We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
16
5
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
5
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe hustle and bustlenoypoolaccommodationairportbaht
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Centre of the Universe is a very special place for me. I used to live in Chiang Mai around 2006-2008 and farewell of a very special colleague of ours was held here, back then.

I did not know swimming till very recently - till I got a chance to be in Thailand for 3 months again, in April-July 2015, and was scouting the internet looking for a pool in Chiang Mai with a teacher. That is how I reconnected with this very special place run by a great person, Philip.

I cycled there (that's another resolution this year onwards), and needed a bit of directions to reach here after almost 8 years.

The swimming coach/ teacher, is an absolute professional and a veteran in her expertise with over 30 years of experience in swimming and related fields such as hydrotherapy etc. Noy (Sulibhorn Cheewapanich) was such a patient yet focussed teacher, and her personally developed modules for a student was so good. I value her teaching even many times more when I swim around in other pools now and notice how few others swim. I am no 'great' swimmer myself, but learning - but what Noy used to teach was the right technique. She is amazing.

The washrooms, change rooms, all are clean and professional. The pool is salt water pool and very clean. One of the globally accepted norms is if I can see the other end of the pool (via glasses) then pool is clean and it is! Try it to believe it!

Another inspiring sight were few senior citizens who frequent this pool later in the day and are so comfortable here.

Best of all are the pool rules - these rules ensure that every swimmer has a great lovely experience in the pool. Thank you Philip. Restaurant is amazing friends, do try!

All the best Centre Of The Universe and see you soon again!

Room Tip: It is close to Nimanhamin area, 10 min cycle ride!
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bobbyramakant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natator, Owner at Centre of the Universe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Many thanks for your very positive review. This has been shared will the resort staff and or swim instructor; it makes a big difference to staff when customers and guests acknowledge their hard work and effort. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Chiang Mai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015

It used to be a very nice place but when i was here this time, the pool was very dirty. The staff didn't care and the owner like always standing at his computer being not interested at all. There is much nicer places to go to...

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank elevationss J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natator, Owner at Centre of the Universe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our service. However we have no record of a Daniel J staying with us at our resort on the date in question, and no record of a person signing in with that name as a temporary member of the swimming pool.

As a general comment, if you have a problem with a service provider may I suggest you ask to speak to the manager on duty at the time to explain your dissatisfaction rather than gripe on social forums?

In what way(s) did you find the pool unclean? Perhaps you could be more specific so we can address your complaint. The water quality of the pool meets all international standards, as verified by Chiang Mai University Faculty of Science, which takes samples of our water and performs extensive laboratory tests each quarter.

We take every precaution, at considerable expense, to guard against cloudy water in the pool.

If you are a dedicated swimmer, you will have noted you can dive under water and see from one end to the other for the entire length of the pool.

So what exactly was/is your problem?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed 11 nights at COTU and were very pleased with the experience. It proved to be a handy gateway to the national parks, interesting nearby sights and of course, the wonderful, fast-paced city of Chiang Mai. Our cottage, one of three, while not 21st century stylish, was comfortable and had everything needed for a long or short stay. The staff was quietly and pleasantly efficient. The salt-water pool was fantastic...the largest in the city and a drawing card for excellent swimmers. Breakfast was good and hearty with lots of variety and was quickly served, whether at 6:30 or 10am. Because we were out and about during lunch and dinner hours, I can't speak about those meals but the menu here is very extensive and looks delicious.
The Centre is a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and yet, have it at your doorstep. Security is assured, in the room and on the grounds. There is parking for those who bring a car. A big thank you to Philip, the owner, for his emails, recommendations, humour and his many kindnesses, both before we arrived and during our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ixil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natadorcnx, General Manager at Centre of the Universe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for the 4 stars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is a wonderful place away from the madness that can be Chiang Mia.
Its clean, friendly and comfortable.
The swimming pool and garden is a wonderful relaxing place to spend your time.
My only gripe would be that the food was below what you would expect from a place of this standard.
Yes the prices are reasonable but so is street food which is far tastier.
All in all a great place though.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart1975c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Centre of the Universe is a wonderfully relaxing place to stay away from the madding crowds but easy to get to the tourist attractions. It was a great place to wind down after travelling for 5 weeks. Philip is very friendly and helpful and arranged many excursions for us including a very productive birding day with Uthai. All staff members are efficient, courteous and friendly. We had 7 very enjoyable days staying at the Centre of the Universe and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natadorcnx, General Manager at Centre of the Universe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for the 5 stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews