We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential”
Review of Dutch Delicious

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dutch Delicious
Ranked #429 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Has potential”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Very poorly managed. They did not remember that we had paid, wasn't given a receipt either but they let it go.
We stayed three nights, there was never anyone on the counter before 11am unless u personally woke someone up. Until this time the front gate is padlocked. When we booked the lady said we could check in after 9am. When we arrived at 10 we had to sit at the locked gate until a fellow guest happened to see us and let us in.

There was a dead cockroach that was left in the hallway for two days and was still there when we left.

Room was relevantly clean. Had our own bathroom however had a curtain instead of a door and the doorway was very low. Shower had good pressure.

Had great outdoor area and decent WIFI. Deck is in need of repair. Is advertised as a bar and restaurant but never saw any menus or anyone eating there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpoole27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
4
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs, UK
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2012

It's impossible to sing the praises of D&D highly enough...it's head and shoulders above anywhere else I've stayed during my 3 months in SE Asia!

D&D has everything you need from a Guesthouse during your travels; great value, spotless rooms and perfect location (quiet, right next to the moat and 5 mins walk to Tapae Gate and all the old city attractions.)

The unique feature that attracted me to D&D though is the large, fab lounge/bar area which is perfect for chilling out or having a beer/chat at the bar - a rare feature in budget accommodation but a God-send when you're travelling and don't want to feel confined to your room when you just want to kick back and relax.

However, the special ingredients that make D&D such a great place to stay are Niels and Kanita, the Dutch-Thai owners that run the guesthouse. From the minute I stepped into the place it felt warm, welcoming, friendly and relaxed - and that's all down to the huge efforts Niels and Kanita go to to create such a great atmosphere. At this guesthouse, more than anywhere else I've stayed, you're made to feel more than just a paying guest - more like a friend who's come to stay.

So whether it's local knowledge, recommendations, a chat/laugh at the bar, privacy and relaxation or safety and security you're looking for, that's what Niels and Kanita provide to make sure your stay in Chiang Mai is the best it can be.

On a personal note, I had a petty tough experience when a friend had a serious motorbike accident when we were travelling close to the Burmese border. Out of my depth, I called Niels and Kanita who immediately dropped everything to support with advice, translations, knowledge of medical services...and much, much more. Amazing people!

So...all that for only 300 Baht/night! You'd be crazy to stay anywhere else in Chiang Mai!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic041070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Dutch & Delicious is a really stunning guesthouse with two very nice owners, clean rooms with really reasonable prices and a really very beautiful Restaurant-area between the Rooms and the small street, situated directly at the edge of the old city of Chiang Mai. (Rooms start at 200 THB for one person)

Yout think about staying in Chiang Mai and you are looking for a cheap guesthouse with the standards of an expensive one? You definitely have to choose Dutch & Delicious!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPR1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Chiang Mai was something like a base for us during our round trip in northern Thailand. Therefore we spent some nights in the city again and again. We stayed in different guest houses in town, but D&D's was definitely our favorite one in Chiang Mai! The guest house was opened in mid-2011, as the owners told us. You can guess the interior is quiet new and not out-fashioned or too often used. The rooms have big and useful furniture: The wardrobes and the beds are really good and clean. Anyway, in the room is definitely enough space for all backpacks. Furthermore, every room has its own restroom. Showers are shared on the corridor. Nevertheless, these are also clean and safe – a shortcut in the shower is not likely. The electricity of the heater is saved. A point which does not count for every guest house in lovely Thailand…
A further advantage of the D&D on other guest houses in Chiang Mai: The building is not closely located to the street, hence there is a big yard in front of the house in which many seats and sofas are offered. There it is possible to spend time hanging out, surfing in the web via the free Wi-Fi, playing pool billiard or dart for free, or trying one of the offered (Belgium) beers or (Dutch) snacks. As we have seen the lounge for the first we felt totally comfortable in this guest house. The first impression was proven to be right! In addition, there is also one terrace located above the yard where guests are more separated from the main spot. In the lounge is nice western music aired which is suited to the situation (chill-out or party).
The rates for staying at D&D’s were very fair. Of course, we have been there in the off-season, but 300 Baht per night for such a lovely accommodation is unbeatable in the city. We know it, because we stayed in other GH’s in Chiang Mai as well and these were not that good and even more expensive as D&D! Nevertheless, I also saw coincidently a sign at the bar which states a rate of 450 Baht per night. Maybe it is the rate for high seasons?! But seriously, I do not know.
No doubt about the awesome location of the guest house which is near by the Tapea Gate. D&D is close to the main road, but not that close that you hear the traffic all time. So, every hot spot in the old city is reachable within a minutes’ walk.
The very last point we totally liked at D&D were the owners, Niels and Kanita. The Dutch-Thai couple was very friendly. Both know the area in and around the city and entire Thailand as well. They traveled through the country as well and therefore they know what travelers want. You can feel it at D&D! Additional, they are always able to give you some reliable information about other places in Thailand.
To summarize my opinion about the D&D in Chiang Mai: If you are looking for a guest house there, you should ask for a room there. It is totally worth.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konrad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

- good price
- nice lounge-bar with belgian beers and dutch food
- friendly owner
- shared shower
- clean room with towels (fan or airconditioning)
- a lot of noise from the bar untill 12pm (even with ear-plugs)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K0Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and we enjoyed it. The price was very good for Chiang Mai standards and you can chose a fan or ac room. The room is clean and has a desk and toilet, shower is shared. Our bathroom didn't have a door which is a bit silly. And there were a lot of ventilation grids in the walls of the bathroom and they are closed shut with toilet paper which is a bit weird and looks awkward. The bar downstairs is very nicely decorated and you have many nice chairs and sofas to sit in and there is a pool table as well. You can try a lot of special Belgian beers @ a reasonable price.
Keep in mind that that you can hear noise from the bar in your room untill 11-12 @ night. We didn't mind that much because we didn't have to get up early.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pabloeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We didn't stay at Dutch Delicious when in Chiang Mai in early July as we had already booked our accommodation - but was a great find!! The owner did show me the rooms, however, and they were very clean & well looked after.
What was really great about this place was the fantastic lounge area in the front where you could totally relax n the many lounges & chairs, play pool, darts, or just sit around having a drink or two & talking to the owners & other customers who stopped in for a drink.
We were staying nearby at a guesthouse with no atmosphere (especially at night) & so found ourselves most nights socialising at Dutch Delicious & wishing we had booked to stay there.
It's in a top location near restaurants, massages, shopping etc & the prices are very reasonable (much cheaper than where we were staying).
The owners are a really lovely couple & we wish them all the best for the future!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank happyplaceMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 381 in Chiang Mai
668 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,328 reviews
2.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,811 reviews
0.6 mi away
137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Delicious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Delicious

Property: Dutch Delicious
Address: Soi 1 Chaiyaphum, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand (Formerly Red Mango)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #429 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly guesthouse with 5 rooms.Only 2 min walk from the old city and 5 min walk from Thapea gate with the famous Sunday night market. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing