We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, spacious and clean upper-class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
Ranked #33 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I really like De Chai; the rooms were gorgeous, spacious, clean, comfortable and quite fancy ;) I also liked that the bathroom could be opened up to the bedroom and the rain showerhead and full bath, as well as full climate control for the air-conditioning. The bed was large and lovely too. It was also very convenient to everything, 2 mins walk to the old town and 2 mins to restaurants and 5 mins walk to the Night Bazaar.

I think my favourite part was the bar by the pool-they made very good cocktails that were priced the same as everywhere else in Thailand, which was nice. They also had a good wine menu and champagne (!) available.

The hotel was lovely overall but lacked a couple of things I expected a hotel of this standard to have-it has no guide to the hotel in the room (i.e. for reception call x, room service call x, for other rooms dial x, restaurant dial x etc) which was strange as it's hard to take advantage of these services without it. The included breakfast was also a little average given the quality of the street food available but it was ok. The pool was also FREEZING and should have been heated-very weird to have a cold pool in Thailand! The staff were also a bit hard to communicate with-we extended our stay early on from 3 nights to 5, checked on the 3rd day was that ok (again) but then received a message from our friends there was a problem and go to reception as our room keys had expired, which was annoying. They should have issued us new room keys when we checked that morning.

Overall however, very good and very nice and most of the staff were just lovely; especially the tour guides and restaurant and bar staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRSyd51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2010

We spend 4 nights at De Chai during a leisure trip to Chiang Mai. I've made the reservation through a well known booking web site but 3 week before my arrival I contacted the hotel directly to arrange transport. The reply was prompt but after I sent the specific flight details of my arrival there was no response. 2 days before the arrival I contacted the hotel by phone, they seem to know nothing about the transportation arrangement and we had to run the whole process through the phone. Kind and polite staff in the phone though.

On arrival the hotel car was waiting for us and we headed to the hotel. De Chai is a very beautifully designed small hotel, very new and well located close to the main Chiang Mai attractions including the night market and the Sunday market. Both are a 10 minutes walk.

I've had the suite room which is very spacious, well decorated and with a nice bathroom. there are some faults in the room hough. The TV set in the bedroom is not opposite to the bed but to its one side making impossible to watch TV in the bedroom. Probably this arrangement has been chosen because opposite to the bed there is the glass wall of the bathroom. I think though that even with the glass wall the TV could have been placed in a better position. Another fault is that the DVD set is connected to the bedroom TV and not the living room TV. Quite wrong choice especially bearing in mind that the bedroom TV position is not optimal.

Another problem of the bedroom is that there is only one side table and the light control set located only in the one side of the bed.

Bathroom is very nice but there is no hanger to hang the used towels or the bathrobe or another piece of cloth.

In the living room everything is fine but the air con controller is only in the bedroom so no access from the living room.

There was always a slight small of sewage (or similar) in the room; not really terrible but you could notice it the moment you entered the room. After 5 minutes of air con the smell was not detectable.

One big problem was a noise the first night that was coming either from an electricity generator or another thing.

Breakfast is really below the level of the hotel with a few choices but generally good quality.

The pool area is so small and only 2-4 people can be there at the same time.

I was expecting that the suite will have turn down service but it was not the case. One day also we returned at the hotel at about 3pm and the room was not ready.

During check out staff declined in the begging to accept either my debit MasterCard or my AmEx credit card (both of them issued in Thailand) and asking for Visa. I told them that these are the cards that I have and finally they accepted the debit card. In the check out also I was never given a bill statement before hand and even after I paid I had to ask for the bill. The staff was trying to check out 3 rooms at the same time creating a small mess and I think that this is not a good policy and indicates also a bad information system in their computers. Check out today with the modern computer information systems requires just a press of a button! I admit though that the staff doesn't have the appropriate space to work (reception area is very small) and they were trying hard to please customers.

Generally staff was polite, pleasant and was asking if we had a good time but in such small boutique hotel you expect a more personal approach.

Free wi-fi is provided and the speed is very good.

Will I go back again? The design and the location of the hotel are it's main assets but i've found similar designs and location with a much more efficient service in other Chiang Mai hotels. Maybe the hotel need some time to calibrate it's service and I could visit it again provided that there is an improvement in the service.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trip_Datum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Benedicte367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JonasFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Flavia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Avivit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,363 reviews
2.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Chai The Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Chai The Colonial Hotel

Address: 6 / 3 Thapae Road. Soi 4 | Changklan Maung, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £56 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Chai The Colonial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Chiang Mai city on the most popular Thapae Road, the city’s main thoroughfare display many of unique and urban shop that had been flourishing along the classic one-way road. Just ten minutes by walk away is fantastic shopping venues Chaing Mai Night Bazaar as well as charming Sunday walking street, or stroll to antique Lanna Temple and the 100 Years market "Kad Luang", you can find everything you need at here! Furthermore, only a five to ten minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your De Chai The Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing