We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
Ranked #137 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“ok for a short stay”
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 5 nights, but probably would have moved elsewhere-it just felt like too much hassle during our trip. There is nothing terrible about this hotel, but nothing fantastic either. I paid a low rate as it was out of season so it was worth the money (around 800 baht) but it isn't worth much more. This was probably a nice place when it was new but it is a bit run down now. Staff fairly inactive and all huddle around reception desk avoiding the guests. Bathrooms really smell-not unclean, something to do with their water tank. Pool pretty good and was nice to cool off at end of the day. Beds were crazily hard, sheets clean, ants paraded around the ceiling all the time. Great location, lots of local cafes and market for eating, away from less pleasant tourist strip of bars

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    112
    70
    24
    13
See reviews for
54
83
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level 6 Contributor
573 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This hotel is located only 15 mins drive from the Airport just across a beautified canal. Lots of 7x11s and pubs around. Rooms are nice, clean and AC was great. The receptionist and all staff are very helpful. Very close to a gate in the old city wall. The night market is also close. Lots of travel agencies nearby to organize adventure trips and trip to golden triangle. Lots of places to hire bikes also across the street.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the front of the hotel in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudipnandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Everything about the hotel was great. The best location in Chiang Mai easily accessible from everywhere by a songtaew or tuk tuk. Staff are really kind and helpful with everything. There is a person in the hotel that books daily tours if you're interested which I definitely suggest. Breakfast was also very good. Not the best continental breakfast you would imagine. But it's pretty good considering the low room rates and everything. Our room was very large and comfortable.
The only complaint that I have is about the Wi-Fi. Wi-Fi was really really slow, so most of the time I used my cellular.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjef86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This hotel was average. It wasn't bad, but it also wasn't memorable. It is clean and well appointed but it wasn't a hotel we would go back to if we stayed in Chiang Mai again. Unfortunately I can't quite explain why we didn't feel comfortable here, I think it felt very clinical, if that's any help to the reader.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Calam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

stay here during the songkran festival and have the fun time with the hotel staff.
the hotel have small swimming pool but more than enough for me
hot shower and the wifi availabe for the guest
hotel lobby also provided 3 desktop pc for the guest to access the internet

you can plan a day trip to chiang rai ,golden triangle via the travel agent at the hotel lobby with reasonable price

staff are friendly and helpful

walking distance from the hotel to Thapae gate will take only 10 min
nearest 7 eleven only take 5 min walking distance

tuk tuk and songthaew well known the hotel location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monopuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights whilst in Chiang Mai. The room was big and clean, with a large bathroom. Room had a small table and chairs, desk, wardrobe, shoe rack, TV, fridge with a free bottle of water provided every day for each guest. Interest was a little temperamental, but worked well most of the time. The pool was basic, but for the price you pay (we payed £17 a night for 2 twin beds) it was good, a few sun loungers and a jacuzzi area. The location was fantastic, on the main stretch of road leading to the street market. The road is about a 10 minute walk and full of bar/restaurants and travel agencies for you to book your day trips. Our only issue was our room had no main window... just a brick wall with two tiny panels either side, it didn't bother us too much as we were hardly there. But half the rooms face the pool (these have windows) the other half don't. So be careful which you book!

Room Tip: Our room had no main window... just a brick wall with two tiny panels either side, it didn't bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotlibbydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at the hotel for a couple of days. It was pleasant enough. They don't allow early check-in, unfortunately. You can check out late for a fee. It is along the main thoroughfare so you can just hail a songtheaw in front of the hotel. There's a cafe at the ground floor too. The pool is small, but it didn't stop us from taking a dip. April in Chiang Mai is deliriously warm!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelakristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#241 of 383 in Chiang Mai
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#153 of 383 in Chiang Mai
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#151 of 383 in Chiang Mai
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#109 of 383 in Chiang Mai
555 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buri Gallery House
Buri Gallery House
#95 of 383 in Chiang Mai
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#78 of 383 in Chiang Mai
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WangBurapa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WangBurapa Grand Hotel

Property: WangBurapa Grand Hotel
Address: 9,9/1-3 MoonMuang Soi.1 Rd. | T. Phrasing A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — WangBurapa Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wang Burapa Grand Hotel is located near the old city gates. The location of the visitor of the experience both the old and the new combination. Walking street Sunday including famous temple and more than 300 offices located in walking distance from the hotel. There is also a minibus to take to Wat Phra Thrt Doi Suthep, a famous Phu Phing Palace Place. Botanic Garden Queen Sirikit. And many large and small water falls. In addition to the various tour and then to Chiang Mai also offers rafting. The wire rope huge over the wooden canopy and rock climbing. Wang Burapa Grand Hotel with excellent facilities all room have air conditioning, writing desk, TV, LCD TV, free wireless internet access. To provide comfort to your stay. In addition, there is 24 hour room service, executive floor, lift, with a range of leisure activities and recreation such as swimming pool, Jacuzzi system. Both children and adults. WangBurapa around the Grand Hotel has many restaurants and tour companies. Chiang Mai is to take a map and has to explore the second largest city of Chonburi Thailand WangBurapa Grand Hotel is located at an attractive price and a friendly for those looking for accommodation in Chiang Mai City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your WangBurapa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing