We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff - don't expect a peaceful sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
Ranked #123 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just completed a 3 night stay and found the hotel good, the staff were very friendly and generally very helpful. Paid 1250 baht per night for adjoining rooms (family, 2 children) so for the money, it's good value. Rooms clean, bathrooms starting to be in need of an update and quite mouldy, but that doesn't bother me.
Big issue was, it appears to attract an upmarket backpacker crowd and with that comes very noisy nights (3 in fact).
Slept beautifully until about 2,00 a.m. each night, then it was time for them to return and it was crazy. Into the pool (my wife was asked to get out of the pool at 9.30 p.m. as the pool closes), yelling, screaming and when finally kicked out of the pool after numerous complaints from various rooms (on the last night I had to do it myself), the noise/yelling/running around moved to the corridors and went on until about 4.00 a.m. each night. So if you are there with a family, or enjoy a good nights sleep, this is a major drawback from an otherwise good value hotel which is in an excellent location in terms of food and shopping outlets.
Based on the noise issue however, I could not stay there again and couldn't recommend it to my friends if they were to visit the area.

Room Tip: If you do stay, do not choose a pool view room. The noise is probably the worst I have ever witness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

My wife and I traveled to Thailand/Cambodia in Feb 2013. I had researched some hotels in Chiang Mai prior to our visit and Wangburapa was one that we wanted to check out. This hotel is right where you want to be; great location, very friendly staff, clean, and a great breakfast. My only complaint would be that the bathroom didn't have a proper shower curtain which made the whole bathroom floor wet. We paid $40/night, you can't go wrong with this hotel. This place was definitely the most bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_2684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, a night either side of a tour. Hotel obliging in keeping our backpacks for 3 days in locked room with ticket number. Pool small but clean. Room clean and located on outskirts I old quarter and on the right side for the night market which is a 10 minute walk away. Mad dog restaurant beside it is a fab English restaurant which was most delicious and a nice change after eating rice three times a day for a few days. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EZgoingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The staff here are very friendly and most helpful, the rooms are well appointed, the shower is excellent and everywhere is clean and fresh. The position of the hotel, just inside the moat and near to a wealth of temples and museums, the Saturday and Sunday markets, Tha Pae Gate and the main entertainment area, is perfect. Even the Night market, Waroros markets area and Chinese area are easily walkable. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Our room was very clean and neat. The furnishings were wood and gave the room a more comfy feel than usual. The pool was small, but very well maintained, and perfect to soak in after a long day of exploring. The location was ideal. The staff was friendly, but not particularly helpful. we asked for a taxi to be arranged for a drive to Mae Rim and the only thing they could come up with was a minibus for significantly more money than advertised around town. We booked five nights and wanted to check out late on the last day, we were pointed to the sign that offered late checkout for 300baht, accompanied by a haughty condescending look. They were at most 20% occupancy, I think they could have spared the room. Then again, I had just come back from 4 weeks in Vietnam, were if they can give you something that doesn't cost them anything, they are more than happy to do so. I love Thailand, but it's service industry leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed three days in this nice, quite hotel. Nicely decorated rooms, dark wood furniture and crispy clean white bedding. Good water pressure, bathrooms are huge and clean. We enjoyed having early breakfast (they start at 6 AM!) and the variety of typical American breakfast foods and Thai foods. Coffee is good. We did not use the pool but it looked clean and big. The staff were helpful and always welcoming. You can walk to many temples and Night Bazaar from the hotel. Also, do go to the Sunday Market - it is a much better experience than Night Bazaar.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattletraveler1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

nice pool with enough chairs. good location close to some good places to eat, short wlalk to night market. very clean, ac, breakfast was ok. free use of computers with wifi also available. rooms were quite large. thoughb eds were a bit hard. no real complaints for the money it was very good value

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#113 of 395 in Chiang Mai
585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#282 of 395 in Chiang Mai
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#147 of 395 in Chiang Mai
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#170 of 395 in Chiang Mai
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#132 of 395 in Chiang Mai
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#317 of 395 in Chiang Mai
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WangBurapa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WangBurapa Grand Hotel

Address: 9,9/1-3 MoonMuang Soi.1 Rd. | T. Phrasing A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £18 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WangBurapa Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wang Burapa Grand Hotel is located near the old city gates. The location of the visitor of the experience both the old and the new combination. Walking street Sunday including famous temple and more than 300 offices located in walking distance from the hotel. There is also a minibus to take to Wat Phra Thrt Doi Suthep, a famous Phu Phing Palace Place. Botanic Garden Queen Sirikit. And many large and small water falls. In addition to the various tour and then to Chiang Mai also offers rafting. The wire rope huge over the wooden canopy and rock climbing. Wang Burapa Grand Hotel with excellent facilities all room have air conditioning, writing desk, TV, LCD TV, free wireless internet access. To provide comfort to your stay. In addition, there is 24 hour room service, executive floor, lift, with a range of leisure activities and recreation such as swimming pool, Jacuzzi system. Both children and adults. WangBurapa around the Grand Hotel has many restaurants and tour companies. Chiang Mai is to take a map and has to explore the second largest city of Chonburi Thailand WangBurapa Grand Hotel is located at an attractive price and a friendly for those looking for accommodation in Chiang Mai City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your WangBurapa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing