We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Ranked #76 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Boutique at its best”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We spent 7 nights July 2012 at this charming boutique hotel in the Old City in Chaing Mai. Firstly the location is perfect - just 10 mins from the airport and situated within walking distance of everything you could possibly want to do. We walked to the Night Bazaar, Saturday Night Market and Sunday walking street market (all of which are in quite separate areas). It is also close to one of the Old City gates and there is a locals market with every type of food and some clothes etc which were all very cheap.
We used the bikes that the hotel provides for free to ride to the Jade factory, Silk factory and Silver factory as well as riding to Mae Rim, Wororot market and along the river.
I am told that Kodchasri means a fabulous animal having a lion's head with an elephant's trunk. While no lions or elephants were to be seen there are 3 resident cats who can sometimes be seen playing in the lovely gardens around the fabulous pool area. The cats are not a problem and are quite aloof and do not disturb you. Pool area is small but lovely and always a delight to sit around. It is possible to do laps in the pool. Pool is also very well maintained.
The owner is a collector of antiques and has her own antique museum on the property and guests are able to wander this small personal museum as well as view many antiques that are around the hotel or furnishing the rooms.
Breakfast was great and while not a 5 star buffet, I thought it was actually better as you do get the sense of same same with the big buffets. This hotel offered Asian and Western alternatives and some special treats as well. The hotel makes their own yoghurt and also has a small bakery so the bread and pastries are all made at the bakery and are wonderful. This same bakery which is attached to the side of the hotel also sells treats from a tray outside the shop in the afternoon. You never know what might be for sale - always delicious - and always super priced. We took advantage of this special treat opportunity.
At night the staff come to your room and give you a different special tea each night which I thought was great. The teas are very different and so we looked forward to each new tea. Along side the tea there was always a little yummy treat from the bakery as well. While on the subject of food, a fruit platter was replenished daily and 4 bottles of complimentary water supplied.
Excellent, fast, WiFi in the room and around the pool made staying in touch a dream.
Many good restaurants just outside the front door of the hotel but they also have a nice restaurant on site which while more expensive than the local restaurants, is also worth the extra.
Staff at the hotel couldn't do enough for you and their customer service was top class and this just adds to the wonderful experience.
Laundry places just outside the door for 30 baht a kilo and massage places within steps.
After spending a week at this hotel we had really settled in and we were disappointed to have to leave but know we will be back.

Room Tip: There is a noisy bar nearby that goes thump thump till about 3.30am so make sure you ask for a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Belle077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    91
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
56
141
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Beautiful small hotel in the heart of Chiang Mai old city. Easy walk to Sunday walking street, not to be missed. About 20 mins walk to night bazaar. The staff at this hotel are the best I have ever encountered, nothing is too much trouble for them. I don't know whether I would stay in Chiang Mai again but if I did it would certainly be at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnCentralCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We are very please of this hotel
We are a family of 5 and we find it very well style and comfortable for our need

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Havivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Although it's not a cheap hotel, it provides world class service. You can see the hotel owner made a lot of effort to decorate the hotel. The setting is very considerate. Location is wonderful. It's close to the old city gate and night market. Bicycles provided by the hotel is useful when exploring the old city. Swimming pool is stunning though we didn't try it out. Gym is new though we found cycling around the old city enough exercise. The only possible thing for it to improve is it's breakfast. It will be good to have a softer mattress as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GavinJin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

i have stayed there during my honeymoon trip . every thing was perfect , the rooms decoration and style , the swimming pool , the breakfast .
i have 1 complain about the cleanness of the restaurant there was too many ant on the dining tables.
else than that every thing was perfect

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I am a frequent visitor to Chiangmai prefering to stay within the walls of the old city. I thought I had some ideas about most hotels. We're glad we checked this one out and what a wonderful surprise we found.

Unfortunately it was the last day of our stay in CM so only one night for us in this paradise.

It is an oasis. The pool is so inviting that we went out to buy our swimming costumes for it. The courtyard, garden and lounge are very nice. Our room doors and windows are wood carved, now you don't see this very often.

We will return with our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soinoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston Tasmania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is truly a beautiful hotel and a wonderfully serene and quiet oasis in bustling Chiang Mai. The pool, common areas, rooms and grounds have been beautifully designed and decorated and it is a sheer delight to return to after hot days walking, elephant riding and otherwise enjoying Chiang Mai and its surrounds. The staff are very amiable and helpful. As with most hotels, meals, drinks and laundry in house are (relatively) expensive. But you need only step out of the lobby into the street to have a wonderful choice of bars, cafes, small restaurants, tour shops and laundries in both directions. Mr Clean laundry to the right was very efficient and cheap. The Log House Boutique further down the street is a great place for a cocktail (AUD 3!) or beer and the food is also very good. The staff are also really friendly and helpful (and Annabel will organise tours and flights from her desk right in the restaurant! If you are looking for a driver ask for Tom - a lady! - who took us out to the Tiger Kingdom and then happily and safely trucked us around for a few hours to other touristy things for a very modest fee). In the other direction you will find a cocktail cart out at night (great fun), a reggae bar (see Missy from Canada for a great Mojito) and the morning markets for some great eats (hot spicy sausage and pastries with green Thai custard - yummo!) There are quite a few wats in the broader neighbourhood as well, The precinct teams with backpackers and younger tourists and is lively and friendly but not overly noisy or chaotic. This was by far the nicest hotel we stayed in during our 3 weeks in Thailand and we would absolutely come back.

Room Tip: Any room facing the pool would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mehrtsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thai Akara - Lanna Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Viangluang Resort
Viangluang Resort
#108 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#43 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#99 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai

Property: Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Address: 54 / 3 Rajabhakinai Road | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing