We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice to stay!”
Review of Chang Puak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chang Puak Hotel
Ranked #117 of 757 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vorselaar, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice to stay!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this place with my wife and daughter for 10 nights. We had a triple room which was not really spacious for the 3 of us but sufficient. Rooms are very clean and done properly every day.
A/C, fan, WiFi , hot shower working fine. Free internet (PC) in lobby. Food is really tasty altough the menu is rather limited, as are the opening times (closes late afternoon sometimes).
The location is very quiet off Changpuak Rd., this is slightly outside the Old City Area. The centre can be done walking easily (15') but the Night Market is a bit far, so I would recommend a tuk-tuk.
Another advantage for this hotel is the nice, well maintained swimming pool in the beautiful garden. The garden area is nice for breakfast and hanging around for a drink anyway.
Personnel are very friendly, helpful and polite, but.....
The only thing to warn for (as others did before in reviews) is one of the two receptionists. You should recognize her immediately: one is very polite, friendly, helpful and humble, the other has none of these values, specially not upon Farang (non-Thai). The word 'money-grabber' in the other review is very accurate.
The last day of our holidays we had to bring our daughter to the airport in the morning and return afterwards. She charged us 400 THB for that trip, at least double the price as should be. Moreover, she send a 'Songtaew' (a big TukTuk). That morning, rain was pouring and since those cars are only partly waterproof, we were wet all over before we reached the airport. Same story coming back. As a reference: from the airport into town a large, luxury A/C taxi charged us just 120 THB
In the evening we had to go to the airport ourselves and didn't give the receptionist a chance: we arranged the same type of vehecule as she did for 50 THB and gave the honest man a nice tip.
One more remark about her: she charged us 600 THB for the fact that we occupied the room a few hours more than check out time. Altough mentioned in the hotel rules, I didn't consider it as very generous upon people who stayed there for 10 nights, knowing the hotel was not even filled up for the half.
But don't misunderstand the story, this incident was the only minus in our whole stay there, we have many nice moments to remember about this hotel and those THB did not make us unhappy neither poor.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SanandaDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    37
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
25
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

For the value this place was great. It is a fifteen minute walk to the heart of Chiang Mai, but it was a nice reprieve during Songkran. The rooms were nice and big, the pool area was well kept and pretty, and the restaurant served good food. Good for a mid-range budget traveler.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eitan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We've been there for a few days and iut was perfect.
Staff is lovely, the food is nice and this is quite cheap compare to other place in town.
You're 5/10 mn walking from the center, could be a bit hard at night if you have been all walking all day long.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is classy and very clean. We arrived early morning after overnight travel by bus. They were so kind and let us check in which we were so glad about. The rooms are quiet, clean and the bed is so comfortable. The breakfast was good and the pool lovely but no sun by the pool.. We would recommend this hotel if you have the budget. It's not expensive but we were flashpacking so it was top end for us.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angiejohnperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

can't really expect a whole lot can you from a budget hotel ? We came with that in mind. I even bought my own soap as the soap they provided was so small it slipped off of my hands too quickly.

The morning receptionist is a money grabber. You should not ask her for a tour as she would insist that you take on her husband to drive you around for THB1500 and that was just for the car and her unknowledgable husband driver who got lost several times while driving us around and not that good knowledge of English. Then you have to pay all the entries to all the parks. We were stupid enough to let her talked us to go with her husband. We found out that if you were just to take a city tour it would have been much cheaper.

However, the afternoon receptionist, Jane, is a gem !! she's kind, professional and know what she's talking about.

The hotel as it is is comfortable. Air conditioner works find, shower is great (like I said bring your own soap/shampoo). Bed is comfortable.

The wifi, if you were on 3rd floor, you're at your own merci.. It's awful... got cut off more than you share ... In the lobby, the best wifi connection, believe it or not IS in the public rest room! haha.. YES, you read it right... !!

Anyway, for a budget hotel it is adequate... Just do your homework before trusting some of the employees there.. I found that the kitchen staff ARE great, Jane (the night receptionist is wonderful) and the rest , don't bother dealing with them...

Oh ... don't forget to bring eye mask, as the curtain is too thin and the sun shines early and bright...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spotmenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

In general this hotel has more pluses than minuses. In particular the swimming pool was lovely, in a nice setting with comfortable cushioned loungers.
Rooms are basic, but clean. Shower was warm without being hot. Beds though are on the firm side & pillows not brilliant.
Wifi always worked well, even in room. If needed there are 2 computers downstairs with a printer, free of charge.
Food though is poor. I had a pad Thai (prawn noodle dish), as I was eating into it, I found I had something chewy...I pulled an elastic band out of my mouth!
If you don't have your own car, you will need a tuk tuk or songthaew to take you to night bazaar etc.
Not much near the hotel in way of eateries, but 10min stroll away from city & you'll come to Tops supermarket where there's a coffee shop etc. right next to Mercure hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ningaloo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in December. My room was quite big for one person. Would have been perfect for 2 people. Together with the bathroom it was very clean and quiete.
The window was overlooking the hotel swimming pool which was lovely and also very clean.
The hotel is tacked away from the main road and it has got a lovely impressive reception area. The breakfast was included in the price.
It took good 25 min walk from the main city area. There is not much to see around the hotel. There is a convenience store about 7 min walk away and about 10 min to the huge food market.
I found that the reception staff are NOT too helpfull neither friendly. The laundery servise in the hotel is too expensive I found a shop that did my laundery for much cheaper about 7min walk up the main street.
Next to the city walls there is nice night food market every night.
If I was to go back to Chiang Mai I would rather look at booking a room in the main backpackers area rather then booking here, unless I was after sitting round to pool holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chiang Mai
Mercure Chiang Mai
#68 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Changpuak Boutique House
Changpuak Boutique House
#193 of 757 in Chiang Mai
73 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#65 of 757 in Chiang Mai
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SK House 2
SK House 2
#92 of 757 in Chiang Mai
437 reviews
1.0 mi away
Karou Lotus Hotel
Karou Lotus Hotel
#122 of 757 in Chiang Mai
39 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chang Thai House
Chang Thai House
#103 of 757 in Chiang Mai
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chang Puak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Puak Hotel

Property: Chang Puak Hotel
Address: 133 Changpuak Road | Sripum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 757 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chang Puak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property has been in the same family for 75 years We offer a peaceful experience in our own garden, set back from the main road , yet only 500 m from the "Old Town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Chang Puak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing