We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to enjoy Chiang Mai”
Review of The Rim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rim Resort
Ranked #29 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Beautiful thai style hotel, not in the middle of the mess of the night bazaar but it's easy to get there in 5 minutes by Songthaew (the red firemen like car taxi, tuk tuks always try to earn more money from you). Close to the main temples in old city and the hotel look like a quiet temple as well. Great staff, excellent breakfast, cool swimming pool and they have a pick up service at the airport. Used the laundry too, flawless service. One of the high points of my one month trip to SE Asia.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fseidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2011

We have returned from our first ever trip to Chiang Mai and The Rim in December. This pretty new little place was without doubt our favourite out of the 5 hotels (in 3 parts of Thailand - Chiang Mai, Krabi, Bangkok) we stayed in. To put it into perspective, we have stayed at one of the most famous 5* hotels in Bangkok after our stay at The Rim. And while we also had a very pleasant stay there, we still were talking about The Rim!

Our take on the hotel :

Staff : As a general rule based on our personal experiences, the Thai in the hospitality/tourism industry are mostly so humble, hospitable and accommodating, that negative experiences are simply not the norm. But we thought that the staff at The Rim were very good and lovely - in general and especially at the front office and the restaurant (Art, Benz, Tai etc.). They were professional and friendly. Always greeting you with a smile. Service was prompt and remarkable.

Location : We enjoyed staying at the northern end of old city because it was easy to walk to all the important spots in the city and easy to catch a tuk-tuk for a short ride to get to other parts of the town as the river front with its restaurants or the hip Nimmahemin road with the interesting shops and restaurants.

Room: We stayed in a Dahla Room. It had the right size for us (43 sqm) and was very pleasant. Whilst beautifully decorated in the Northern Lanna style with a lot of wood and silk elments, it was not overdone. Nice little touches as an old style clock, a hand written welcome card or bath salt were nice eye ( + and soul ;-) catchers that created a sense of style. Also the modern amenities worked well as the air conditioner or the free wifi not only in the rooms but at the whole resort. The bathroom was also very comfortable. Needless to say that the whole room was spotlessly clean with a turn down service every evening. Our room was on the first floor and we had a nice view on the pool and some old trees from our balcony, so we had the feeling of beeing in a resort and not in the middle of the town.

Restaurant: We ate at the hotel restaurant twice in the evening during the 5 days that we have stayed at The Rim and we found the food to be extraordinarily good. The menue of The Canal has Thai dishes as well as International creations - both were very good and very nicely presented. We also loved the great cocktails and enjoyed the special "2 for 1" every night. Breakfast was made to order with a limited choice, but exellently cooked. My husband was very happy with the coffee
which came individually brewed.

Lovely staff, fantastic food, gorgeous rooms - simply a great little resort in a very interesting town. Having no regrets about staying at this hotel we would recommend it wholeheartedly. We will certainly stay there again if we go back to Chiang Mai again, which we hope is sooner rather than later.

PS: We always check the reviews at TA before booking a hotel. In this case there were no reviews yet in the whole internet. But we somehow had a good feel about the hotel which at at the end showed so wunderfully right!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adriana11Croatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Lovely boutique (i.e. human size) hotel in an intimate setting, just what you expect when you visit a city as rich in history, culture and tradition as Chiang Mai.
The hotel is in authentic traditional style that lets you believe you have been transported back in time if you like. The pool is beautiful as is the open air shadowy terrace to enjoy unique cocktails with a view of the pool.
The staff here truely enjoys their work and it shows in all thy do, they work together as a well cemented and great team. You don't have to ask for anything twice here.
They are enthusiastic and knowledgable eager to share everything they know about features and events in and around Chiang Mai.
If you are travelling alone, take advantage of the "butler" service for day trips .... I thought it was nice to have company and a fluent Thai speaker to translate for me, just in case.

The hotels restaurant "The Canal" deserves an honorable mention itself. The Chef presents dishes which are a work of art to the eye and a symphony to the tastebuds. Once you've eaten here you will want to try everything on the menu and it will be hard for you to eat anywhere else in town.
You can dine on the beautiful roof terrace with a gorgeous view of the stars or have a choice of two lovely in door seating areas.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breeze11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

The hotel is located outside on the Old City’s gate and about 10 mins walk to inside where the temples, restaurants, night life and Sunday Market. The hotel bit quite offering the basic needs for guests in pleasant environment. The staff overall are friendly from the receptions, concierge, in restaurants and room services.

Spa services not available at the hotel however it’s arranged with another nearby spa with free transportation. I would recommend visiting other massage centers around which offers reasonable prices. The hotel also doesn’t have tour agent desk also this can be arranged outside the hotel. The restaurant’s foods are fantastic but unfortunately it close at 11 PM.

The hotel absolutely beautiful and clean with traditional Thai designs built as temple. Just make sure when u book to double confirm as we booked through Booking.com which didn’t show in their records. So if you are looking for quiet and beautiful place then this is ideal hotel which will meet your needs.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrchiBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children (8 and 5) recently spent four nights at The Rim and were delighted with the accommodation - the room was clean and ideal for our family.

The staff were more than helpful, in particular Khun Art - his assistance in answering all our queries was outstanding, thank you.

Our only problem was with the pillows - way too soft!

We look forward to returning in the years to come!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

I totally explore the great place to accommodate my engagement ceremony among 20 family members and friends (both Thais and American). Professional staffs with over 100% service mind and friendly atmosphere that made my stay (during Nov.18-20) the memorable event ever. I love the classic Thai Lanna environment and decoration around this place. Room is so clean and the food is fabulous. I'm Thai who are living in another part of Thailand, but once think about Chiangmai, I definitely like to return to the Rim. Truely impress with The Rim's team - thank you all indeed.

Jay

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay320d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Rim Resort on the last 4 nights out of our 12 nights trip to Thailand, the Hotel has only been open since 2-3 months.
Is an old Temple, very Beautiful and well located,the rooms are beautiful, spacious, the bathroom very nice and big.
The only little remarks are about the noise at early morning from the voice of the staff (we believe the housekeeping ladies) you can hear everything from inside the room, someone should train them not to speak laudly. Also breakfast needs to be improved in our opinion, you can see that the resort is new and need some improvements in the service, the staff at times look lost, they are all very nice, but need some training and guidance. (There is no supervision)
Overall this Hotel has a great potential, just need to improve on the people management and service standards.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#31 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,023 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#39 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,032 reviews
1.1 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#32 of 402 in Chiang Mai
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,532 reviews
3.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.9 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rim Resort

Address: 51/2 Arrak Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £70 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rim Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rim Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing