We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Resort Hotel at Old City”
Review of The Rim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rim Resort
Ranked #29 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Ouagadougou
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy Resort Hotel at Old City”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is located western part of old city, and it is a walking distance to the famous old temples and Sunday night bazaar, good location. Hotel also provides free shuttle bus (one way) to night bazaar, it's convenient. All the staff were very polite and kind.
The room is clean and neat. There were some mosquitos, but hotel provides mosquito spray in the room. We stayed at level 3, but there is no lift, need to walk up there. Swimming pool is located at the centre of the hotel.
Hotel serves simple but fresh and tasty breakfast, we enjoyed it very much. The breakfast venue was also clean and cozy place.
Overall, it was a very nice stay at the Rim!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lafi_BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    250
    45
    8
    3
See reviews for
132
348
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Romania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very nice hotel, all rooms have a terrace which is suitable for smokers. It has two levels, a big courtyard, large green spaces, and a beautiful swimming pool. Although it is situated near the center of Chiang Mai, it’s a real oasis of tranquility and it’s a very good choice for visitors. It is decorated in a traditional style, using local wood.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eturia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narooma, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our family of eight have stayed here for seven nights in three rooms with four teenagers. The hotel and the staff have been excellent. The pool is great. Rooms very neat and traditional in style. Our beds were firm. Bathrooms are clean and a good size. Rooms are big. Balcony was fantastic. Breakfast each day was fresh and made the start each morning so much easier. Location is easily accessible to all the city activities with a red bus at 20baht per person or a tuk tuk at an average of 100baht.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms fronting the pool which was brilliant with teenagers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the Rim during Songkran and had a fabulous time! The temple inspired architecture is beautful and it felt like a little oasis! The location is perfect for walking through the old city and visiting temples etc. We thought the staff was wonderful and didn't realize how lucky we were until we traveled more through the country! The staff at the Rim was welcoming from the moment we arrived and were very helpful throughout our entire stay. The food was tasty and the Tom Yum cocktail was a favorite! I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MELSOL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for four nights towards the end of a lovely fortnight in Thailand. The hotel us small and intimate with huge comfortable beds, powerful showers and a lovely pool. All the staff were wonderful. We enjoyed great cocktails, substantial breakfasts and great service. Would definitely recommend a stay at the Rim Resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard-and-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was the best hotel we stayed at while visiting Thailand. Our room was large yet still had a cozy feel and the overall atmosphere of this hotel was peaceful and relaxing. The staff really goes above and beyond to make sure you are enjoying your stay. Their restaurant doesn't open until 6:30am but we had to catch our flight and had to leave at 6:30am so they opened the restaurant early for us. Then when we got to the airport we realized we left a CD with all of our Ran-Tong Elephant photos on it so we called the hotel and they had someone bring the CD to the airport for us….who does that?! That was incredible nice of them! By the way, you MUST try the pandam iced tea in their restaurant!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel that goes out of the way to make you feel welcome. The rooms were nice and the resort is located in the old city. Definitely recommend this place. Liked the fact that they gave out free protective pouches for our cellphones and wallets during Songkran along with free shirts. Don't expect the amenities of a five star hotel but enjoy this classic Thai resort with special hospitality.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MakatiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 383 in Chiang Mai
963 reviews
0.9 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 383 in Chiang Mai
952 reviews
0.6 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,829 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rim Resort

Property: The Rim Resort
Address: 51/2 Arrak Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#34 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rim Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rim Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing