We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Great Location, Thin Walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Log Home Boutique Hotel
Ranked #65 of 732 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Great Location, Thin Walls”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Log Home is located within the walled city of Chiang Mai, the bed is comfortable, the shower can get sort of warm and the porch just outside your room is a great place to have coffee in the morning or a Singh Ha in the evening. The walls are super thin, which was my only complaint. Theres a nice little bar across the street and a place to rent bicycles or motorbikes. Log Home is walking distance to the night market, tons of wats, restaurants, massage, parks etc... I will definitely stay there again when I return to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    123
    33
    19
    14
See reviews for
30
138
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Its a great location, very quiet during the night and mornings, the pool is very nice and the place it self is very inviting, however, our room was not very clean, shower has got to be renovated, floor is kinda dusty and the walls are paper thin, we could here everything which is kinda weird and embarrassing, if you're seeking for privacy this is not the place

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tsoofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Happy stay at the log home hotel. Would return. Were in one of the VIP suites, which we would recommend. Twice as large and at the back of the premise, thus more quiet. Agree with the thinness of the walls as mentioned by others, but it did not bother us much, lucky to have relaxed neighbours. We actually were woken up by the sound of birds, which is lovely in a city the size of Chiang Mai. Rooms look pretty much like a sauna, completely made of light coloured wood. luckily, they also smell of the freshness of a sauna:pine. Nice. Rooms are spotless and have a small seating outside where we had breakfast (bought our own).
Location is perfect, very central. Five mins walk from the sunday walking street, and in the street of the hotel there is a nice late night bar called Cowgirl. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Hotel is about 15 mins drive from the airport, cost of taxi approx 150 B.

Room Tip: VIP suite, twice the size and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergusson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here 4 nights while in Chiang Mai.

The location is fantastic, the grounds and rooms are very clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

The deal breaker is the sound. You can literally hear someone cough, flush the toilet or even people having a normal quiet voice conversation in the room next to yours. The walls are almost not there.

I feel for 1500 baht/night in Chiang Mai, you should be able to enjoy relative peace and quiet.

Otherwise, this place is great.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank burley32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

On first appearances this hotel should be brilliant. It's in a great location; it is leafy and cool and has a lovely pool area. The setout of the rooms gives it a real community feel. Given all this I thought I'd found a gem when I checked in. But then night time came and its fatal flaw was revealed; the walls are paper thin. Without a word of exaggeration, a sheet strung between the rooms wouldn't be any less effective. Every word and sound is heard, regardless of how quiet. So you're effectively at the mercy of your neighbours. If you're unfortunate enough (as I was) to have loud neighbours who get in after a night drinking and then sit inside with the TV on and talking loudly until 3am despite requests to keep the noise down then you're not going to get much sleep. Normally this wouldn't be an issue but with the walls being so thin it becomes a major problem. It's a shame because this deal-breaker completely ruins what would otherwise be a great little hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Dockerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We slept 4 nights at the Log Home hotel in oktober 2013. Although the rooms are quite small and the walls of the rooms very thin, it was à pleasant stay thanks to the very friendly staff and the perfect location.

This hotel is recommended for anyone searching for a good boutique hotel at à decent price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The place is very nice. you can relax in the pool at the end of the day. the rooms are clean and cozy everything works ok. the owners are very friendly and help us with everything ( excursions, taxis, information...) The restaurant is very good, one of the best that we tried.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#36 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#55 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Makka Hotel
Makka Hotel
#81 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sirilanna Hotel
Sirilanna Hotel
#45 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Vieng Mantra Hotel
#53 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Log Home Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Log Home Boutique Hotel

Property: Log Home Boutique Hotel
Address: 124-128 Ratchaphakhinai Road T. Prasing, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Log Home Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Log Home Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing