We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Quality for smoothy.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dada Kafe

Dada Kafe
Ranked #23 of 2,029 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Quality for smoothy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

i love to go there for a smoothy its very good quality and healthy food there. And staff are friendly

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristini L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    859
    288
    84
    40
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not great...go to "Bubbles live" around the corner for great !!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Disappointed by the salad which was a bit "tired" for a place which boasts organic and healthy. Not as fresh as it could have, should have been. Veg drink overpowered by ginger. Its a great spot with extensive menu, and with a bit of loving care could be a whole lot better. Salad greens need to be super fresh! Few doors down better food at the veg place next to the bookstore and excellent veg organic food close by at Bubbles Live. Wow, I ordered an avocado salad and it was super fresh, super tasty and full of delicious veggies. Dont waste time at Dada, go to Bubbles live. One good thing at Dadas are the chocolates though!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NicaraguaYogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Veggie Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Service was faultless. Veggie burgers best I've ever had with freshest side salad. Coffee was good too. Went back again it was so good. You must try if you go to Chiang Mai.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mish0064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Si Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Healthy food in Chiang Mai!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was so thrilled to be introduced to Dada Kafe. When I moved to Thailand, I'd never understood how someone could gain weight, with the abundance of fresh fruits and open markets. What I didn't realize that was, while street food is great for your budget, all the oils and MSG aren't so good for your body.

This cafe is one of my favorite spots to get some of my healthful, vegan-friendly bites and I see recommend it.

Just keep in mind, whenever you eat somewhere with healthy or Western foods, it's going to cost lots more than the average Thai meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent healthy food offerings in a country where healthy choices are rare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

First up, let it be known that I only frequent this place for 3 things:

- their fresh juices (the largest sized and freshest tasting for the 60 baht price tag that I've encountered in Chiang Mai)
- their sandwiches (90-150 baht but this is standard pricing for a Western sandwich in Chiang Mai, and their sandwich offerings are stacked with healthy and fresh vegetables).
- their mixed vegetable dishes with brown rice (90 and 20 baht respectively - again another healthy option with plenty of diverse vegetables and fresh local brown rice).

All of these offerings were excellent, which is why I, as a frequent visitor to Chiang Mai for over 18 months of living, continue to frequent this place when my immune system requires decent sustenance. Thai food is damn tasty, there's no questioning that. But almost all Thai dishes are overloaded with sugar, msg, and built with highly processed rice or noodles as their base. So, while it's easy to over indulge in tasty 30 baht meals, you're hardly meeting daily dietary requirements for fresh vegetable intake.

I've read the negative reviews that slander this place. My response to these is:

1) Price - you are eating Western food in the old city in Chiang Mai. Clearly you don't know anything about Chiang Mai's economy if you think their prices are unreasonable under these conditions.
2) Service - the concept of "customer service" doesn't exist in Thailand. Please accept that. That said, with a Western owner you would expect better service and that's why my review is 4 stars instead of 5. In defense of the service people, many of them appear to be hilltribe people whose Thai and English is not the best and therefore they are likely to be very shy, which can be misinterpreted for impolite.
3) Freshness - anyone ordering canned tuna in Thailand should accept that they are not going to receive something fresh prior to arrival. Do you see an unpolluted ocean anywhere near Chiang Mai, because I don't. Of the 20 odd times I've eaten there I've always received fresh produce and that is why they've continued to receive my business.

Dada Kafe is a true gem in the old city. The old city is a place that is overloaded with overpriced sub standard service offerings to trap unsuspecting tourists who take up occupancy in the area. Finding healthy food offerings that are reasonably priced in a relaxed atmosphere is a true rarity in this area. This is why Dada Kafe for me is an excellent establishment.

My only reservation would be improved service standards. More communication with the customer and improved English literacy across staff members would certainly improve the customer experience. Aside from that, keep up the healthy and delicious menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dada Kafe also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Dada Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing