We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Thongkoon House(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodhi Serene Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vipa House(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
33
133
82
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
133
82
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townse cornernight bazaarwithin easy walkingswimming poolnice hotelnice poolpleasant place to staycentral chiang maimid range hotelwifi worked wellclean bathroomcable tvshort walkshort staytour desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Good value for money. A lot of other places charge similar prices but aren't as nicely presented as this place is. It is clean, modern. Small but nice bathrooms. Some sides of the building may be a bit noisy at night but didn't bother me too much. Really good location for first-timers to Chiang Mai. It's close to Tha Pae gate, not a far walk to the Night Bazaar, but still within the confines of the old city so you can explore the charm of the surrounding area. Staff were very nice too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saraseeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed for a week at Wangburapa and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is quite new, though looked a bit run down due to lack of maintence. The rooms are spaceous with plenty of room for clothes, toiletries etc. They're cleaned everyday to a high standard. Breakfast is ok, same as most places. The pool area is really small with only 4 sunbeds. Also the pool is constantly freezing and isn't clean. Location is great, right by loads of bars, resturants and shops. Only a 5 minute walk to the Thapae Gate.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lysh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The hotel is in a good location at the edge of Chiang Mai old city, 3-4 min. walk to Thapae Gate and maybe about 10 min. to the Night Market. Rooms were well furnished and quite spacious, nice bathrooms with good quality shower. At first the Wifi didn't work, but a few hours later it was fine; the speed was quite good and no more problems. They have several computers downstairs that hotel guests can use for free, so you can still connect if you don't have your own computer. Staff were friendly and professional and were happy to supply a kettle for making hot water. A good experience overall.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Wangburapa has lots of plusses going for it and unfortunately quite a few minuses too.

On the plus side:
* It's in a great location right on the edge of the old town, perfect for markets, bars, temples and eating out. all the taxi drivers know where it is

* The rooms are a good size and very clean

* Bathrooms are well designed and the shower is nice and warm

* There is a wifi connection - though it can be tricky to make it work

* It is comfortable and relaxed

* It's pretty good value.

The not so good:

* the swimming pool is freezing no matter how warm it is outside

* The breakfast is not great - the food is often cold and not replenished very frequently, the cooking is pretty indifferent

* On our first night we were given a room at the front of the hotel, it looked very nice and it was, until we tried to sleep when the extremely loud music, etc. from the pub next door kept awake for some time. After the pub closed it was relatively quiet until the traffic mayhem started at dawn, I actually dreamt my bed was in the middle of the road which is exactly what it sounded like. We requested and were then given a room at the back of the hotel.

* As others have mentioned, the front of house staff are pretty tricky, they really marred what otherwise would have been a very pleasant stay. In particular a couple of unwelcome additions to our final bill really rankled, the first was for 30 phone calls, when we had in fact made none. The second was that when our laundry was done they advised a cost (quite expensive) yet on our final bill the amount was doubled (very expensive indeed), and the clothes were so dirty we had to have them cleaned again elsewhere. We ended up paying some of the spurious charges but needless to say we were not very happy and sadly would not recommend Wangburapa.

Room Tip: The front is very noisy
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mizmixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

As backpackers we decided for a little treat to stay in one of the nicer hotels. We found this hotel on agoda website, but rather decided to go directly to the hotel and book a room there. Surprisingly the front staff informed us that they are fully booked,only 1 room available at silly high rate (we knew that they are selling plenty rooms on websites for that night). I was totally dissapointed and walked away. His attitude towards walk in customers must improve. We booked following 2 nights through Agoda and since then I did not talk to that member of staff. Overall hotel is very clean, bedrooms are great size and also there is small swimming pool, great for afternoon relax.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manuska85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews