We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Ranked #78 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

This is a great place to stay. The staff are fantastic and friendly. Their English is ok but if you begrudge the staff not having perfect English in Thailand then you might prefer to have your fish and chips served elsewhere.

I stayed at the Bodhi Serene next door to Kodchasri for a couple of days also and would say they are very similar but I thought the rooms at Kod were brighter and bigger.

I would highly recommend staying here if your budget is around 3k to 4k

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwi1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    91
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
56
141
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We booked what was described as a superior room but when we arrived we had rooms 2202 and 2203 outside the hotel. Our outside corridor was open to the very busy street which resulted in a lot of noise at night. There must have been a disco/nightbar somewhere in the neighbourhood because the beat and the music would keep us awake till 3am. We asked for another room, but where told (with a smile) this was not possible.
Our showerdoor did not close properly which resulted in a flooded bathroom every time someone took a shower. We reported this to the reception and (with a smile) were told that they would solve the problem, but nothing happened.
When we left the hotel we unfortunately forgot some items in our room. We have been trying to contact the hotel ever since to see if there was an opportunity to get them back. The hotel has not ever returned a call or answered back on our 3 emails we sent.

Room Tip: avoid 2202 and 2203 as they are corridored outside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NibblesOnMyMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

My husband and I are wrapping up a brief 5 day stay in Chiang Mai today. We have nothing but the highest praise for the Kodchasri, particularly the wonderful staff. Being greeted with a smile every day goes a long way. Everybody from the restaurant staff to the front desk and maid service did everything they could to make our stay the most enjoyable we have ever had while on holiday. Nightly tea, fresh fruit replenished daily, and helpful tips and directions were some extra touches we especially enjoyed. Additionally, the facilities and our room were spotless. Many thanks to all.

The hotel has a good location in a quieter part of the old city. Somewhat removed from the night bazaar area but within easy walking distance. Nearby We's restaurant was phenomenal as well.

Cannot wait to return to Chiang Mai and the Kodchasri!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sampina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I booked to stay at Kodchasri after having to cancel a holiday to Bangkok re: flood situation, and found good reviews on trip advisor for this hotel. We were definitely not disappointed and could easily say that this is the best hotels I have stayed in - and I've travelled quite extensively. We were greeted on arrival at the airport by two lovely staff from the hotel and taken to the hotel in a Mercedes van for a small 300 Baht fee (about$10 AUD). On arrival, we were impressed with the tasteful decor in the lobby - beautiful carved wooden doors and embellished white walls. We were given a cold welcome drink and taken to our room, which was at the front of the hotel. We had a twin room which was quite large, especially as we were staying a week. A balcony out the front of the room is shared by the other rooms, and overlooks the street. We were very happy with this location, as we spent some afternoons sitting outside watching people and tuks tuks go by. Large french style windows also opened up in the room, so that we had a view over the pool.

I really can't fault anything with this hotel at all. The room was immaculately presented, very clean, decorated well and with good quality furnishings. This was true also for the rest of the hotel facilities - the dining area was also well presented and the poolside was stunning. If you walk past the pool to the rear accommodation, the large lounge area is the prefect place to sit and have a cocktail and read a book.

The daily breakfast included in our package was also lovely - fresh fruit, western style food (bacon, pancakes etc) and also noodles, rice and stir fry vegies. Eggs were made to order by the chef out in the courtyard area by the poolside. We also ate dinner and lunch during our stay, and were very satisfied with the food - food always tasted so fresh and was presented beautifully each time. Nice cocktails too - it was always such a pleasure to come back to the hotel and have a cocktail by the pool before heading out again at night.

The little touches made a huge difference - fresh fruit each day, hot tea and pastry every evening delivered to your room (and out of our 7 nights, not once did we have the same type of tea!), bottled water delivered each night and free wifi. We also stayed during the Loy Krathong festival, and the hotel gave us each a Krathong (float decorated with flowers) to place in the Mae Ping river for the festival. We were also given paper lanterns, and the staff helped us light the lanterns and release them into the sky as part of the same festival.

The staff were truly the best part about this hotel. I completely disagree and find it very unfair of Wolf1050's review to say that the staff had limited english requiring "patience". We found the staff more than willing to help, extremely courteous and knowledgable of tours/places we wanted to visit, and very much went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

I can't speak highly enough about this place, and if I do go back to Chiang Mai - I won't be staying anywhere else!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel have a balcony which overlooks the street - rooms at the rear have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank meg_burn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Good place in the center, very nice big room (we were upgraded), nice pool, every day fresh fruits in the room, every evening flavoured tea and water, excellent breakfast, friendly staff, balcony maybe missing but you can sit in the garden, WLAN available in the room, would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petra Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europe
Level Contributor
139 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Started a culture-vulture tour of the north-west of Thailand organized by siamsun.com. I spent the night before the tour started in the Kodchasri Thani in Chiang Mai.
Two years before we had stayed at the Bodhi Serene, just a couple of yards away from the Kodchasri Thani, the latter which was offered to us this year by our tour operator, for a change, he said.
When entering the hotel you find yourself in the lobby that has the charm of a railway-station.
Language proficiency of the staff in English is kind of limited, to get messages across requires patience and endurance as well as body language.
The courtyard with some landscaped space, a very small pool, with hardly any place for deckchairs, a gym, though quite small, all in some neat, ‘compact’ environment leave a more positive impression.
Breakfast served in a very small restaurant, buffet style, with ‘warm’ food presented being cold, as the burners didn’t work, with tables also provided in the small courtyard. It seems that when there are more guests who want to have breakfast that place gets crowded quite quickly, the same is true for the pool.
My room was nice and clean, not too spacious though, with the rooms at the Bodhi Serene having been a bit more spacious.
There’s also a nice lounge in the hotel, with sofas and chairs, to relax at.
In the evening I was served tea and cookies at my room. The internet worked and was free.
For noise-sensitive guests, bring along your ear-plugs – there is no sound isolation, concrete meets concrete, and when guests in a room move a chair, that may be heard all over the place.
Ok for a night, wouldn’t want to spend a ‘holiday’ in the hotel, as it might get quite crowded with more guests having checked in and using the amenities of the place. If I had the choice between the Bodhi Serene (see my review of the hotel) and the Kodchasri Thani, I’d take the Bodhi Serene again, hoping the toads in the spacious courtyard wouldn’t be too loud at night.
Many places of interest in Chiang Mai may be accessed easily from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wolf1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This was the best hotel we stayed in at chaing mai.The staff were lovely and helpful.There was loads of little touches that made our stay ,for instance every evening we got different flavoured tea and nibbles brought to our room and two more bottles of water.The breakfast was very good and fresh especially the eggs cooked to your chioce by a very nice chef(you get this at most hotels in thailand but not always as well cooked).The reception staff tried very hard to get everything you requested.We loved this place,it was central,clean and large bedroom with very comfy bed.

Room Tip: deluxe great value with breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotlass123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#34 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thai Akara - Lanna Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Viangluang Resort
Viangluang Resort
#101 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#43 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#96 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai

Property: Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Address: 54 / 3 Rajabhakinai Road | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing