We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
16
5
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
5
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city bungalow pool accommodation baht airport tours
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We have stayed here on several occasions and will do so again without hesitation. The pool and restaurant facilities are excellent and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Staying here you get the best of both worlds - near enough to the city for the markets and night life, yet set in beautiful, tranquil gardens with a stunning mountain backdrop, ideal for a spot of sunbathing and relaxation. There are plenty of restaurants in the surrounding area and the local village is only a short walk away. Accommodation is very comfortable - the nicely styled bungalows have walk in showers, air conditioning and balcony seating overlooking the gardens. The owner and his staff made our stay very pleasurable with nothing being too much trouble for them - from organising tuk tuks to local markets through to booking day trips up to Doi Suthep and a Thai cookery school for us. If you are looking for accommodation in Chiang Mai with a swimming pool, then I would highly recommend the Centre of the Universe.

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Marky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natator, Owner at Centre of the Universe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you very much for your very positive review! Repeat business is very important to us, as is word-of-mouth, and TripAdvisor referrals. Our success is down to the loyalty and customer service orientation of our staff. Our Operations Director, Tae, who joined us one year ago, had previously worked for the 5 star Amari and Shangri La hotel chains in Thailand before accepting his current position. His experience and expertise has made a significant, positive difference to our business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We had a delayed honeymoon at this beautiful resort. It's in a great location, very peaceful and with views of the mountains. The owner and staff are very helpful and offer a good selection of food and drinks - their smoothies are incredible! We plan to visit again as Chiang Mai has a lot to offer and can't wait to relax by the pool at the Centre of the Universe again.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tblant99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natator, Owner at Centre of the Universe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Many thanks for your comments!

We always strive to exceed our customer expectations! Whether you here are on your honeymoon, your diamond wedding anniversary, or here to celebrate your centenary (we have the photographs to prove it!!) or you come here for a plain and simple, good old-fashioned R&R break, we will do everything we can to make sure you enjoy the time you spend at the Centre of the Universe is "quality time"!

Our maxim is "less is more" and our pricing policy reflects this. Less screaming kids in the pool = greater pleasure for adults who want to enjoy a relaxed environment where they can swim, chill out, and enjoy a glass of wine and a good read, without the uncontrolled screams and cries of unruly kids!

We expect parents who bring their children here to insist on civilised behaviour: i.e. if their kids scream at 120 decibels for more than 2 minutes we require tparents to leave the swimming pool and take their offspring intoo the car park until they calm down!

We have four boys, the sons of my staff, who are aged between 3 and 6 and who live here on site (as at May 2013) . One disapproving look from me or their parents and they know to calm down if they are playing too noisily. No words or threats are necessary.

We don't adhere to the Victorian principle that children should be seen and not heard. But we all agree there is a world of difference between hearing kids laughing spontaneously, which is infectious, and brings a natural smile to most eyes, and bawling their eyes out for prolonged periods!

Diarrhea is part and parcel of life as Joyce Grenfell famously proclaimed in the 1950's, but like her, I prefer not to be confronted with the photographic/soundbite evidence.

I think the vast majority of our customers will agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The bungalows at this mini resort are spacious in quiet and peaceful garden surroundings. A 50m salt water swimming pool is available to guests free of charge as is a small book and DVD library. Staff will bring your food and drinks to you at the poolside. The owner, Philip, was really helpful and kind. He arranged a fantastic birding tour for us with a local expert and he even dropped us at the airport at 5.30am as he wasn't confident a taxi would be reliable. We had a lovely relaxing stay here. It is a 10 minute taxi ride into the old city and only 5 minutes to Nimmaheiman st which has lots of great restaurants. Highly recommended, particularly if you are after a peaceful location.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewlinda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Wonderful salt water pool, big enough for leisurely lap swimming, Some smaller pools for children. 200 baht entry, stay as long as you like. Towels for hire, comfortable sun loungers and umbrella,s and friendly staff who come to the pool to offer food and drink. Bliss! We walked the 1.5km from the 7-11 on Huey Kaew Road, clutching a map from Seven Fountains Retreat Centre. Interesting walk through markets selling fresh fruit, vegetables and meat, past a temple, and lots of local life.
My partner enjoyed the set menu for 125 baht, of fried chicken and chips and icecream, while I ate the best tuna, cheese and salad sandwich - my first for the 3 months in Asia. Sometimes you just need that Western food!. Lovely shady restaurant.A big pile of English magazines to browse, plus free books to read.
We went back the next day for more of the same. Great place to stay after a few days in the city, or trekking in the nearby mountains. The garden studios look very attractive.

Room tip: Check out the garden studios to choose the best one.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeridwynP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Fancied a day by the pool so found this one on Google/Tripadvisor etc. As other reviewers have mentioned no drivers seem to know where it is, in spite of showing them the map from the hotel website. In our experience tuk tuk drivers are never interested in anything more than a few km anyway, and if it requires the slightest bit of effort forget it. Finally found a songtao who dropped us at a hotel 2km away, and we walked the rest. Not the nicest of walks, but we made it, using said directions ( so why couldn't the locals???)
Pool is fantastic, staff manouver sun beds/brollies to your chosen location, and serve you food/drinks there for the rest of your stay. Really quiet relaxing atmosphere.
We decided to leave about 4pm and asked the guy at the counter if he could call us a taxi. About 10 minutes later he came over and said there were no taxis available, and promptly said not to worry, as he was going to town and would take us in his own car. We were quite stunned, and surely enough he shepherded us into the car and dropped us where we asked!!! Bear in mind this was also in the rush hour!! I'd give them 6/5 if I could, it would have been quite easy just to have left us to our own devices, but they really went the extra (several!) miles.
In short; Getting there is a bit challenging, but try and sort out the way back as it's probably a bit unfair to expect a lift from the owners every time : )

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven_Squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews