We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of The Rim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Rim Resort
Ranked #28 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just returned from a week in Chiang Mai to attend a wedding. There were several people from the wedding staying there also (including families with young kids). We spent many an afternoon sitting around the pool area having drinks/food and chatting. The food and drink service was perfect. The food delicious and the cocktails unusual, but nice. Breakfast has a basic buffet plus a menu with western and thai-style eggs / soups. The room was kept very clean. Our room was at the very front of the resort and therefore we had a bit of noise from the road out the front. Didn't keep us awake, but it may if you were a light sleeper. It's located in the quieter part of the old city, so not in the centre of everything, but there were always tuk tuks or songthous (sp?) available to take you anywhere for very little. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose one towards the back off the main road, and directly on the pool in case there are loud peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellynita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    245
    45
    8
    3
See reviews for
131
346
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The Rim resort is a wonderful hotel with amazing rooms, nice amenities, a lovely pool (though a limited lounging area), and an amazing staff. Most restaurants and markets are a bit of a walk, even though the resort is within the wall of the old city, it is in an undeveloped area. We had a great stay, but we don't mind 20-40 minute walks. The restaurant is AMAZING & so are the cocktails. Great place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanLinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The hotel is very well designed in Lanna/contemporary style, just right- nothing tacky, nice pool as well. It is small, calm and serene place, one can get the feel of relaxing in a large house in Chiang Mai. Its location is at the quiet part of the old town, so for someone who likes the hustle-bustle of the city or nearby row of bars & nice restaurants to go at night, may not be the best choice.

The Superior room is large, nice bathroom with both tub and shower, a small balcony. I particularly like the idea of a sliding window between the tub and the bedroom, makes the bathroom nice, wide and airy. The only set back is probably there is no elevator and it'll not be too easy with large luggage if you don't want to wait for the porter (not a long wait but we like to handle carry-ons ourselves, luckily we have the 2nd floor room, not the 3rd.)

The hotel is generally quiet, but we can hear the noise from the walkway quite clearly when the service person knocked at the next room's door, it sounded like on ours and we heard every word. (But that only happened only once a day, no trouble actually.)

Breakfast is not impressive but good enough with a selection of hot dishes a la carte plus the basic breakfast buffet. We tried the dinner once, Thai dishes were all really good. Dessert, however, was not as good as it sounded in the menu.

We are very impressed with the service, from the driver who picked us up from the airport, the receptionists, the repairman(The door opening to our balcony was difficult to open), the waiters at dinner, and all the staffs we walked pass who always greeted us nicely. Only the persons at breakfast were not too friendly. There is also a small parking in front of the hotel, making all pick-ups & drop-offs convenient. A small, lovely and quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiaraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

the most romantic hotel I have ever stayed in, its a lovely small hotel with an extremely helpful team of staff who made our stay wonderful.

We moved to this hotel after a week at the Kantary Hills, which was also excellent but very different, we also extended our stay because of the flooding in Bangkok, with no regrets.
The Rim was good for us because its on the edge of the old town and very atmospheric.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here for the 1 st part of our honeymoon and really liked it.

The rim serves lovely tasty breakfasts, good quality cocktails and offers help when needed at reception. The pool area is nice and relaxing, the rooms have a nice Thai feel with a real comfy bed and with a big bathroom.

My only negative would be location as it's a fair walk from most things but very cheap to get about in chiang mai so not a problem if u don't fancy walking.

They also gave us a honeymoon cake which was a lovely touch.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubbard31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Beautifully maintained hotel beside the old walls/moat, with wonderfully attentive and helpful staff. Wonderful little pool and delightful cocktails with local twists. Free shuttle to the Night Market at the eastern side of town, though nothing within the Old Town, especially the myriad of wonderful temples, is not within strolling distance.

Room Tip: Rooms overlook either garden or pool, but those on the first floor would be more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetwomuskateers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed here for a night after spending another night at the Tamarind Village, which was perhaps a bit more stylish and charming but also materially more expensive.

The Rim was therefore a different experience but I would still highly recommend it. Very helpful staff, good breakfast, and a very large and comfortable room which while not as chic as places like Tamarind still offered distinctly Thai touches and decor. The hotel complex itself is well designed around a small but lovely pool.

The hotel is located on the edge of the old district but still walking distance to many of its attractions.

Room Tip: No lift so if you don't fancy stairs ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
3.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.8 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
2.6 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#34 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rim Resort

Property: The Rim Resort
Address: 51/2 Arrak Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#34 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rim Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rim Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing