We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to heal my knees”
Review of The Rim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rim Resort
Ranked #30 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice place to heal my knees”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This is not a perfect resort. The details of The Rim is not as immaculate as Dhara Dehvi or 137 Pillars. But I like the cozy atmosphere in Rim. I fell from the motorbike when riding in Nimman without helmet at the speed of 40 Kilo. Luckily, my head didn't hit the ground. As a result, I have to go to the hospital everyday to clean the wound. The hospital is just 8 minutes walk from Rim. And I have to forget about all my medicated plan such as jungle flight, elephant riding as well as conquering of Pai, a northern county with less tourists. Lying on the deck chair on the balcony and watching the swimming pool in the middle, I just learn to appreciate that living itself is a pleasure, especially with my family around me. Again, I celebrated Spring Festival with my parents, nephew and wife.
Reception is very friendly and helpful.
Anyway, be cautious to riding a motorbike, especially when u don't do it frequently at home.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank maxqian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    253
    48
    8
    3
See reviews for
136
354
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days in January. Here are some thoughts:

PROS
- friendly service, helpful staff
- delicious coffee and breakfast buffet (noodles, fried rice, salad, cereals, French toast or pancakes and a variety of juices laid out. Made to order eggs, bacon, sausage, rosti, rice or noodle dishes).
- free wifi (a bit slow though)
- cheap laundry service next door, 50baht/kg
- can rent a bike from the hotel to explore for 50 baht/day
- free shuttle to night market daily at 7pm

CONS
- very dark room! The room is decorated in traditional Lanna style with dark wood, dark red walls, etc. this could be a matter of personal preference though.
- unreliable hot water for shower and bath tub (very frustrating during chilly Chiang Mai mornings where temperature is about 11C)
- room service not available after 9:45pm
- aside from 2-3 adjacent restaurants (where servers do not speak any English), not many places to eat within walking distance in the evening
- very few conveniently located outlets in the room to charge electronic devices
- creaky bed frame! Mattress itself was firm and comfortable, but bed creaks with every movement

All in all, the hotel is nice but not my cup of tea. I appreciated the friendly service and loved the breakfast buffet! However, If I could do it again, I would opt to stay in the east side of the city where there are more options for late night dining and is overall more central to the city center. Most importantly, I hope that the hotel can fix its issue of unreliable hot water.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lulubean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This little hotel on the edge of the old city, The pool/lounge area is a perfect break for the craziness, particularly with the carefully curated garden. While overall charming, there were some false notes (the pool was cold, the shower ran hot/cold, the bed a little hard, and some of rooms felt a little warn). We walked by many hotels on our stay, and none made us say "we should have stayed there). We'd happily stay at the Rim again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. There can be some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Rim middle of December with friends for several nights and as others have pointed out the place is in great need of being re-painted to bring it back to the standards you would expect for the price they charge. The rooms themselves were spacious and clean overlooking a reasonable sized pool on the ground floor but one downside was there was a lot of noise late at night coming from apartments behind the hotel.The Hotel staff were lovely and very helpful during our stay and the breakfast was good. Advantage is its very central and is not too far to walk anywhere. It is not a 5* Hotel by any means of the imagination and being honest I think the room prices are a little too high when you compare it to 5* hotels I have stayed in Bangkok/ Phuket and Hua Hin over the last 10 years. If your only staying for a few days and want to be central to everything then it will tick your box's.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor with balconies overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed with my wife in this hotel in loy katong festival and u regretted it from the first second the taxi stopped on the door of the hotel..

The hotel online says it's a five stars hotel but actually it's a 3+ stars (maybe) and it's boutique not modern hotel...

Everywhere in the hotel you find some paint missing on the wall or sealing and too much dirt...

Have a pool in the middle of the hotel somewhat nice looking...

The room was big enough and the design is some kind of modern style, but the bathroom is not same like the room as it says please kill destroy as it shows how old the place is.

The biggest problem for me was when they find a spot need to paint they just repaint it over the old one do everywhere you will see big differences in the colors of the walls...

The location is the best thing in the whole stay as it's around 1.5 km from the walking street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my time here. It was nice to stay at a smaller, boutique hotel and everything was really a 10/10. The location was great, walking distance to the Sunday markets and restaurants. The rooms were nice with a view of the pool and the breakfast was well sufficient. Service friendly and helpful and organised day trips for us. Hard to fault. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajmackie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We fully can Recommened this Hotel. We are a German couple Travelled through Thailand.
Everything Great.
Butler. Great
Room. Great
Breakfast. Great (best Cappuccino in Thailand)
Clean.
Nice Pool
Outstanding Stuff.
Take room around the Pool.

Room Tip: Around Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 386 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
0.9 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#34 of 386 in Chiang Mai
961 reviews
0.6 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,854 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rim Resort

Property: The Rim Resort
Address: 51/2 Arrak Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#34 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rim Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rim Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing