We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and service”
Review of The Rim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rim Resort
Ranked #29 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a fantastic and memorable stay.
When we arrived we were seated and given a local drink while check in was arranged. We were shown to our room to make sure all ok, which it was the room was good size and very comfortable. Our balcony overlooked the pool area which was serene and peaceful.
The hotel design is great also, traditional buildings make u feel u stepped into a different world.
The staff were all knowledgeable and very friendly, particulary bo she arranged our sightseeing, transfers, informed us of thehotel and local facilities she was great.
We also received free drinks voucher which was a nice added touch.
The hotel also offers free wifi which was great, other reviews state they had connection issues, we had no issues the wifi worked perfectly.
The hotel breakfast was good, all very tasty.
We had a fantastic stay at the rim and would definately return if in chiang mai.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalExplorer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

A traditional Thai style hotel but with all modern facilities. We had a lovely room overlooking the pool with a large balcony. The staff were helpful but some struggled with english which affected us. The location was out of town but in the historical centre and transport was readily available. The restaurant was extremely nice and served high quality western and thai food at very good prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaroleAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Very picturesque boutique hotel. The hotel was very well designed. The pool is not so big but it's sufficient. The staffs were quite friendly. Breakfast was not very impressive but hey, you're in Chiang Mai/Thailand, land of great street food. Good location (very near Wat Phra Singh - worth a visit). The room was clean and well kept. Shower was great. Bed was great but a bit too firm.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Optimissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The Rim is a peaceful haven on the edge of the old city. It is beautifully designed in Thai Lanna style. The staff are wonderful and we really enjoyed our stay. The Canal restaurant serves a lovely breakfast, however by Thai standards the selection is very small. The pool area is quite small but has a lovely pool bar and we found the staff provided great service. Do request a ground floor room if stairs are a problem as there is no lift. The resort is situated very close to the Kad Suan Heau mall (excuse if spelling incorrect) for some shopping. Also for alternative diner option there is a fantastic cheap Thai style diner just outside the gate to the left

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwiwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The service here is just brilliant!! You ask for anything it will immediately come to you. It's almost like someone is assigned to take care of just you!:-) The interior is very beautiful and clean. There is also a nice pool and a basic gym.
We tried some of the cocktails at the bar and they were wonderful! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We loved this hotel. It's not a resort in the classic sense, but a hotel in a lovely setting. The service is impeccable. It was wonderful to come back each evening to such a graceful place, pleasing to the eye. Every aspect of the rooms is thought out and beautiful. We had a private deck, slippers, robes, free bottles of water. Breakfast (which came with our room) menu had many choices in both Western and Asian foods. I ditto what others have said about location, shuttle, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RomeTheSecondTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Rim Resorts is a relaxing boutique style thai palace for you to get home after a full day visiting temples, riding elephants or doing white water rafting.

Location: inside the old city near the river, it is 10min away from the night bazar via tuk tuk. They also offer free shuttle every day at 7pm.

Room: impeccable thai style room (lots of wood) with nice bed and spacious bathroom. The rooms also have a nice balcony overlooking the pool.

Service/Amenities: excellent, very service oriented Thai style. The pool was great to take a quick dip when getting back from the temples/tours. Breakfast was also very good (western and thai a la carte options).

Net, we would definitively stay again here and recommend it to anyone looking for a nice thai boutique type of hotel to relax.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Rafael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,022 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,030 reviews
1.1 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#33 of 402 in Chiang Mai
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#16 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,531 reviews
3.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.9 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rim Resort

Address: 51/2 Arrak Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £71 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rim Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rim Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing