. There is a convenience store about 7 min walk away and about 10 min to the huge food market.
I found that the reception staff are NOT too helpfull neither friendly. The laundery servise in the hotel is too expensive I found a shop that did my laundery for much cheaper about 7min walk up the main street.
Next to the city walls there is nice night food market every night.
If I was to go back to Chiang Mai I would rather look at booking a room in the main backpackers area rather then booking here, unless I was after sitting round to pool holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
24
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Chang Puak Hotel is located 5 minutes walk north of the Chang Puak Gate on the north side of the city wall. The hotel is quiet due to the lush vegetation and it's 100 meters away from the Chang Puak street. The manager and staff are very welcoming and helpful. I stayed there 3 nights in the end of November, at Lio Khratong(lantern festival) and I got a detailed map which spot in town I should go to get the best view. Very good and reasonable food, nice and clean pool for a refreshing morning dip before breakfast. The beautiful Thai architecture in wooden reception area and restaurant together with the lush tropical vegetation, give this place a tropical ambiance that's hard to beat. It's also very clean all over the whole place. I walked around a lot, and 7-11++,, nice food stalls and street vendors is just 5-10 minutes walk away.
I will recommend this place to anyone and will stay there on my next trip to Chiang Mai next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Svein Arne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

we stayed here for 6nights it is very well priced and a good location. u do need to get cabs or the lady on reception can sort out a driver for you to take you to sight seeing places for a reasonable price. the staff are so helpful and always smiling they have a few cats around the place as pets which is nice to see them Bering Fed here. the food is also very cheap and excellent. the rooms are a good size but no safety box. they have free WiFi but depends what room you have if it works or not. it is strongest in the lobby. we loved our stay here and it was quite apart from the school break time round the corner. thank you Chang Pauk!

Room Tip: we got a twin room seemed to be big but we saw another room which looked bigger but was more of a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getmeonaplane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Set well back from the main road, surrounded by mature trees and graced with an excellent pool.For the money, the rooms are fine, evidence of upgrading include retiled bathroom floors, new shower water heaters and new internal doors.Beds on the hard side, soft pillows, furnishings on the worn side.My only real gripe is the ancient split system A/C, - noisy and pretty ineffective, the ceiling fan did the same job.
I was fortunate enough to meet the owner , who is in the process of upgrading things, and was as delightful as his staff.Food in the hotel was good and fair priced.
Located near the old city but away from tourist town,( on the east side of the old city ), this is a good choice , nicely" local ", central, and close to the bike hire shop.The place has character, I will miss it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnfriebe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Some staff members were extra nice which made up for the ones who were not friendly at all. The pool and gardens are great. The restaurant on site is very basic, but tasted good. Rooms are average.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2012

It was one month stay, the hotel staff welcomed us warmly, I was able to firmly fulfill the purpose of this trip.thankyou Tom! Ton! tom!stan! teep!&Elegant owner.Once I'm sorry the name is spelled wrong.Because it was not only heard in the ear... I go to again someday .
from Ayana

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
251 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This hotel was perfectly OK, slightly above average. The nice tiles in lobby and staircase plus the large amount of pictures of the royal family give the "Changpuak" a local personality which is always better than the bland elegance of your standard business hotel. Staff is competent and friendly, the rooms are perfectly OK (hard mattresses and pillows, personally I like this, though). Free WiFi, no problem to leave the luggage in storage and no extra fee. The hotel is located about 5 minutes away from the North Gate, I recommend to check out the North Gate Jazz Coop - a club featuring interesting live music played by able musicians.
Only real criticism concerns the shower which I would have loved to be a bit hotter - no big issue though,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertLockwoodJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 375 in Chiang Mai
846 reviews
1.2 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Changpuak Boutique House
Changpuak Boutique House
#257 of 717 in Chiang Mai
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
TR Residence
TR Residence
#48 of 717 in Chiang Mai
174 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
#152 of 717 in Chiang Mai
224 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#65 of 717 in Chiang Mai
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chang Puak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Puak Hotel

Property: Chang Puak Hotel
Address: 133 Changpuak Road | Sripum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 717 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chang Puak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property has been in the same family for 75 years We offer a peaceful experience in our own garden, set back from the main road , yet only 500 m from the "Old Town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chang Puak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing