We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
Ranked #42 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Very spacious and roomy I was totally happy...free wi-fi. Fast check-in, friendly staff, about 10 minute walking distance to walking night market. Down a quiet street walking either way will lead you to a major road. Pool area is right next to the lobby small but I did not use it. Stayed in a Superior Plus room, great large bathroom...Would stay again absolutely.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jquest1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeChaiHotel, Guest Service Agent at De Chai The Colonial Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you for your review.
We hope to welcome you again when you visit Chiang Mai and would be appreiated if you share your happiness while you are staying with us to your friends. Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    212
    38
    14
    4
See reviews for
78
264
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We booked our accomodation on Agoda purely on price and based on the photos, we weren't disappointed, it is beautiful and tucked away.
From the moment we were picked up at the airport in the most fitted out van we've ever travelled in till the moment we grooved back to the airport we were looked after.
We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, they chatted where possible and helped us with any enquiries, the recommendation of the laundry lady down the Soi was spot on, didn't use the tour desk in the lobby.
Rooms were clean and well fitted out, the flatscreen TV and DVD player was handy to check out our DVD's from the market, it's only 5 min walk to the old city and 15 minutes to the Night Bazaar, breakfasts were great and cooked breakfasts were available on request, the fruits were delicious.
We stayed there 8 nights and loved every minute of it. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saykiaora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeChaiHotel, Guest Service Agent at De Chai The Colonial Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your temporary home during your trip. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future when you visit Chiang Mai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

De Chai had such comfy beds and pillows! The rooms had great interior and plasmas with variety of channels. We had such a fantastic stay here! It was great to do all the adventures up in the mountains and be able to come back to a relaxing swim and drinks by the pool at the hotel! Breakfast is superb! Cleanliness is throughout! Night bazaar within walking distance! It felt like we were staying at a five star hotel without spending over our budget! If you're in Chiang Mai, definitely stay at De Chai! We're definitely coming back here!

P.S shout out to the tour desk at the hotel, they're outstandingly helpful! Also to the rotti couple selling rotti on the corner at the entrance of the soi! They've been there for over 21years and make awesome rotti with condense milk, choc syrup and bananas!! :D

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luckypop22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

In fact this is in many respects a five star hotel, but without the impersonal service of many of the real big five star hotels.
Brand-new hotel (less than 1 year) in a very quiet side-street, just a few hundred meters outside the eastern city wall. Everything expected and needed (and even more) is available. Large rooms, extremely tasteful and modernly decorated with an eye for detail. Great and strong showers, nice bathtub. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Aircon is very powerful and relatively noisy. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. Very good and cheap in-house massage-facilities (currently with promotional price). Swimming pool (covered and rather small; seems to be more for decoration). Breakfast buffet is relatively modest. Staff is very friendly and helpful. If you don't mind to spend more money than really needed for decent accommodation in central Chiang Mai, then don't hesitate to go to De Chai !

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelNieuwegein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espanola, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This is a lovely, boutique hotel in a great location on a small street without the tuk tuk noise of Chiang Mai and good value. It is a new, clean contemporary hotel with flat screen TVs, wifi, quiet rooms, and large modern bathrooms. The spa has a high standard of professionalism and highly recommended. The staff is charming and very helpful but perhaps not as polished as well trained staff in big chain hotels if that is important to you. The restaurant provides nice lunch and dinner choices though basic anat very reasonable priced.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c0verst0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

This boutique hotel committed to its' website's promise: the perfect colonial style hotel for your visit to the north of Thailand.

Pros:
- Accommodating hotel staff
- Well designed and spacious rooms
- One of the more fresh hotels in Chiang Mai
- Few walks away from the night bazaar
- Free tuktuk ride from the hotel to your chosen destination
- Very cheap considering the room and service quality

Cons:
- There are insects (mosquitos i guess) when we entered the room but then disappeared as the aircondition was opened. Perhaps because the hotel is new.

Overall, it was worth every buck that we've paid. Will surely choose De Chai when on my next visit to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Book through the internet for lower prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dooboptramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I found this hotel on Agoda as it was still be built, there web site, albeit graphics, looked interesting and the concept i took to like, so booked the 11 nights and paid. Sent 1 email to query one thing, after a 2nd email asking if i could get an answer to the first email they replied. Sent another email later on, and never heard back from them, and that was just the start. Upon arrival we were greeted with a brand new building, lovely tiled entranced, large water feature and a butt ugly strip of bright red fake carpet to cover the entrance tiles, as some idiot planned and used slippery black tiles out in the open, so they had to cover it up with this fake red carpet, more on this later.
The entrance foyer is pleasant but small, greeted with a drink, nice touch, taken to the room quickly. On first sight the room seemed nice, but once you actually unpack and sleep, you realise how BADLY they are designed. The bed is wonderfully comfortable and that is the only good thing i can say about the room. What stupid designer decided to use a wooden surround around the bed, if you get up at night to go to the toilet watch out because you will stub your toes, several times, we ended up putting white towels on corner so we could see them at night, as there is no night light, you actually have to turn on a main light to go to the bathroom, oh and who was the bright spark who decided to place the ONLY light for the bathroom next to the front door, stupid idea. Ok to the rest of the bathroom, to reach the toilet paper you have to be double jointed, the shower doors do not open fully, the bath is way too big for the tiny room, and there is NO WHERE to place your toiletries either side of the basin, people come away with all sorts of things to use in the bathroom, and if you only have a few inches either side it makes one upset. The room had an area for your laptop, but only just enough for it. No telephone numbers list of which numbers to use for which department you wish to speak to, and no list of TV channels, come on these things are simple and SHOULD be in the room. Also 1 channel for movies to watch a bit weak. This room was on the roadway, bad move, yes the glass is double glazed BUT there is a 5mm gap on the bottom of the rolling windows, and every motorbike, car, tok tok and drunk coming home at any hour of the night you would be woken up by. The other concern here was the amount of mosquitoes we got in the room. And last but by no means least, was the air con a special when you bought it, as it is the loudest i have ever heard, what a joke.
Breakfast the next morning, weak, boring, no thought gone into it, at all. No list of things the cook could make for you, and no coffee to be seen, you had to ask for both. the design of the tables and chairs are far too BIG for the size room.
The tour desk, i feel i was being taken for ride here, i wanted to see something in particular and the guy there was having none of it, he wanted me to go to his choice, so i went along with it, and the tour was, from memory, $1800Baht each so we went to pay for it and then he said oh there is an extra $1500Baht for the car, so i walked away, sounded a of a scam to me.
The fake red carpet, one night we were coming back and i entered the entrance a bit quick and over i slipped, the carpet is not fixed down, i did not hurt myself but someone will sue soon, and as for the cleaning of the large water feature, only after recently opening, walking in and out all over hoses and electrical leads, just second rate, really no thought.
We had to leave for 4 nights and came back and asked to be moved as the noise was getting to much. Yes sir no problem in moving, but you will have to pay more. No reduction in room rate, nothing. The new room was larger and more comfortable, BUT the air con came from the cheap company, the bed still had the stupid wooden surround and the shower was still tiny. And the internet connection was better at the local cafe.
Checkout, i was greeted with an account which included the cost of a small towel i used on a day trip and i dirtied, i was told i had to pay $150Baht as it was not able to be cleaned, also i was told i had to pay for a phone call i made the morning before, once i sat down with my partner and told her, we went back and asked for the towel (which i brought back home and cleaned in go in my machine) and questioned the phone call, which i was then told was from our old room, yes i got the money back but this was not the point. While i was questioning this about 6 staff arrived around and one even said please come back sir, to which i did not reply.
This is one hotel that is over rated and needs a reality check, the staff seem to be lost most days, the general service is not good, the rooms are clean but not comfortable. The concept of what they wanted is good but badly brought to life. This is one place i will not be returning to and will never recommend anyone to book with.
The Travelling Signman,

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thetravellingsignman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 384 in Chiang Mai
960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 384 in Chiang Mai
975 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 384 in Chiang Mai
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BanThai Village
BanThai Village
#41 of 384 in Chiang Mai
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#37 of 384 in Chiang Mai
1,269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#40 of 384 in Chiang Mai
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Chai The Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Chai The Colonial Hotel

Property: De Chai The Colonial Hotel
Address: 6 / 3 Thapae Road. Soi 4 | Changklan Maung, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Chai The Colonial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Chiang Mai city on the most popular Thapae Road, the city’s main thoroughfare display many of unique and urban shop that had been flourishing along the classic one-way road. Just ten minutes by walk away is fantastic shopping venues Chaing Mai Night Bazaar as well as charming Sunday walking street, or stroll to antique Lanna Temple and the 100 Years market "Kad Luang", you can find everything you need at here! Furthermore, only a five to ten minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your De Chai The Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing