We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Ranked #82 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We chose this hotel for 2 nights stay in January, and booked 2 rooms for myself and my family.
The first night, the hot shower was not available in one of our rooms, and asked to fix. It was pretty late at night, but engineering came and tried to fix. It took for more than 30 minutes, but they failed to fix it. Moreover, the floor of shower room was covered with water. They did not fix the shower, or they did not wipe the floor. We asked for another room to stay, but front desk said there was not available room. Later on, the other room also had the same shower problem. NO HOT WATER!!

I wanted to talk with front desk manager or duty manager on this day, but staff says "since it was weekend, manager is not in hotel".

The second day, I asked for free of charge upgrade to another room category. The hotel gave us one room. We were happy about that, however, this room was not good enough. There was a coffee machine and tea selection in this room. BUT the suger pot was full of ants. It was very disgusting.

I paid more than 700USD for 2 nights stay. I should have not chosen this hotel. I rather should have book a hostel or guest house paying less money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a very traditional looking hotel with every modern convenience, as well as an attentive staff. It is located in the heart of the old city, but inside it really is tranquil and peaceful. We requested a quiet room, and were put on the second floor overlooking the swimming pool, which was never heavily trafficked. Internet and water pressure were fine. Bottled drinking water, which is de jury in all of Thailand, was readily supplied. Our room was furnished with a (firm) king size bed, large leather easy chair. The bathroom had both an enclosed shower and separate tub with shower attached.

The grounds and architecture of the hotel reminded us of one of those posh, colonial period places with interesting white walls accented with teak, gracious sitting areas and tiled walkways.

Breakfasts were included in our rate, and the food was plentiful and varied. We ordered egg-white omelets, had plenty of other "healthy" choices. Or, complete menu of Asian-style breakfast choices. We ate out on the patio near the pool.

The old city of Chiang Mai isn't very large, about 1km x 1km. There are many charming lanes to wonder, many cool places to visit and see. Yet we were only about 15-20 minutes from the airport. When we return to Chiang Mai, we'd definitely look to book here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, so we got an internal one, facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Beatiful hotel in the SE of the old city (where most of the best hotels are). Close to the night, saturday and sunday markets. Good gym, amazing pool and huge breakfast. The staff was very attentive also. I would recommend it without a doubt

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank juancentro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had a four night stay and couldn't have been happier with everything. The location is great for exploring Chiang Mai and the region, close to the Sunday market and a short 80baht tuk-tuk to the night market. It's surrounded by lots of restaurants and bars in the small soi's adjacent, a five minute walk to Tha Pae gate and all the activities there.

Rooms are big and very well-appointed, comfortable beds, big bathrooms. Spotlessly clean, good wi-fi and decent TV.

The grounds are nice, plenty of nice areas to curl up with a book. The pool is very nice but unheated, so it takes a bit of an effort to use it. Fitness centre is adjacent to the pool.

Breakfast was great.....plenty of variety, both Western and Thai....along with an omelette station. Good, fresh-ground coffee available. Employees were polite, helpful and friendly.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a little gem in the old town, we loved it! The minute we walked in we were impressed. We were lucky enough to have one of the rooms near the pool with its own terrace which was fabulous! the room was very nice, spacious and well equipped! The swimming pool is great!!! The location is great for the saturday and sunday walking streets, restaurants, bars, visiting temples etc! The breakfast was very good. With so many restaurants we only ate there a couple of other times but we had a delicious lunch and snacks from room service that were too! Staff were always pleasant and helpful! Would definately recommend this hotel !!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

we stayed 4 nights in this hotel, and really enjoyed the stay
we were 2 adults + 2 teens, and had requested one of 2 rooms with twin beds ; as no such room was available when we arrived, staff installed (for free) an extra bed in the room
the rooms are large, and spotlessly clean
breakfast is fine
staff is kind & helpful
the pool is a little small (and crooked) ; but it does provide (along with the surrounding garden) a quiet/relaxing place from the dazzling city
the location is great for sight seeing, eating,... in the old city
ps we do not undestand/share some very critical comments

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedoudous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and I would not hesitate to recommend.

Our room had been recently refurbished, was very clean and had all you would expect of a quality hotel. It was spacious and while it had limited space for luggage (we had a few pieces..) it was as expected for a standard hotel room. Most importantly it rated very well against our key criteria: the bed was comfortable (although this is Thailand so expect it to be very hard), the shower was very good and the breakfast buffet offered extensive and always fresh food (their omelettes were excellent). The staff were all friendly and helpful. This is a boutique hotel and not a resort so the pool is not large. It was very clean and well cared for, although the water was cold and I expect you will not stay in long.
The hotel is in the best location! Walk out the front door and there are a wide range of massages, tour guides and cheap to moderate priced eating places immediately there. An easy walk or one of the many taxis will get you to many of the Wats and other major attractions in the city and the night bazaar.

A major plus for us was the hotel gardens. They were peaceful with a wide range of orchids and other plants that the hotel obviously cared for and cultivated. We would come into the hotel garden from the hustle and bustle of the Chiang Mai streets and immediately enter a different environment; it was serene, peaceful and very relaxing. We would come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandM_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#33 of 402 in Chiang Mai
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#59 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,364 reviews
2.6 mi away
B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Karinthip Village
Karinthip Village
#212 of 402 in Chiang Mai
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai

Address: 54 / 3 Rajabhakinai Road | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £75 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing