We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
Ranked #43 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All worth it!”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

De Chai had such comfy beds and pillows! The rooms had great interior and plasmas with variety of channels. We had such a fantastic stay here! It was great to do all the adventures up in the mountains and be able to come back to a relaxing swim and drinks by the pool at the hotel! Breakfast is superb! Cleanliness is throughout! Night bazaar within walking distance! It felt like we were staying at a five star hotel without spending over our budget! If you're in Chiang Mai, definitely stay at De Chai! We're definitely coming back here!

P.S shout out to the tour desk at the hotel, they're outstandingly helpful! Also to the rotti couple selling rotti on the corner at the entrance of the soi! They've been there for over 21years and make awesome rotti with condense milk, choc syrup and bananas!! :D

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luckypop22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    210
    38
    14
    4
See reviews for
76
261
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

In fact this is in many respects a five star hotel, but without the impersonal service of many of the real big five star hotels.
Brand-new hotel (less than 1 year) in a very quiet side-street, just a few hundred meters outside the eastern city wall. Everything expected and needed (and even more) is available. Large rooms, extremely tasteful and modernly decorated with an eye for detail. Great and strong showers, nice bathtub. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Aircon is very powerful and relatively noisy. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. Very good and cheap in-house massage-facilities (currently with promotional price). Swimming pool (covered and rather small; seems to be more for decoration). Breakfast buffet is relatively modest. Staff is very friendly and helpful. If you don't mind to spend more money than really needed for decent accommodation in central Chiang Mai, then don't hesitate to go to De Chai !

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelNieuwegein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espanola, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This is a lovely, boutique hotel in a great location on a small street without the tuk tuk noise of Chiang Mai and good value. It is a new, clean contemporary hotel with flat screen TVs, wifi, quiet rooms, and large modern bathrooms. The spa has a high standard of professionalism and highly recommended. The staff is charming and very helpful but perhaps not as polished as well trained staff in big chain hotels if that is important to you. The restaurant provides nice lunch and dinner choices though basic anat very reasonable priced.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c0verst0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

This boutique hotel committed to its' website's promise: the perfect colonial style hotel for your visit to the north of Thailand.

Pros:
- Accommodating hotel staff
- Well designed and spacious rooms
- One of the more fresh hotels in Chiang Mai
- Few walks away from the night bazaar
- Free tuktuk ride from the hotel to your chosen destination
- Very cheap considering the room and service quality

Cons:
- There are insects (mosquitos i guess) when we entered the room but then disappeared as the aircondition was opened. Perhaps because the hotel is new.

Overall, it was worth every buck that we've paid. Will surely choose De Chai when on my next visit to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Book through the internet for lower prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dooboptramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I found this hotel on Agoda as it was still be built, there web site, albeit graphics, looked interesting and the concept i took to like, so booked the 11 nights and paid. Sent 1 email to query one thing, after a 2nd email asking if i could get an answer to the first email they replied. Sent another email later on, and never heard back from them, and that was just the start. Upon arrival we were greeted with a brand new building, lovely tiled entranced, large water feature and a butt ugly strip of bright red fake carpet to cover the entrance tiles, as some idiot planned and used slippery black tiles out in the open, so they had to cover it up with this fake red carpet, more on this later.
The entrance foyer is pleasant but small, greeted with a drink, nice touch, taken to the room quickly. On first sight the room seemed nice, but once you actually unpack and sleep, you realise how BADLY they are designed. The bed is wonderfully comfortable and that is the only good thing i can say about the room. What stupid designer decided to use a wooden surround around the bed, if you get up at night to go to the toilet watch out because you will stub your toes, several times, we ended up putting white towels on corner so we could see them at night, as there is no night light, you actually have to turn on a main light to go to the bathroom, oh and who was the bright spark who decided to place the ONLY light for the bathroom next to the front door, stupid idea. Ok to the rest of the bathroom, to reach the toilet paper you have to be double jointed, the shower doors do not open fully, the bath is way too big for the tiny room, and there is NO WHERE to place your toiletries either side of the basin, people come away with all sorts of things to use in the bathroom, and if you only have a few inches either side it makes one upset. The room had an area for your laptop, but only just enough for it. No telephone numbers list of which numbers to use for which department you wish to speak to, and no list of TV channels, come on these things are simple and SHOULD be in the room. Also 1 channel for movies to watch a bit weak. This room was on the roadway, bad move, yes the glass is double glazed BUT there is a 5mm gap on the bottom of the rolling windows, and every motorbike, car, tok tok and drunk coming home at any hour of the night you would be woken up by. The other concern here was the amount of mosquitoes we got in the room. And last but by no means least, was the air con a special when you bought it, as it is the loudest i have ever heard, what a joke.
Breakfast the next morning, weak, boring, no thought gone into it, at all. No list of things the cook could make for you, and no coffee to be seen, you had to ask for both. the design of the tables and chairs are far too BIG for the size room.
The tour desk, i feel i was being taken for ride here, i wanted to see something in particular and the guy there was having none of it, he wanted me to go to his choice, so i went along with it, and the tour was, from memory, $1800Baht each so we went to pay for it and then he said oh there is an extra $1500Baht for the car, so i walked away, sounded a of a scam to me.
The fake red carpet, one night we were coming back and i entered the entrance a bit quick and over i slipped, the carpet is not fixed down, i did not hurt myself but someone will sue soon, and as for the cleaning of the large water feature, only after recently opening, walking in and out all over hoses and electrical leads, just second rate, really no thought.
We had to leave for 4 nights and came back and asked to be moved as the noise was getting to much. Yes sir no problem in moving, but you will have to pay more. No reduction in room rate, nothing. The new room was larger and more comfortable, BUT the air con came from the cheap company, the bed still had the stupid wooden surround and the shower was still tiny. And the internet connection was better at the local cafe.
Checkout, i was greeted with an account which included the cost of a small towel i used on a day trip and i dirtied, i was told i had to pay $150Baht as it was not able to be cleaned, also i was told i had to pay for a phone call i made the morning before, once i sat down with my partner and told her, we went back and asked for the towel (which i brought back home and cleaned in go in my machine) and questioned the phone call, which i was then told was from our old room, yes i got the money back but this was not the point. While i was questioning this about 6 staff arrived around and one even said please come back sir, to which i did not reply.
This is one hotel that is over rated and needs a reality check, the staff seem to be lost most days, the general service is not good, the rooms are clean but not comfortable. The concept of what they wanted is good but badly brought to life. This is one place i will not be returning to and will never recommend anyone to book with.
The Travelling Signman,

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thetravellingsignman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I really like De Chai; the rooms were gorgeous, spacious, clean, comfortable and quite fancy ;) I also liked that the bathroom could be opened up to the bedroom and the rain showerhead and full bath, as well as full climate control for the air-conditioning. The bed was large and lovely too. It was also very convenient to everything, 2 mins walk to the old town and 2 mins to restaurants and 5 mins walk to the Night Bazaar.

I think my favourite part was the bar by the pool-they made very good cocktails that were priced the same as everywhere else in Thailand, which was nice. They also had a good wine menu and champagne (!) available.

The hotel was lovely overall but lacked a couple of things I expected a hotel of this standard to have-it has no guide to the hotel in the room (i.e. for reception call x, room service call x, for other rooms dial x, restaurant dial x etc) which was strange as it's hard to take advantage of these services without it. The included breakfast was also a little average given the quality of the street food available but it was ok. The pool was also FREEZING and should have been heated-very weird to have a cold pool in Thailand! The staff were also a bit hard to communicate with-we extended our stay early on from 3 nights to 5, checked on the 3rd day was that ok (again) but then received a message from our friends there was a problem and go to reception as our room keys had expired, which was annoying. They should have issued us new room keys when we checked that morning.

Overall however, very good and very nice and most of the staff were just lovely; especially the tour guides and restaurant and bar staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRSyd51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
167 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We spend 4 nights at De Chai during a leisure trip to Chiang Mai. I've made the reservation through a well known booking web site but 3 week before my arrival I contacted the hotel directly to arrange transport. The reply was prompt but after I sent the specific flight details of my arrival there was no response. 2 days before the arrival I contacted the hotel by phone, they seem to know nothing about the transportation arrangement and we had to run the whole process through the phone. Kind and polite staff in the phone though.

On arrival the hotel car was waiting for us and we headed to the hotel. De Chai is a very beautifully designed small hotel, very new and well located close to the main Chiang Mai attractions including the night market and the Sunday market. Both are a 10 minutes walk.

I've had the suite room which is very spacious, well decorated and with a nice bathroom. there are some faults in the room hough. The TV set in the bedroom is not opposite to the bed but to its one side making impossible to watch TV in the bedroom. Probably this arrangement has been chosen because opposite to the bed there is the glass wall of the bathroom. I think though that even with the glass wall the TV could have been placed in a better position. Another fault is that the DVD set is connected to the bedroom TV and not the living room TV. Quite wrong choice especially bearing in mind that the bedroom TV position is not optimal.

Another problem of the bedroom is that there is only one side table and the light control set located only in the one side of the bed.

Bathroom is very nice but there is no hanger to hang the used towels or the bathrobe or another piece of cloth.

In the living room everything is fine but the air con controller is only in the bedroom so no access from the living room.

There was always a slight small of sewage (or similar) in the room; not really terrible but you could notice it the moment you entered the room. After 5 minutes of air con the smell was not detectable.

One big problem was a noise the first night that was coming either from an electricity generator or another thing.

Breakfast is really below the level of the hotel with a few choices but generally good quality.

The pool area is so small and only 2-4 people can be there at the same time.

I was expecting that the suite will have turn down service but it was not the case. One day also we returned at the hotel at about 3pm and the room was not ready.

During check out staff declined in the begging to accept either my debit MasterCard or my AmEx credit card (both of them issued in Thailand) and asking for Visa. I told them that these are the cards that I have and finally they accepted the debit card. In the check out also I was never given a bill statement before hand and even after I paid I had to ask for the bill. The staff was trying to check out 3 rooms at the same time creating a small mess and I think that this is not a good policy and indicates also a bad information system in their computers. Check out today with the modern computer information systems requires just a press of a button! I admit though that the staff doesn't have the appropriate space to work (reception area is very small) and they were trying hard to please customers.

Generally staff was polite, pleasant and was asking if we had a good time but in such small boutique hotel you expect a more personal approach.

Free wi-fi is provided and the speed is very good.

Will I go back again? The design and the location of the hotel are it's main assets but i've found similar designs and location with a much more efficient service in other Chiang Mai hotels. Maybe the hotel need some time to calibrate it's service and I could visit it again provided that there is an improvement in the service.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trip_Datum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 381 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 381 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
BanThai Village
BanThai Village
#38 of 381 in Chiang Mai
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,812 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#41 of 381 in Chiang Mai
911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#40 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Chai The Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Chai The Colonial Hotel

Property: De Chai The Colonial Hotel
Address: 6 / 3 Thapae Road. Soi 4 | Changklan Maung, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Chai The Colonial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Chiang Mai city on the most popular Thapae Road, the city’s main thoroughfare display many of unique and urban shop that had been flourishing along the classic one-way road. Just ten minutes by walk away is fantastic shopping venues Chaing Mai Night Bazaar as well as charming Sunday walking street, or stroll to antique Lanna Temple and the 100 Years market "Kad Luang", you can find everything you need at here! Furthermore, only a five to ten minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Chai The Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing