We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far from 'boutique'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sathu Boutique House
Ranked #558 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Far from 'boutique'”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This place had good reviews, so was expecting it to be decent, but it was far from it. The rooms are very small, including the bathroom which was basically a toilet cubicle with a shower above it. The room was full of mosquitoes, with no nets and the air con was weak. We were in a room at the end of the row next to the water feature they have at the entrance which was turned on every day at 7am, and made a LOT of noise. Finally on the day we left, the hotel had booked us a taxi, and the woman who runs the day shifts told the taxi man to charge us double, so she could take the commission for calling him! You don't need to do this - so beware of the staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwenham29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    16
    20
    30
    55
See reviews for
13
61
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I only gave this place 1 star because I couldn't choose zero stars. And I'm writing my first ever review on trip advisor because this place really is that bad! Do yourselves a favour and do not waste your money. I'd rather have stayed up all night in a bar than give these people my money if I'd have known. Please please please trust me!!

Room Tip: Don't stay in any room here! If you have already paid for more than one night (which is probably...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chooken123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Do yourself a favour and choose another place to stay. The photos you see on their website do not reflect the actual rooms. I book a room online through a hotel booking agency thinking I had reserved a Superior room. I was wrong. When I got there, the guy who checked me in took me to what I thought was a broom closet. He unlock the padlock, yes, a padlock and stepped aside. This room was tiny and dingy. The walls were scuffed. The bed was hard. ROCK HARD. The toilet/sink/shower hose area was barely big enough for me to stretch out my arms. There was a terrace, also small, but it was so dirty you wouldn't use anyway. For two days they did not clean my room. And when they did it was half an effort. The towels were threadbare, rough and stained. The a/c did not work. They have cable tv; 12 out of 14 channels were Thai stations. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shazell212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

the photo is fake ,everthing is bad ,room ,environment ,clear , even the bed have smell .finally we need to change hotel .only one word can say-------help help help help help help help help help help help help

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank james20131234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Do not stay at this hotel. The outside looks nice, but inside... Tiny rooms even for the doubles - really, you can barely fit one person in there let alone two. Rock hard beds (which may be a plus to the very few who like rock hard beds), but for me I was in danger of putting out my back! The rooms are also dusty and dirty - some sort of bloody slime was on our bedside table from a previous occupant, the pillows had blood spots on them, the showers had hair in them, and the floor was dubiously stained. Oh, and the safe didn't work either (or rather it did, but then it jammed shut on the second closing. Lucky we were still only testing and hadn't placed anything inside). Add to this unhelpful and arrogant staff who do not want to even speak to you after they have your cash. I have stayed in backpacking hostels that were superior to this place in every way, and Sa'Thu has the gall to charge premium rates! Not only that, but upon check-in we had a lot of doco to fill out that was done by the hotel staff everywhere else we stayed. Our checkin took like 20+ minutes and a lot of scribbling while the staff member just sat back and watched us fill out forms! Unfortunately we had already prepaid or I would have walked out right there.

As mentioned we had prepaid - for two nights, sight unseen (won't make that mistake again if possible) and the place was so bad we checked out two hours after arriving! We wrote off the first nights payment, after all, we had checked in and it was late notice to get a replacement person that day, but I think a refund of the second night was not unreasonable - but it was not forthcoming. There are plenty of other hotels in the area, I suggest you try them instead.

If they dropped the rates to a sixth of what they are asking, replaced the beds, sacked the staff and got some friendly/helpful ones, and also cleaned the place, it would rate as an adequate backpackers or budget hostel, as it is - this place is only a good alternative to sleeping on the street. AVOID.

Room Tip: Don't take any rooms. Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights early February 2013. We had booked via their internet site and they had demanded that we pay the full amount for 4 nights (Bath 8400) without possibility of a refund. Hmmm...!
Our findings:
The hotel's location is fine and it is nicely decorated. These are the only positive things.
We had a deluxe room, but this turned out to be a very small room with a small outside sitting area between high walls and equipment. The bathroom was cramped (just over 1 square meter) and after showering everything in the bathroom was wet.
The breakfast was insufficient (and we are not big eaters), so we asked for a few extra slices of toast. Only upon checking out did we find out that they charged an extra amount for this small extra. Never experienced this in 40 years of travelling!
The manager and the receptionist have their mind completely on money. When you ask for information on going somewhere, they bend reality so as to push you in a solution that generates money for them but does not really help the customer. The receptionist simply lied about travel times, distances etc when it served her commercial interest.
Inside the hotel it was a big mess in front of our door for say 3-4 hours every day. They used this spot as their laydown area for dirty linen, empty bottles etc.
The swimming pool is just not suitable for swimming. It is very small and there is no room to relax. During our 4 days stay we have not seen anyone taking a swim.
Finally, the hotel is far too expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wimdohmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I was very, very disappointed in my stay here. I brought friends visiting from Belgium, and I was fully embarrassed. The room was dirty with tree leaves still on the floor when we first checked in. None of the staff was very friendly. The worst was the owner who needs a lesson in customer service. We were not informed of the extra charges incurred with the breakfast. There was no information regarding extra charges on the menu, Had we known beforehand, we probably would have been okay. However, the owner's response was not to apologize or calm the situation. He merely threatened to call the police. If you like to be verbally abused, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natthavut k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.0 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#57 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Log Home Boutique Hotel
Log Home Boutique Hotel
#69 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.6 mi away
BB Mantra Hotel
BB Mantra Hotel
#41 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manee Guest House
Manee Guest House
#101 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baan U Sabai Boutique House
Baan U Sabai Boutique House
#78 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chang Puak Hotel
Chang Puak Hotel
#118 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sathu Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sathu Boutique House

Property: Sathu Boutique House
Address: 31 Soi Prapokklao, Ratchaphakhinai Road | Prasingh, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #558 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sathu Boutique House 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sathu Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing