We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
Review of The Rim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rim Resort
Ranked #28 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. It is a great value. The beds are a tad less firm than the rest of Asia, thank goodness, and the rooms are super comfortable.
The hotel is a piece of art with every detail and corner being more ornate and fantastic than necessary. The pool was a nice hideaway.
Have to hotel book a massage in your room or poolside, and ask for Pim; you won't regret your decision to stay-or the massage.

Room Tip: We stayed poolside, but I imagine all the rooms are gorgeous and it is not loud anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    246
    45
    8
    3
See reviews for
131
346
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We absolutely loved our stay here. The service was phenomenal, the rooms were beautiful and exceptionally clean and the whole area was really quiet allowing us to read by the pool in peace or on the balcony, etc. The restaurant was amazing! From the great buffet breakfasts with delicious coffee to the delicious lunches that we had there. we would definitely stay here again and recommend this place to friends. The only thing that anyone would love is the location. However, we found that we could walk to the night market in about 25 minutes, which we were more than fine with. Alternatively, a cheap tuk tuk ride will take you there in a few minutes.

Room Tip: Request a king size bed if you need one vs twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiejeffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at The Rim Resort (or Chiang Mai Rim) for a couple of weeks, while living in Chiang Mai. The hotel discounted their website nightly rate by more than half when we walked in to enquire about a booking. Although not in the hubub of the tourist centre, it's close to everything considering the old moated city is only about 2 km squared...it being on the west wall/moat.

I wouldn't be surprised if unsuspecting tourists have mistaken this place for a temple, with its ornate arched entrance which is guarded by fierce mythical creatures. In keeping with the northern Thai style of Lanna, the rooms are rustic with dyed, polished concrete floors, roughly rendered walls and unrefined timber furnishings and trimmings.

From reception to house keeping, from the restaurant to the watchman, all are extremely courteous, helpful and friendly. Attention to detail starts as soon as you enter the room with a welcome tray of Thai sweets and handwritten card. All of the accessories in the room, and there are many, are either covered or enclosed in cloth or gold leaf decorated wooden boxes.

House keeping visits not only once, but twice a day to clean, top up, replenish and replace. What? Tea, including herbal, coffee, expensive mini bar, snacks, bath salts, lotion, luffas, soaps, tissues, those fluffy cotton things in that box, shampoo, conditioner, robes, towels and on and on...or your bed sash, robe or ornamental pillow may need storing for the evening. They've even thought of an alarm clock for early morning starts and mozzie coils and insect spray should you wish to sit out on the veranda after dark.

The thirty six rooms and a small gym, surround a pool, gardens and sitting area with bar. Just outside lies one of Chiang Mai's busy, hectic moat roads (Thanon Arak), but inside the hotel complex it's quiet and oasis like. The front reception building, which was once a home, blocks out the sound of traffic and the naga fountains at the corners of the pool, create a sort wet, white noise.

The flowers floating in the large clay pots around every corner, become candles by night. Umbrellas appear in similar pots as wet weather sets in. Every evening musicians playing traditional instruments, greet you after a long, hard day of touring...or shopping. Breakfast is served in the adjoining Canal Restaurant and is made to order off the menu, or chosen from a small buffet, or both. Also open for lunch and dinner, it is on the expensive side, but OK for those who can afford it, on holidays, want a special night out or who are staying with their visiting Mum ;)

If someone pushed me to find fault with The Rim, the only thing I could say is that there aren't any in-room safes and the cleaning staff have a habit of reopening the internal window shutter...which looks from the bedroom into the bathroom and vice versa...and by the time you realise, you're probably already comfortably seated on the loo. Oh! and there were no chocolates on my pillow ;)

Room Tip: We were close to the road side hotel entrance and the noise was never a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnapCooeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We just spent four nights at the Rim and throughly enjoyed it. The property is very attractive, the rooms large and the common areas welcoming. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast, which was included was fresh and tasty. The wifi also worked well. So, all in all a very nice place to stay on the edge of the old town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrightone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Well, as my original choice Sirilianna, a hotel which i still recommend very highly in Chiang Mai, was booked out, i had to look for another hotel in a similiar style and i landed at the Rim Resort.

Is it good you may ask ? Yes, it turned out to be one of my best choices in my 4 weeks holiday.

Location: The hotel is located at the western side of old city. This is important for you, if you don't have your own transport in the city, as nearly everything of interest (night market, restaurants, bars, etc.) is located on the eastern gate of old city, directly opposite of the hotel. This is a 20 to 30 minutes walk by foot, which is not a problem, but can become tedious after doing it for some times. Better rent a motorcycle or wink down a songthaew for 20 bath a person, to get to the other side of the city.

Ironically, as the hotel is located very near to the airport, no airport transfer was offered to me for free, so that i had to pay for tuk-tuk both ways. Keep that in mind, when looking at the not so low fares of the hotel.

Hotel: The hotel is located inside something which might have been a temple some years ago and is really a quiet oasis. A pool is in the middle of the hotel garden, where also all rooms are clustered around. So in theory, every room should have a view to the pool and the inner garden of the hotel. Due to the temple layout and look, the hotel feels really like an oasis, with a lot of greens from trees and other plants, the blue water from the garden, with its little sprinklers which spurt some water into the pool and make a really relaxing sound and the nice wooden look of the houses. Every room comes with a roomy balcony, so that you can relax not only by the pool on one of the couchs, but also directly on your balcony, looking down to the pool. Everything quite relaxing. They also have a service, where you can order drinks to the pool and also a place to sit outside under a roof near the bar, where they have some table games which you can play, in case of a rainy day or so.

Rooms:

I had a standard room (superior, i guess they called it), which was roomy enough, with nice amenities like very nice slippers and also very good looking bathrobes and very nice lanna style interior design up to the smallest details. The tv was big enough, the bed very comfortable (though maybe a bit to hard for some people -> i on the other hand LOVE these hard beds in Thailand), with a direct view to the bathroom through a closeable window. I was able to really darken the room with the curtains, which i something i began to miss in other hotels on my journey, so definitely a big plus here. The bathroom was also big and spotless clean (like the rest of the room), with a bathub and seperate shower. While the bathroom, as the rest of the room really had everything that i could wish for (including minibar, safe and complimentary water, tea and coffee), i had a big issue with the hot water. It kept getting hot, hotter and hotter, until it was really scalding you and then it became freezing cold again. I asked the hotel to fix this, and they regulated the temperature to a certain amount, so that i wouldn't be scalded anymore, but they never fixed the root of the problem, the temperature fluctuation. Sadly, this is my (almost) only, but big issue with the room. The other issue that i had was the sound proofing. As the door to the balcony was only closed by some very rustic mechanical lock, the doors never closed so neatly, that you could call it soundproof. If you have a very light sleep, you might hear the water sprinkler at night, which spurts the water into the pool. I found this relaxing, some people might distract this though. On the other hand i must add, that i never heard a noise from other guests at night, which is something i really missed at some other hotels i have stayed in.

I should maybe add, that i had the impression that the room was sometimes cleaned twice a day and that i always had the feeling that everything was spotless clean.



Staff: They advertise the hotel with a butler concept, something i never understood. What i understood was that they have some very, very friendly and accomodating staff, which is always trying to be helpful to arrange everything as you might wish. I must add, that while these people are not only friendly and helpful, they are also very professional. When i had some questions or problems, they were everytime eager to help me out, e.g. helping me with finding a certain restaurant, helping me with getting a motorbike rented (the shop they recommend to you has really some good and reliable bikes), giving me a laptop to surf in the internet or even calling me a tuk tuk and negotiating with him about the price. All in all, i really like the staff, though sometimes some small language problems occured.

Breakfast: They have an restaurant attached, were they also serve some mix of buffet and menu-choice breakfast. I only tried it once on my last day (jet lag would let me sleep until midday for 3 days) and would have probably grown a bit tired on the offering of the buffet after some more days, as the choice was quite limited. The menu offerings were of a good quality, but especially the asian choice took a very long time to be prepared, which was probably a sign of being fresh, but honestly waiting for breakfast when you are already late, isn't the thing you want to do.

Overall, i really like the Rim Resort, as a little paradise in a city which has become even more bustling since my last visit. It gives you the quietness and comfort you might prefer after a long flight. If i would have to choose between my earlier choice Sirilianna and the Rim, i wouldn't be sure where to go. The former one made me feel more at home, in an intimate way, while the Rim was really even more of an oasis with the nice pool and temple like arrangement. Both are really good choices, the Rim even more so, if they can fix this hot water issue, which is really the only thing which can transfer you back to reality, while you thought you are in paradise ;)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 3d-razor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I stayed at The Rim from Nov. 12th through the 19th, and it was a wonderful stay. I booked the room through Agoda when the reviews were minimal, but the reviews that they did have were positive so I gave it a chance and am I glad I did.

The room was large and spacious, with two beds that they gladly pushed together for me as I was a single traveler. The first night I ate at the Canal (the hotel restaurant) and the food was good, the breakfast was made to order and good as well. Not only that but the waitstaff befriended me and treated me like an old friend every time we crossed paths.

The reception staff were happy to answer any questions and make any arrangements I needed. They provided a shuttle bus to the Saturday and Sunday Night Market. Although I only took advantage on Saturday and made my own arrangements on Sunday.

The only negative I would say is that the location is a bit out of the way, but beyond that it was a great hotel, with an excellent staff, that I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria bc
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed at the Rim Resort while on our honeymoon and loved it. The location was convenient for our few days of sightseeing. The staff are incredibly friendly and very helpful. They provided so much assistance in helping us book a few tours and even ordering in some take out from a nearby restaurant. On my birthday they even left a delicious cake in our room! The rooms are large and clean, and the pool is beautiful. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again! My only negative comment is that the AC didn't quite go as cool as we wanted, but it is still fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhejjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
3.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.8 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
2.6 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rim Resort

Property: The Rim Resort
Address: 51/2 Arrak Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#34 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rim Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rim Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing