We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
16
5
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
5
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe hustle and bustlenoypoolaccommodationairportbaht
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Wonderful salt water pool, big enough for leisurely lap swimming, Some smaller pools for children. 200 baht entry, stay as long as you like. Towels for hire, comfortable sun loungers and umbrella,s and friendly staff who come to the pool to offer food and drink. Bliss! We walked the 1.5km from the 7-11 on Huey Kaew Road, clutching a map from Seven Fountains Retreat Centre. Interesting walk through markets selling fresh fruit, vegetables and meat, past a temple, and lots of local life.
My partner enjoyed the set menu for 125 baht, of fried chicken and chips and icecream, while I ate the best tuna, cheese and salad sandwich - my first for the 3 months in Asia. Sometimes you just need that Western food!. Lovely shady restaurant.A big pile of English magazines to browse, plus free books to read.
We went back the next day for more of the same. Great place to stay after a few days in the city, or trekking in the nearby mountains. The garden studios look very attractive.

Room Tip: Check out the garden studios to choose the best one.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeridwynP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Fancied a day by the pool so found this one on Google/Tripadvisor etc. As other reviewers have mentioned no drivers seem to know where it is, in spite of showing them the map from the hotel website. In our experience tuk tuk drivers are never interested in anything more than a few km anyway, and if it requires the slightest bit of effort forget it. Finally found a songtao who dropped us at a hotel 2km away, and we walked the rest. Not the nicest of walks, but we made it, using said directions ( so why couldn't the locals???)
Pool is fantastic, staff manouver sun beds/brollies to your chosen location, and serve you food/drinks there for the rest of your stay. Really quiet relaxing atmosphere.
We decided to leave about 4pm and asked the guy at the counter if he could call us a taxi. About 10 minutes later he came over and said there were no taxis available, and promptly said not to worry, as he was going to town and would take us in his own car. We were quite stunned, and surely enough he shepherded us into the car and dropped us where we asked!!! Bear in mind this was also in the rush hour!! I'd give them 6/5 if I could, it would have been quite easy just to have left us to our own devices, but they really went the extra (several!) miles.
In short; Getting there is a bit challenging, but try and sort out the way back as it's probably a bit unfair to expect a lift from the owners every time : )

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven_Squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

After a busy couple of days around town and lots of walking, we decided we needed some r+r. Quick google search showed us this place, so off we went in a tuk tuk. Would suggest a taxi is better, whilst it isnt far from the town a taxi would hv been a bit quicker.
the driver got lost, and a few reports on here say the same. We took the map from the website with us, and helped to guide the driver.

We arrived and took up the set menu offer which was amazing. Massaman Curry and rice, Ice cream, and a coffee for 125 baht.

Stayed a couple of hours at the lovely pool. Such a quiet place and the pool was huge.
The staff were greatvand called us a taxi when it was time to go.

if you are looking to chill out for a few hours, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajt2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We had the pleasure of spending two days here pool side which was such a great escape from the heat. We caught a cab from our hotel and once close to the location the cab driver had no idea where he was going. Phillip the owner tried to give him instructions but still no joy. Phillip was amazing, he came and picked myself and two friends up and drove us to his place. $200Baht entry is well worth swimming in the large salt water pool open till 7pm. The staff as shown by the owner's actions are all lovely and the service is great. Cold beverages and a reasonably priced menu, plus we checked out the rooms, lovely and private for the price. Next visit to Chiang Mai we will spend a few nights relaxing here. Enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenaHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natator, Owner at Centre of the Universe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Many thanks for your very positive review. I translated into Thai for my staff who all beamed even bigger smiles for a week afterwards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Booked their "Tourist Package" (visit this link for all relevant details: http://www.therealcentreoftheuniverse.com/Temp_membership.php) with a friend of mine, paid 750 baths for the two of us, which includes return transportation to and from your hotel. The pool itself is huge, if not Olympic size than very close to it. It is a salt water pool, which I far prefer over standard chlorinated pools. They have loungers as well as a few sun umbrellas (some of them already past their prime, in spite of the place having been opened only since 2009), the place is quiet (no music, except for the on and off chorus of the cicadas that inhabit the trees around the property) and therefore a perfect refuge for those wanting to get away from the heat and the noise of central Chiang Mai and catch up on their reading.
I do not particularly recommend the restaurant, as the food my friend and I had was uninspiring at best. If you get bland fried rice in Thailand, you're definitely not at a fine establishment! But do not hesitate to visit, if only for their amazing pool.

Room Tip: Cannot say anything about their rooms, as I did not stay there.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natator, Owner at Centre of the Universe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments about the swimming pool. Actually, the pool is approximately half Olympic standard (25 metres x 16 metres x 1-1.6 metres) and we opened in 2006 not 2009.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal. Since you wrote your review we have: (a) changed our cook, (b) extended our menu to include a more comprehensive variety of Thai food, and (c) made it clearer that an array of spices, sauces and chillies is available to enhance the flavour of snacks and meals served.

To others who may read this, please note the link given to the "Tourist Package" mentioned in the review connects to a cached (historical) internet page which is out of date and is no longer valid. I am unable to advise the new link as TripAdvisor's policy prohibits the inclusion of URLs within a management response, but if you are reading this I guess you are internet savvy and know how to access our website...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews