We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top choice!”

Guesthouse Wild Orchid
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Wild Orchid
Ranked #397 of 717 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Top choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Central, friendly, good value. At 500 baht, you cannot do any better. Rooms were spotless and location near all amenities. The receptionist lady was so lovely... she was genuinely concerned about me when i was unwell, asking my husband how i was and offering hot drinks.

The guesthouse can help arrange excursions with a company for around 1000 baht, which in comparison to other companies is really good value. They also do scooter hire.

We liked the open layout which you do not get with other guesthouses.

We would definately go there again... if only to steal the receptionist lady and bring her home with us!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadoo-pappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liège, Liege, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

This guest house is a very nice place to stay for 3 reasons:

-The staff is friendly
-The location is ideal
-The rooms are good value for money

If you plan to go to chiang mai, this is for sure one of the right place to go!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonLingLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Likes
Location close to bus terminal 1, bars
Quiet. off the street
500b for room with aircon and tv. other rooms with fan 400

Dislikes
The intelligent mozzies that penetrated the insect screens. But a spray fixed them

Wiuld recommend

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank N43W16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed a few nights at the SoHo hostel right next door and then moved here for a change of scenery- we probably should have just stayed put at SoHo. The room smelled strongly of smoke, had mosquitoes, and felt less then clean. After going away for a few days we needed a room for a few hours before our flight. They agreed to half the normal price when we checked in, but upon checkout demanded more. While it was cheap, there are better placed to stay in Chiang Mai for around the same price.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

What a fabulous find in this city. A gorgeous old teak house, lovely clean, cosy rooms with very comfortable beds, wifi, & an affordable price for us travelers.
It was magical to hear birdsong in the mornings & chanting from the monastery opposite. There is also a great chill out area with big sofas to lounge on by the entrance where you can help yourself to free coffees & teas.
A great location, lots of local shops, foodie places, bars & some of the best massages to be had. The night bazaar is 5 minutes away & we also found a hotel around the corner that had a swimming pool we could use, for a small fee.
Best of all, the staff were very welcoming & friendly, someone is always around to offer advice & help out. They were also kind enough to let us store our bags there, whilst we took off for a short adventure to Pai, what more could you ask for???

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juicy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed here in Nov 2012. The room was basic but had A/C and all other amenities one might want. The guesthouse is located in a very convenient spot close to bus stop, restaurants and the night market. The guesthouse even store our luggage for free for one day cuz our bus was at 6pm. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

The guesthouse is centrally located, near the night bazaar and not far from the old city.
That said, you must enjoy the following things to book there:
1. Taking off your shoes before going up steep creaking stairs. This sounds whiny, but trust me, carrying your muddy shoes in your hand up to your room is not something pleasant.
2. Acrobatic showers that can only be comfortable if you enjoy washing yourself while sitting on the toilet and resting your elbow on the sink. We are used to this type of "all in one" bathroom but this one is just not practical AT ALL.
3. Dark noisy rooms with banging outside the window at 6 AM. The rooms are pretty small for the price compared to what you can get right across or down the street.

Last detail: we had to stay there twice in two years in 2009 and 2011 because our favorite hotel had a snafu with the reservation and told us to book there until our room was available.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvpinguinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#118 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dutch Guesthouse
Dutch Guesthouse
#234 of 717 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Fai Guest House
Baan Fai Guest House
#290 of 717 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bautong Lodge
Bautong Lodge
#285 of 807 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Deng Ba Hostel
#513 of 807 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.1 mi away
HI Center Place
HI Center Place
#480 of 807 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Wild Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Wild Orchid

Property: Guesthouse Wild Orchid
Address: 70 Loi Kroh Rd., Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 717 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Wild Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing