We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice rooms but thats about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 9W Boutique Studio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
9W Boutique Studio
Ranked #478 of 718 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“nice rooms but thats about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

we booked this hotel through the website agoda.com. Price was very good, not even 40 euros a night. we got a nice, spacious room on the top floor. The room was very clean and we had a tv with good choice of channels, informative leaflets in the room, a complimentary can of beer and coke in the fridge, slippers and bathrobes.
The hotel is located in a quiet street on the banks of the river, in front of a temple. Short walk from the night market, but away from the buzz. There's a nice establishment for massages attached to the hotel 1 hour oil massage around 5 euros. Although they advertise they have a pool , i would not call pool the small little cold and dirty thing they have next to the hall and basically on the street!!!
The staff tries to be helpful, but they do not have a good grasp of english and sometimes its impossible to get info or ask for anything. An example: we asked them to book a cab for the last morning, because we had a flight leaving at around 7, so it was very early in the morning. Although they ensured us they did book, of course at 5.30 a.m the following morning there was no cab at all, and we were lucky enough the manager came in and call a cab for us, after we put pressure on her in order to do it.
As i have read in other comments, we got charged 150 baht for a soap dispenser we broke in the bathroom.
Weird smell coming from the shower in the bathroom, but that seems to be a common problem in chiang mai.
From what i have seen around in chiang mai there are lovely guest houses and cheaper accomodations, also located in a much better (more lively) area.
If you need peace and quiet this hotel is good value for money anyway. a plus: iNternet is free in the hall on the second floor and they rent cd's and dvd for free

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbernacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
7
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed in 9W boutique studio for 3 nights 24-27 December, 2011 because next door hotel The Chedi was all booked up. The staff barely understood any English to begin with, I was checked into the Thai themed room. The water pressure in the shower was very poor. The bathroom had a faulty holder, so their GLASS shampoo bottle fell down and broke and they charged me 150 baht for it!!!!
When I asked for a reciept for the same, the receptionist said that their printer was not working so she was unable to do so, but I requested and insisted on a hand written one.

It seems like a new hotel but everything seems to be already falling apart. The jacuzzi is like a fountain at the entrance of the hotel.The hotel locker safe did not work properly. The room lacked privacy because of their faulty curtains. The highlight was when they ran out of coffee sachets and we had to go without drinking any coffee on our last morning in this dreadful place.

Undoubtedly, the most awful hotel experience of my life.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asanlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Pros:
Friendly and helpful staff that could converse rather well in English.
Rooms that's very well furnished with different themes and styles.
Huge, spacious and clean rooms.

Cons:
As it is a newly built hotel, much of the taxi or tuk-tuk drivers do not know the exactly where it is located. Thus, it's advisable to google for the hotel's number first before flying there. So that the driver would be able to give the hotel a call to confirm their location and not waste any time asking for directions.
There isn't much of tourist attraction nearby except for the Chiang Mai Night Market which is about 15 minutes walk away.
There isn't much facilities in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Room numbers are tagged according to track numbers ranging from Chinese to MJ to Elvis to modern...Nothing much else to say except the rooms are well furnished and bathroom affords you to choose between a hand held shower or rain shower. TV channel surfing are restricted to those who understand the Thai language. Short walk away from one of the bigger Wats in CM, the Ping RIver and Night Bazaar. Road can be quiet after dark.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

The 9W is a cute little boutique with fantastic rooms! We had the MJ room and it was great! Its fun to stay in a room with character!! Our friends stayed in the traditional Thai room and the other, the pop room. All rooms were clean and very comfy
We have stayed in many hotels before, but the first time staying in a boutique with approx 12 or so rooms and you can definately see the difference here! The staff are absolutly amazing, always had a smile, greeted us every morning before our adventures and then would be excited to ask us how our day was when we returned. They are very helpful and it was great to feel welcomed at the 9w.
The boutique is in a pretty good location, a short stroll up and you are in the night bazzar area, but far enough away from the hussle and noise.
Overall we had a great stay here. if you don't want to feel like another number at a larger hotel stay here and you will be taken care of.

Room Tip: Great little boutique - you will be surprised!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_I_am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.5 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#45 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
#111 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#64 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thannatee Boutique hotel
Thannatee Boutique hotel
#31 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9W Boutique Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9W Boutique Studio

Property: 9W Boutique Studio
Address: 150 Charoenprated Rd. | T. Chang Klan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #478 of 718 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 9W Boutique Studio 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our decorative concept of the hotel is inspired from the 12 different musical styles, mingled with contemporary arts. We aim to create the new style of hotel rooms which brings music to drive happiness and inspiration in our valued guests. Each room represents different musical styles. The interior design and facilities were also prepared according to your selected musical style in order to give you the imagination joy, and happiness. The word "track" is used in the beginning of the room’s name 12 different musical styles present 12 different room themes include King of Rock’n’Roll , King of pop, Queen of pop, The Beatles style, Classical Music, Country Music, Rock, Disco, Chinese, Thai traditional music, Lanna music, Modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your 9W Boutique Studio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9w Boutique Studio Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing