We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool”

Centre of the Universe
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Centre of the Universe
Reviewed 8 April 2013

An amazing pool in a tranquil setting. Can be difficult to find but we'll worth it. The staff are very helpful and pleasant and the whole place has a relaxed vibe. The nearby village is interesting and worth investigating from the market to the wat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alibLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natator, Owner at Centre of the Universe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback which has been shared with all the staff.

We appreciate our location is not the easiest to find on your first visit and recommend all first time visitors to print the map shown on our website with directions in English and Thai, or save the map on their iPad/iPhone to show to a taxi driver.

As an absolute minimum, please make a note of our Thai/ English telephone numbers (given on our website) before flagging down a taxi; if the driver needs help with directions they can call us. They may add the cost of the mobile call to the fare, but the maximum you should pay to get here in a tuk tuk or a red taxi, from the city centre, is 150 Baht for two people (75 Baht per person). Hard bargaining should reduce this to 100 Baht (50 Baht per person).

Alternatively, take a red taxi to Phucome Hotel @ 40 Baht per person from the city center (Thai language: rong-raam-pooh-kam) and phone us when get there.

For a small fee we will come to meet you in our motorcycle and sidecar (maximum 4 passengers in a single trip) and bring you to the pool.

Taxi prices quoted are current as at May 2013 so if are reading this in 2014, or afterwards, expect to pay more!

There is also a link on our website to a slide presentation showing all major landmarks from the city centre to the pool.

In recent weeks, we have also distributed, without charge, 300 A4 laminates to taxi drivers showing photographs of popular tourist destinations with text in English and Thai, which they are now using on a daily basis with their customers to help overcome language barriers. From our point of view, the result is that 300 taxi drivers now know where we are!

We do not want to become so popular that the serenity and quiet ambiance of the pool is lost due to a mass invasion by screaming kids and the raucous behaviour of the uncouth! Our pricing policy has avoided this to date and will continue to do so. We will always be the most expensive pool in Chiang Mai as we wish to retain our exclusivity!

But perhaps we should also retain a certain amount of mystery and a sense of adventure in finding the Centre of the Universe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

We have stayed here on several occasions and will do so again without hesitation. The pool and restaurant facilities are excellent and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Staying here you get the best of both worlds - near enough to the city for the markets and night life, yet set in beautiful, tranquil gardens with a stunning mountain backdrop, ideal for a spot of sunbathing and relaxation. There are plenty of restaurants in the surrounding area and the local village is only a short walk away. Accommodation is very comfortable - the nicely styled bungalows have walk in showers, air conditioning and balcony seating overlooking the gardens. The owner and his staff made our stay very pleasurable with nothing being too much trouble for them - from organising tuk tuks to local markets through to booking day trips up to Doi Suthep and a Thai cookery school for us. If you are looking for accommodation in Chiang Mai with a swimming pool, then I would highly recommend the Centre of the Universe.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Marky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natator, Owner at Centre of the Universe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you very much for your very positive review! Repeat business is very important to us, as is word-of-mouth, and TripAdvisor referrals. Our success is down to the loyalty and customer service orientation of our staff. Our Operations Director, Tae, who joined us one year ago, had previously worked for the 5 star Amari and Shangri La hotel chains in Thailand before accepting his current position. His experience and expertise has made a significant, positive difference to our business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We had a delayed honeymoon at this beautiful resort. It's in a great location, very peaceful and with views of the mountains. The owner and staff are very helpful and offer a good selection of food and drinks - their smoothies are incredible! We plan to visit again as Chiang Mai has a lot to offer and can't wait to relax by the pool at the Centre of the Universe again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tblant99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natator, Owner at Centre of the Universe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Many thanks for your comments!

We always strive to exceed our customer expectations! Whether you here are on your honeymoon, your diamond wedding anniversary, or here to celebrate your centenary (we have the photographs to prove it!!) or you come here for a plain and simple, good old-fashioned R&R break, we will do everything we can to make sure you enjoy the time you spend at the Centre of the Universe is "quality time"!

Our maxim is "less is more" and our pricing policy reflects this. Less screaming kids in the pool = greater pleasure for adults who want to enjoy a relaxed environment where they can swim, chill out, and enjoy a glass of wine and a good read, without the uncontrolled screams and cries of unruly kids!

We expect parents who bring their children here to insist on civilised behaviour: i.e. if their kids scream at 120 decibels for more than 2 minutes we require tparents to leave the swimming pool and take their offspring intoo the car park until they calm down!

We have four boys, the sons of my staff, who are aged between 3 and 6 and who live here on site (as at May 2013) . One disapproving look from me or their parents and they know to calm down if they are playing too noisily. No words or threats are necessary.

We don't adhere to the Victorian principle that children should be seen and not heard. But we all agree there is a world of difference between hearing kids laughing spontaneously, which is infectious, and brings a natural smile to most eyes, and bawling their eyes out for prolonged periods!

Diarrhea is part and parcel of life as Joyce Grenfell famously proclaimed in the 1950's, but like her, I prefer not to be confronted with the photographic/soundbite evidence.

I think the vast majority of our customers will agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The bungalows at this mini resort are spacious in quiet and peaceful garden surroundings. A 50m salt water swimming pool is available to guests free of charge as is a small book and DVD library. Staff will bring your food and drinks to you at the poolside. The owner, Philip, was really helpful and kind. He arranged a fantastic birding tour for us with a local expert and he even dropped us at the airport at 5.30am as he wasn't confident a taxi would be reliable. We had a lovely relaxing stay here. It is a 10 minute taxi ride into the old city and only 5 minutes to Nimmaheiman st which has lots of great restaurants. Highly recommended, particularly if you are after a peaceful location.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewlinda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Wonderful salt water pool, big enough for leisurely lap swimming, Some smaller pools for children. 200 baht entry, stay as long as you like. Towels for hire, comfortable sun loungers and umbrella,s and friendly staff who come to the pool to offer food and drink. Bliss! We walked the 1.5km from the 7-11 on Huey Kaew Road, clutching a map from Seven Fountains Retreat Centre. Interesting walk through markets selling fresh fruit, vegetables and meat, past a temple, and lots of local life.
My partner enjoyed the set menu for 125 baht, of fried chicken and chips and icecream, while I ate the best tuna, cheese and salad sandwich - my first for the 3 months in Asia. Sometimes you just need that Western food!. Lovely shady restaurant.A big pile of English magazines to browse, plus free books to read.
We went back the next day for more of the same. Great place to stay after a few days in the city, or trekking in the nearby mountains. The garden studios look very attractive.

Room Tip: Check out the garden studios to choose the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeridwynP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Fancied a day by the pool so found this one on Google/Tripadvisor etc. As other reviewers have mentioned no drivers seem to know where it is, in spite of showing them the map from the hotel website. In our experience tuk tuk drivers are never interested in anything more than a few km anyway, and if it requires the slightest bit of effort forget it. Finally found a songtao who dropped us at a hotel 2km away, and we walked the rest. Not the nicest of walks, but we made it, using said directions ( so why couldn't the locals???)
Pool is fantastic, staff manouver sun beds/brollies to your chosen location, and serve you food/drinks there for the rest of your stay. Really quiet relaxing atmosphere.
We decided to leave about 4pm and asked the guy at the counter if he could call us a taxi. About 10 minutes later he came over and said there were no taxis available, and promptly said not to worry, as he was going to town and would take us in his own car. We were quite stunned, and surely enough he shepherded us into the car and dropped us where we asked!!! Bear in mind this was also in the rush hour!! I'd give them 6/5 if I could, it would have been quite easy just to have left us to our own devices, but they really went the extra (several!) miles.
In short; Getting there is a bit challenging, but try and sort out the way back as it's probably a bit unfair to expect a lift from the owners every time : )

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven_Squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

After a busy couple of days around town and lots of walking, we decided we needed some r+r. Quick google search showed us this place, so off we went in a tuk tuk. Would suggest a taxi is better, whilst it isnt far from the town a taxi would hv been a bit quicker.
the driver got lost, and a few reports on here say the same. We took the map from the website with us, and helped to guide the driver.

We arrived and took up the set menu offer which was amazing. Massaman Curry and rice, Ice cream, and a coffee for 125 baht.

Stayed a couple of hours at the lovely pool. Such a quiet place and the pool was huge.
The staff were greatvand called us a taxi when it was time to go.

if you are looking to chill out for a few hours, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajt2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.8 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
1.8 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 394 in Chiang Mai
687 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,153 reviews
4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,088 reviews
3.6 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#172 of 394 in Chiang Mai
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre of the Universe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre of the Universe

Address: 208 / 9 - 10, Moo 1 | Chang Khian, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 940 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing