We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of The Rim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Rim Resort
Ranked #29 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Nambucca Heads NSW
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Location:
In the old city adjacant to canal. Cost from airport via taxi 120 baht. Slighty out of the main stream but go anywhere via red taxi or tuk tuk for nominal cost.
Resort:
Recently opened, we had delux room with pool view on grount floor. Bathroom had both bath and shower, twin beds 2 lounge chairs in room and two large lounges on balcony. Beds on the hard side but that is not unexpected. Room service excellant, front office staff outstanding, nothing any problem, staff are all smiles and polite.
Plenty of pool lounges and undercover area adjacant to pool, small gym.
Breakfast in good value and try the noodles inlieu of eggs etc.
Restaurant is outstanding and the Thai food is the best we have had.
Internet is free via laptop at front counter.
Tip: Book a local guide and work your trips out prior to arrival, that way you get to see some of the hill tribes and places not normally available. we used the services of Sergeat Kai (plertsukon@yahoo.com) who has had a number of good reviews as a guide on trip advisor. Her and his partner where interesting, informative and good fun to be with.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soapy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    251
    45
    8
    3
See reviews for
134
348
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
roma
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Nice and big room, nice and polite service good location and competitive price ! We loved it!!!
The room were quite and clean and the staff very kind and polite:) The location is 5 minute walk to the centre. The hotel is new and I would suggest to reserve here your stay in Chang mai !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voiager33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel and rooms were very good; they used to have free pick up and drop off from the airport but I understand they are changing it. The location is little far from various markets and sights of Chiang Mai

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We loved our stay at this hotel. It is on the western edge of the old town, but the service was fantastic and the hotel had nice amenities, with a large bathroom and well appointed rooms. The staff was kind, courteous and attentive. The breakfast was really good. The menu was small, but they had made to order eggs and pancakes. We had three people in our room, but the room was large enough to add a roll-away bed for our third. We also had a nice balcony that overlooked the pool.
Overall, the room was spotless, the bathroom had very nice features (large jacuzzi bath, large shower and multiple sinks), the bed was very comfortable with nice linens and a large flat screen TV with good cable channels. I will definitely stay here again. Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBAtraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Booked two rooms for two nights and wished it had been for a week. Well located by the West Gate of the old town it was a peaceful oasis with lovely swimming pool and well sized rooms. More than anything though was the warm service. My daughters backpack strap had broken, no problem they took it away and had it repaired, compliments of the house. Good breakfast, superb evening meal we loved the place. Found it through Trip Advisor and wasn't disappointed. Neither will you be. It's still in it's first year and just ha to keep it's staff as commuted as they so evidently currently are.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stay there for 2 nights on Jul30-Aug01,2011. The Staffs and service are impressive, the staff's dressing are very special and cute. All the hotel full of Royal Lanna style and even the restaurant like a palace. The room enough big, with big LCD TV......around 37'', and private balcony with relaxing chair. Separate bath room with bath tub and shower room. The only one defect is water too small in the shower room, can't clean all the body. And when we use bath tub nozzle, the water will spurt all the ground. Otherwise we are rally enjoy the stay with The Rim.

Room Tip: Room124-122 are quiet with good location,near restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weiyun0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We can not speak highly enough of the Rim Chiang Mai (and we have stayed in quite a few Asian hotels). From the minute we arrived till the second we left the service was amazing. The staff are professional but friendly. Nothing is too much bother. I wish we could rate the staff higher than excellent. Our large room was spotlessly clean and well appointed and the balcony overlooking the garden and the privacy it provided made us feel as if we were the only guests there. The hotel offers a shuttle to the Saturday night market and Sunday Walking Street markets - a definite must see (and shopping experience). We could not fault the service or room in any way - fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank netann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 383 in Chiang Mai
964 reviews
0.9 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 383 in Chiang Mai
952 reviews
0.6 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.8 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rim Resort

Property: The Rim Resort
Address: 51/2 Arrak Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#34 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rim Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rim Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing