We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was okay...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Chai The Colonial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
Ranked #40 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It was okay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is located just out of town, up a little lane... there were several thing which I remember about this hotel.... (1) all the staff are constantly on their mobile phones texting / facebook or whatever.... the door man... on his phone until he sees you.... reception.... on their phone until they see you. House Keeping, just on their phone. Surely, door man and reception should be there with a smile, to meet and greet... but no. (2) the pool is like a pond and there is no real "outside space". (3) the room was lovely, yet upon pulling up the blind, it looked out on some shack next door. It was interesting (yet not surprising) that the restaurant was empty night after night. Breakfast was okay, but often there were not enough tables. I loved Chang Mai and a local bar/restaurant "The Brasserie" a 10 minute walk was basic, but really good. I would stay here again - the only bad thing about it was, the staff thought more of their mobile phones than the guests!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulj121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    209
    38
    14
    4
See reviews for
75
260
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Room was big and clean. Bed comfortable. Breakfast simple but decent. Helpful staff. Overall a very nice stay. Small problem with the energy in our room but they were very fast to solve it. Wifi was also good and AC also working well. I would come back

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OEBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are staying at the chai right now, in two rooms. It's new, clean and has a friendly staff. The only major problem is the hot water in the shower. The hot water keeps on coming and going every 20 seconds, so if you want to take a 2 minutes shower, try to be super patient, otherwise try to locate another hotel. We asked the staff to fix the problems twice. Nothing happened.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for four nights with a few mates in July 2014. The hotel is quite conveniently located with a 7/11, pharmacy, mcdonalds all located within a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

The hotel is also located a 2 minute walk from Patay Rotee (rated the best rotee in chiang mai)
http://goslowlyeatwell.com/2013/11/30/quick-bite-paday-rotee-irresistible-sweets-in-chiang-mai/

The hotel is generally quite clean and the room was spotless and very spacious. The one thing i should mention is the hotel is open aired so i found a few geckos on my level and one found it's way through the gap of my room door. I also found that the hot water pressure was very bad no matter what time of day you attempt to have a shower.

Over all a very decent stay and i would recommend.

Room Tip: As the hotel is open air, try and get a room on the lower levels (level 1-4) as hot air rises, the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candelo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks and got to know the staff very well. Although most of the staff struggled with English they were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is placed very well with easy walking access to the Sunday night markets and a ten minute walk to the night bazaar. The restaurant was quite nice though the menu is a little brief but the staff's suggestions for other restaurants nearby was excellent. The pool was just large enough and great to cool off in. I also highly recommend the in house beauty spa. The rooms were spotlessly clean.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is located down a quiet little lane way not far from where they hold the Sunday Night walking market (Thae Pae gate). The hotel is very neat and tidy and kept in a very clean state. We had an interconnecting family room for our stay.

The main bedroom had a very comfortable king size bed and was well appointed however for us the only thing missing was a little lounge to sit on, the only place to sit was on the bed. Our children slept in the adjoining room which also looked to be a king size bed. This room had a little seat under the window which served well for the children. The only negative here was that of a morning the room got very bright.

The breakfasts were nice and fresh, eggs, pancakes etc cooked to order and coffee made fresh to order also. The selection of cereals, pastries and fruit was enough for our family.

The pool is extremely cold, my son who usually gets in the water with no problems only lasted a minute or two due to the cold temperature. Perhaps heating it a little would make the pool much more pleasant.

The front of house staff were very pleasant and helpful and certainly went out of their way to help us on a number of occasions. We particularly liked the idea of staff writing down the address do the hotel in Thai on a business card this made it easy for when we caught transport home.

Overall if you are looking for a nice small, quiet pleasant hotel don't pass by this one, it is worth staying at.

We managed to find our way around very easily, some say it is out of the way, however you only have to walk a little before you reach the main road and can wave down a Songtaew which on average takes you where you want to go for about 20 baht per person. Of a night there is a great little place that makes roti bread both savory and sweet be sure to check this out. The people who own and run the business have been going to the same spot for over 20 years and are very well known and popular in the area. There is a laundry on the same road as the hotel that does laundry for 40 baht per kilo as well. There are lots of nice little places to eat nearby as well including a 7 eleven.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bribrendy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We loved our time at De Chai & were thankful every time we returned to our beautiful cool little hotel. The rooms are clean & chic (think W), the AC pumps cold air & the pool is pretty sweet. The staff is cordial & always willing to please. The location is perfect, just outside the old city & a couple blocks to the night market, but (thankfully) off the main road so it's nice & quiet. We were in Chiang Mai meeting a big group of people & everyone who came by said it was nicer than their accommodations. Not a competition but it was nice to know we made the right choice & weren't missing out on anything.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rawaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#38 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#46 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.1 mi away
BanThai Village
BanThai Village
#36 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Chai The Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Chai The Colonial Hotel

Property: De Chai The Colonial Hotel
Address: 6 / 3 Thapae Road. Soi 4 | Changklan Maung, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Chai The Colonial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Chiang Mai city on the most popular Thapae Road, the city’s main thoroughfare display many of unique and urban shop that had been flourishing along the classic one-way road. Just ten minutes by walk away is fantastic shopping venues Chaing Mai Night Bazaar as well as charming Sunday walking street, or stroll to antique Lanna Temple and the 100 Years market "Kad Luang", you can find everything you need at here! Furthermore, only a five to ten minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your De Chai The Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing