We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cool Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cool Guesthouse
Ranked #84 of 717 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bordeaux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful stay”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We had a very nice stay at Cool Guest House.
As soon we pushed the wooden garden's door, it took us into a charming tropical patio with orchids & palms trees, potteries displayed, goldfish fountains and 2 adorable green lovebirds. Very exotic ambiance.
The rooms were lightly decorated in an authentic warm Lanna Thaï style, providing all the details we were expected for as a big bed, warm water, a flat screen TV, fan, air-conditioned, safety box,free daily bottles of water, shower gel & shampoo dispenser, a hair dryer and also an aromatherapy lamp : we felt comfortable like at home !
We also were sensitive at their clever "green policies" like energy saving light bulbs using, towels cleaning on demand, key cards.
We stayed 6 days at Cool Guest House, well located in the historic center, enjoying the bicycle which were provided for free ! and also had fun by using the nice red tandem ! Thanks for the advice guys ! Their travel agency was helpful to arrange the rest of trips.
A super friendly staff served us for breakfast home made yogurts and locals fresh fruits juice with fresh baked bread even if we woke up a bit late sometimes...
We had a genuine crush for Cool Guest House and i understand better why it's a recommended frenchie place to stay : we will definitely come back guys !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingridandjarod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    75
    25
    16
    4
See reviews for
30
100
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I was in Chiang Mai once for 3 days only and decided that one day I would come back for a longer period. So in December 2011 I came back for 12 nights. As I travel a lot I usually stay in hotels or guesthouses and for this trip to Chiang Mai I decided to try some of well recomended guesthouses. That's how I came across the CGH website which turned out to be a big disapointment for me.

But let's start from the beginning. Let's start with my arrival. After a long three flights to get to Chiang Mai I was pleased to know that someone from the CGH would be awaiting me at the airport to pick me up. Yep, there was someone waiting for me but what a shock I had when it turned out to be a tuk tuk driver. I was very tired and never expected that a pick up transport would be a tuk tuk but I said to myself, well, never mind, don't let this spoil a beginning of your holidays. Just like I said, I was tired and all what I wanted was just sleep in a bed after 36 hrs of travelling.

A young Thai man checked me in for 12 nights. I was asked how would I like to pay and I said that by cash, upfront for 12 nights (and I regret that very next day!). I asked about a free bicycle rental as it was one of main reasons, why did I choose this guesthouse for my staying. The other reason was location - I volunteered in Viengping Children's Home and from this guesthouse it was only about 10 mins walk to Chang Phuak station for Mae Rim (yellow songthaew) where the orphanage is located and last reason was that this guesthouse has a travel agency as well. I was told that bicycles are free of charge for guests of the CGH. It turned out to be a lie, you have to pay deposit of 2,000 bath each time you want to use it, and also you have to fill out form that you take responsibility for damage/loss or if a bicycle is stolen. I would not mind to fill it out the forms but what I minded is that after making a photocopy of your passport and taking your credit card details by the CGH, you still must pay deposit for use of a bicycle that supposes to be free of charge.

I got room number 2, about 10 meters away from always busy and noisy main road and just few yards away from the Chang Phuak (North) Gate. My room seemed nice, there was an old TV (remote never worked), a small air conditioner fixed to a wall, an old and noisy but working air conditioner beside a bathroom. Everything seemed to be in order. I was not bothered with TV, though that a selection of a cable TV was very poor. There was no news channel which I always listen when I wake up. Also there was no kettle for making a nice cup of tea in the evenings or early mornings when you wake up. A small thing that is a must for me.

First night I did not get too much sleep as a small garden between a bar/restaurant and rooms was busy and noisy.This small garden is used as a living room for the owners and visitors as a smoking area. Nearly every night I was awaken by night staff making noise in their room - it was like moving furniture, I do not understand why it had to be done nearly every night around midnight and five o'clock in the morning. Speaking about five in the morning. There are three bird cages in a small garden, the birds start singing every day after five six in the morning, around same time a traffic starts on a road in front of a guest house.

First four nights I was bitten by mosquitoes during the night, though I used a mosquitoes spray. Fifth night I decided to buy a mosquitoes spray, so from now on each night before going to bed I sprayed the room and left for a walk for about 20 mins before going back to sleep. The reason? Look at the pictures... windows could not be closed properly, and there were big holes between the door and walls through which mosquitoes were coming in. The sixth night an old air conditioner started leaking water in the middle of the night. It was fixed on eight day of my staying.

At that stage I really was sorry that I had paid in advance, there was no refund and I did not fancy to pay extra for a new accommodation somewhere else.

Regarding to a drinking water, you were allowed two half litters bottles of water. I had to buy more water not only for drinking but for brushing teeth every day as well.

Also I didn't not expected my room being cleaned every day, but I did expect having at least towels changed every day or second day and bins taken away. From my 12 nights staying twice my room wasn't cleaned and was left with towels for two days and without water.

After so many bad experiences I didn't bother to book anything via their travel agency. I was quite unhappy over there. I used a travel agency in city centre for my trips around and also for a transport to the airport on my departure day.

Regarding to distances to attractions such as Night Bazaar is about 35 mins walk, Saturday Market about 30 mins walk, Sunday Market is about 20 mins walk away.

While I was staying over there I noticed that visitors stay maximum two three nights. I suppose if I had stayed for same period I wouldn't be so bothered but I stayed longer and I was bothered though it was firstly my stupidity that I paid in advance. Well, lesson learnt.

Would I recommend this place? Well, for a short stay, a night or two maybe, for longer stay, definitely not.

Room Tip: Rooms are too close to a main busy road beside the Chang Phuak Gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnaKurcinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolguesthouse, Owner at Cool Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Your review is full of inexactitudes and exaggeration:
Why you stay 12 nights if you don't like our guesthouse? You never come to talk to us during your stay, we are here everyday 12 hours at our office. And contrary at what you say: we can refund you at any time and help you to find another place. We will never refuse a refund because a guest doesn't like our guesthouse.
Bicycles are FREE, a one time security deposit of 1000 Thb by bicylce (not 2000 as you wrote) is asked to cover loss or breakage if needed. Security deposit is gived back after final use. Guest can keep bicycle even after check out until they go the airport or transportation station. We don't have credit card details of our guest even when they book by our website because we use paypal. The one who have details are the others booking company not us.

We are helping an orphanage also by entertaining orphans on Sunday too. Give a Children's Home a Great Day Out at Baan Praporn’ (House of Blessing).

In Thailand there is a lot of Tuk Tuk, it's a symbol of Thailand do you know it? And yes usually our guest are very happy to be picked up by a traditional Tuk Tuk. Are you not in holiday to relax and get something exotic and typical?

All our rooms have now 32 inches Sony flat TV with over 60 channels and Internet on TV with skype. Guest can access to all internet for free.

All our rooms have been fully redecorate and have double windows so now from the street which one is 20 meters far you don't hear nothing if you close correctly the two windows.

Yes the patio is fully available for guest until 10 to 11 pm and as our room are not smoking we welcome them to do it in the garden patio or at the breakfast area outside guesthouse area if it's later.

As you said one night they was noise, it s not our staff, it happened that a 50 years old French couple have a long dispute. It have been the first and only time we got this problem, my wife went out at 5 am to propose them for free a second room to separate them and ask them to remain quiet and respect guest. This is also our daily life: full commitment with guests and working everyday over 12 hours a day, this is what we need to do when we have a guesthouse and we are proudly doing it. Sometimes when we saw reviews of some guests we are thinking that we are almost devil and here for nothing. It's far to be like that. We apologize for this.

It happened that your aircon have a dripping problem, this problem can happen by condensation in tropical country, even it happened to me with brand new aircon. Again my wife went personally to wipe your room at 11pm and bring a technician to inspect it the next day around 10 am. We apologize for this too.

For the water we give for free every day a bottle of half liter of water to each guest, however we never refuse a third or more bottle if needed and simply asked. Again why you don't come to talk to us? We are here to listen and please our guest.

Regarding mosquitoes yes we have as every where In Thailand and we provide: natural spray and free use of our lamp diffuser.

We see you shoot a small Gecko in your bathroom, we are lucky to have them as they eat mosquitoes and doesn't bite people.

We are offering daily cleaning and change towels when you drop them at the floor, it's writing inside your closet as the others instructions. We sign with the Green hotel treaty that we try as much as we can to save the planet and don't wash towels when not needed. It's up to you to decided when you want us to wash it. Cleaning of the room can be done when staff is working 8am to 5pm, if you stay in your room all day long it's not possible, we will not disturb you.

Bottle of water are provided every day for free.

For the taxi, I suggest to all guest to take it in the street it s cheaper and we can speak in Thai where the guest want to go, we also ask the price before. Our guesthouse to airport is 60 Thb (1.5 euro or 2 usd) and Red taxi are happy to do it, it 's also a contribution to the small local business.

Respect to the location of our guesthouse we are in the perfect diagonal (X) center of Chiang Mai city when you see a map and at the north of the old city inside the moat.

Chiang Mai is the second or third city of Thailand, that mean: it's big! expect walking a bit in the no saturated and obstructed city compare to Bangkok where I was living 11 years. I love Chiang Mai because you can bike (i have an electric bicycle to not pollute).

We recommend our guest to go to Chinese Market instead of Night bazaar (far less touristic and much cheaper) and to not miss Sunday walking street just behind our guest house a 10 minutes walk using our free map we design specially for all guest staying with us. At Sunday walking street you can find handicraft really from Chiang Mai (OTOP certified).

We love help and give advise to our guest: again why did you not come to talk to us?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We had a nice stay at the Cool Guesthouse. We weren't exactly sure what to expect, but the large bed, with the relatively large room, A/C, and hot water made the stay enjoyable. The two bottle of free water each day helped too!! Especially when the days are hot, and the tap water is not potable!
The staff was super friendly, and very helpful. Nikki, who seems to run the associated travel agency (Cool Asia Travel) was great, and arranged not only our trips in Chiang Mai, but also those in other parts of Thailand. Though the breakfast menu was minimal and simple, what they did, they did well. (Just don't expect to have anything local to eat.) But it certainly was great to step out of the room and know you would have an almost entirely private meal (esp if you're up early!), served quickly with a smile on their face.
I have nothing bad to say about the Cool Guesthouse, though for anyone who wants to be in the center of things, this is a few blocks away from most of the interesting activities and is on one of the major roads. However, it is still walkable to pretty much everywhere, and is directly across the river from a bunch of delicious street food.
**Added bonus - if you go over Loy Krathong (in Nov), they wil help you make your own krathong to launch in the river!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sant Boi de Llobregat, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

the coolguesthouse is one of my favorites places to stay n chiang mai...perfect

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xaarsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We had a very good stay in Cool Guest house because of the very kind staff and because of the very confortable and clean rooms. The breakfast is not included but is possible to have it directly in the court of the hotel. In the hotel there also is a travel agency that can help to organize the trips around the city. In my opinion the only negative thing is that the hotel is rather far from the night market, around 30 minutes by walk. Anyway I recomend it!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Great location, Great service. We stayed here for 3 nights. There's a lot to do in chiang Mai and the owners gave us great advice on what to do on such a short timeframe. The rooms reflected the price and were clean. If you are looking for a cozy and cheap b&b this is a great place.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alejandro2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I got to Chiang Mai tired and cranky, but when I arrived to the guest house it all melted away. Guita was fantastic at organizing everything I needed, the room was spacious and adequate. Good internet access in the room. Breakfast was quaint, and overall the stay was very enjoyable. Would love to go back to Chiang Mai and would not doubt to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColCrewChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
All in 1 Guesthouse
All in 1 Guesthouse
#12 of 717 in Chiang Mai
740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#17 of 717 in Chiang Mai
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siriwan Guesthouse
Siriwan Guesthouse
#53 of 717 in Chiang Mai
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Swiss-Lanna Lodge
Swiss-Lanna Lodge
#11 of 717 in Chiang Mai
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#47 of 717 in Chiang Mai
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#2 of 806 in Chiang Mai
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cool Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cool Guesthouse

Property: Cool Guesthouse
Address: 87 Sri Poom Rd - Sri Phum Changphuak Gate | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 717 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool Guesthouse is located in the exact middle of Chiang Mai, inside the moat of the old city at Chang pueak gate a 15 minutes drive from the airport, train or bus station. 10 minutes walking from Sunday Walking street, few minutes walking from the main temples. Recently re-decorated and improved (sound proofed double windows), we offer 7 rooms all nicely decorated with both air con and fan, 32 inches LCD TV with internet, webcam and skype build in, 60 international channel. Hot water, safe box, hair dryer, daily free bottle drinking water, daily cleaning, laundry service. Breakfast in a French style. Free bicycle and tandem use. Nathalie and Xavier will welcome you and advise for all your trip and transportation around Chiang Mai and Thailand. We are speaking English, French, Spanish and Thai. We are also recommended by "Le guide du routard 2012&2013" as "a coup de coeur". Our team and us will be happy to welcome and serve you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cool Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing